Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Listed by NCES as Miami-Dade (district ID 1200390)

Public school district · Miami-Dade County · Florida · NCES district ID 1200390

Miami-Dade County Public Schools spent $13,138 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 82% of the other Florida districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $11,744). Its 509 schools enrolled 334,135 students in 2024-25; 23.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,931 per student, up 6.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% (Florida: 88%).

Spending per student among Florida's largest districts

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. Among the 10 districts shown, Miami-Dade County Public Schools ranks 2.

Current spending per student, largest Florida districts, FY23Palm Beach County $14,024; Miami-Dade County Public Schools $13,138; Pinellas County Schools $12,514; Broward County Public Schools $12,121; Lee County Schools $12,108; Polk County Public Schools $11,747; Orange County Public Schools $11,706; Duval County Public Schools $11,670; Hillsborough County Public Schools $10,589; Pasco County Schools $10,007; State median, 1,000+ students $11,744.8k10k12k14k16kPalm Beach County$14,024Miami-Dade County Public Schoo…$13,138Pinellas County Schools$12,514Broward County Public Schools$12,121Lee County Schools$12,108Polk County Public Schools$11,747Orange County Public Schools$11,706Duval County Public Schools$11,670Hillsborough County Public Sch…$10,589Pasco County Schools$10,007State median, 1,000+ students $11,744
Current spending per student, largest Florida districts, FY23Palm Beach County $14,024; Miami-Dade County Public Schools $13,138; Pinellas County Schools $12,514; Broward County Public Schools $12,121; Lee County Schools $12,108; Polk County Public Schools $11,747; Orange County Public Schools $11,706; Duval County Public Schools $11,670; Hillsborough County Public Schools $10,589; Pasco County Schools $10,007; State median, 1,000+ students $11,744.8k10k12k14k16kPalm Beach County$14,024Miami-Dade County Public Schools$13,138Pinellas County Schools$12,514Broward County Public Schools$12,121Lee County Schools$12,108Polk County Public Schools$11,747Orange County Public Schools$11,706Duval County Public Schools$11,670Hillsborough County Public Schools$10,589Pasco County Schools$10,007State median, 1,000+ students $11,744
Current spending per student, largest Florida districts, FY23Palm Beach County $14,024; Miami-Dade County Public Schools $13,138; Pinellas County Schools $12,514; Broward County Public Schools $12,121; Lee County Schools $12,108; Polk County Public Schools $11,747; Orange County Public Schools $11,706; Duval County Public Schools $11,670; Hillsborough County Public Schools $10,589; Pasco County Schools $10,007; State median, 1,000+ students $11,744.8k12k16kPalm Beach County$14,024Miami-Dade County Public Schools$13,138Pinellas County Schools$12,514Broward County Public Schools$12,121Lee County Schools$12,108Polk County Public Schools$11,747Orange County Public Schools$11,706Duval County Public Schools$11,670Hillsborough County Public Schools$10,589Pasco County Schools$10,007State median, 1,000+ students $11,744
Current spending per student, largest Florida districts, FY23Palm Beach County $14,024; Miami-Dade County Public Schools $13,138; Pinellas County Schools $12,514; Broward County Public Schools $12,121; Lee County Schools $12,108; Polk County Public Schools $11,747; Orange County Public Schools $11,706; Duval County Public Schools $11,670; Hillsborough County Public Schools $10,589; Pasco County Schools $10,007; State median, 1,000+ students $11,744.8k12k16kPalm Beach County$14,024Miami-Dade County Public Schools$13,138Pinellas County Schools$12,514Broward County Public Schools$12,121Lee County Schools$12,108Polk County Public Schools$11,747Orange County Public Schools$11,706Duval County Public Schools$11,670Hillsborough County Public Schools$10,589Pasco County Schools$10,007State median, 1,000+ students $11,744

Where the money came from

$4,922,614,000 in revenue: 23.1% state, 57.4% local and 19.5% federal. Total spending including $237,547,000 of capital outlay was $4,857,402,000, or $14,539 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Miami-Dade County Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,135,526,000; Local $2,824,918,000; Federal $962,170,000; total $4,922,614,000.
  • State$1,135,526,000 23%
  • Local$2,824,918,000 57%
  • Federal$962,170,000 20%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 66 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

335,929 students in 2022-23, 337,255 students in 2023-24, 334,135 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Miami-Dade County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 335,929, 2023-24: 337,255, 2024-25: 334,1350100k200k300k400k2022-23335,9292023-24337,2552024-25334,135
Miami-Dade County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 335,929, 2023-24: 337,255, 2024-25: 334,1350100k200k300k400k2022-23335,9292023-24337,2552024-25334,135
Miami-Dade County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 335,929, 2023-24: 337,255, 2024-25: 334,1350100k200k300k400k2022-23335,9292023-24337,2552024-25334,135
Miami-Dade County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 335,929, 2023-24: 337,255, 2024-25: 334,1350100k200k300k400k2022-23335,9292023-24337,2552024-25334,135

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23335,92916710.020.1
2023-24337,25516766.020.1
2024-25334,13517239.019.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,073,368,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,213 per student

Miami-Dade County Public Schools booked $1,073,368,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 16,606 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $64,637 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 82 in 100 Florida districts with a figure (state median $58,157, 66 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Florida teacher salary at $51,230 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$735,222,00068.5%
Special education$238,357,00022.2%
Vocational$37,900,0003.5%
Other programs$61,889,0005.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,819 in 2018-19, $3,165 in 2019-20, $3,276 in 2020-21, $3,260 in 2021-22, $3,213 in 2022-23.

Miami-Dade County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,819, 2019-20: $3,165, 2020-21: $3,276, 2021-22: $3,260, 2022-23: $3,21301k2k3k4k2018-19$2,8192019-20$3,1652020-21$3,2762021-22$3,2602022-23$3,213
Miami-Dade County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,819, 2019-20: $3,165, 2020-21: $3,276, 2021-22: $3,260, 2022-23: $3,21301k2k3k4k2018-19$2,8192019-20$3,1652020-21$3,2762021-22$3,2602022-23$3,213
Miami-Dade County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,819, 2019-20: $3,165, 2020-21: $3,276, 2021-22: $3,260, 2022-23: $3,21301k2k3k4k2018-19$2,8192019-20$3,1652020-21$3,2762021-22$3,2602022-23$3,213
Miami-Dade County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,819, 2019-20: $3,165, 2020-21: $3,276, 2021-22: $3,260, 2022-23: $3,21301k2k3k4k2018-19$2,8192019-20$3,1652020-21$3,2762021-22$3,2602022-23$3,213

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Miami-Dade County Public Schools scored proficient or above: 57% in reading and 58% in math, against 53% in reading and 55% in math across Florida. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Florida, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtFloridaStudents tested
Reading and language arts57%53%147,933
Math58%55%146,907

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% of the 23,623 students in Miami-Dade County Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Florida. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtFlorida
Four-year graduation rate90%88%
Students in the class23,623208,274

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

285 elementary schools, 166,299 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Aventura Waterways K-8 Center2,06318.823.2%Eligible, no program
Keys Gate Charter School1,95022.763.7%Schoolwide program
Somerset Academy Silver Palms1,89023.679.3%Schoolwide program
Norman S. Edelcup/Sunny Isles Beach K-81,72918.823.4%Eligible, no program
Citrus Grove Elementary School1,58314.750.1%Schoolwide program
Mater Academy1,52121.486.7%Schoolwide program
Palm Springs North Elementary School1,42217.839.3%Eligible, no program
Bob Graham Education Center1,40417.135.7%Eligible, no program
Ruth K. Broad Bay Harbor K-8 Center1,25720.318.5%Not Title I
David Lawrence Jr. K-8 Center1,24617.839.7%Schoolwide program
Mater Grove Academy1,23320.919.8%Eligible, no program
Miami Lakes K-8 Center1,19618.736.5%Eligible, no program
The other 273 elementary schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Sunset Elementary School1,19215.35.5%Not Title I
Academir Charter School Preparatory1,17218.669.0%Schoolwide program
Gateway Environmental K-8 Learning Center1,16518.863.1%Schoolwide program
Coconut Palm K-8 Academy1,15918.464.8%Schoolwide program
Spanish Lake Elementary School1,13817.544.8%Schoolwide program
Air Base K-8 Center for International Education1,13118.028.6%Eligible, no program
West Hialeah Gardens Elementary School1,12814.646.6%Schoolwide program
Doral Academy1,09119.818.3%Eligible, no program
Downtown Doral Charter Elementary School1,08515.714.2%Not Title I
Madie Ives K-8 Preparatory Academy1,08319.349.6%Schoolwide program
Marcus a. Milam K-8 Center1,08217.749.4%Schoolwide program
Winston Park K-8 Center1,06717.839.8%Eligible, no program
Leisure City K-8 Center1,05917.967.2%Schoolwide program
Coral Way K-8 Center1,03818.235.6%Schoolwide program
Aventura City of Excellence School1,03217.20.4%Not Title I
Pinecrest Elementary School1,00118.59.4%Not Title I
Norma Butler Bossard Elementary School99615.837.2%Eligible, no program
Hialeah Gardens Elementary School99512.944.0%Schoolwide program
Redland Elementary School97419.154.9%Schoolwide program
The Charter School at Waterstone97415.545.3%Schoolwide program
Kensington Park Elementary School96914.947.5%Schoolwide program
Ernest R. Graham K-8 Academy94719.753.4%Schoolwide program
Joella Good Elementary School94116.846.9%Schoolwide program
Pinecrest Cove Academy93821.342.5%Eligible, no program
Ben Sheppard Elementary School92716.056.9%Schoolwide program
Mater Academy Bay Elementary917not reported43.6%Eligible, no program
Everglades K-8 Center91214.350.4%Schoolwide program
North Beach Elementary School90518.118.1%Not Title I
Pinecrest Glades Academy90019.636.6%Eligible, no program
South Hialeah Elementary School89916.667.5%Schoolwide program
Key Biscayne K-8 Center88418.05.4%Not Title I
Renaissance Elementary Charter School87620.930.8%Not Title I
Southside Preparatory Academy87316.829.4%Eligible, no program
West Homestead K-8 Center86418.449.5%Schoolwide program
Eugenia B. Thomas K-8 Center86115.920.7%Eligible, no program
Hive Preparatory School85416.444.7%Schoolwide program
Miami Beach Feinberg/Fisher K-885117.439.0%Schoolwide program
Campbell Drive K-8 Center84415.662.2%Schoolwide program
Riverside Elementary School84217.251.2%Schoolwide program
Bowman Ashe/Doolin K-8 Academy84116.553.7%Schoolwide program
Ojus Elementary School83517.444.1%Schoolwide program
Henry E.S. Reeves K-8 Center83017.367.6%Schoolwide program
Ethel Koger Beckham K-8 Center82115.224.5%Schoolwide program
Devon Aire K-8 Center81816.731.5%Eligible, no program
Coral Gables Preparatory Academy81218.025.0%Eligible, no program
Hubert O. Sibley K-8 Academy81217.757.8%Schoolwide program
Shenandoah Elementary School80517.154.9%Schoolwide program
Jack David Gordon Elementary School80516.837.0%Schoolwide program
Somerset Academy80521.258.9%Eligible, no program
Mater Gardens Academy803not reported46.2%Eligible, no program
Henry M. Flagler Elementary School79215.861.9%Schoolwide program
Thomas Jefferson Biscayne Gardens K-8 Academy78714.163.3%Schoolwide program
Meadowlane Elementary School78618.754.5%Schoolwide program
John I. Smith K-8 Center78516.019.4%Eligible, no program
Coral Park Elementary School78215.341.8%Schoolwide program
Ada Merritt K-8 Center78016.616.8%Not Title I
Auburndale Elementary School77915.648.0%Schoolwide program
Youth Co-Op Charter School76117.770.8%Schoolwide program
Kenwood K-8 Center75915.829.4%Eligible, no program
Caribbean K-8 Center75217.966.2%Schoolwide program
Pinecrest Academy (South Campus)73319.851.2%Eligible, no program
Dr. Edward L. Whigham Elementary School73114.950.3%Schoolwide program
Pinecrest North Preparatory (Fontainebleau Campus)727not reported10.7%Not Title I
Irving & Beatrice Peskoe K-8 Center72617.368.9%Schoolwide program
Hialeah Elementary School70014.957.9%Schoolwide program
Coral Reef Elementary School69617.424.7%Not Title I
Calusa Elementary School69517.421.7%Eligible, no program
Academir Charter School West69517.835.3%Eligible, no program
Kendale Lakes Elementary School69314.442.7%Schoolwide program
Lincoln-Marti Charter School Little Havana Campus67418.240.7%Schoolwide program
Vineland K-8 Center67116.818.2%Not Title I
Avocado Elementary School66915.260.4%Schoolwide program
Mater Academy Bay Biscayne North Miami Elementary School664not reported11.3%Not Title I
Miami Heights Elementary School65614.351.7%Schoolwide program
Bridgeprep Academy of North Miami Beach65682.00.9%Eligible, no program
Palmetto Elementary School65417.711.0%Not Title I
Archimedean Academy64415.327.5%Eligible, no program
Mandarin Lakes K-8 Academy64313.770.1%Schoolwide program
Kendall Square K-8 Center63817.727.6%Eligible, no program
Jane S. Roberts K-8 Center63015.034.0%Eligible, no program
Somerset Oaks Academy62819.682.2%Schoolwide program
Mae M. Walters Elementary School62015.158.9%Schoolwide program
Maya Angelou Elementary School62015.948.4%Schoolwide program
Oliver Hoover Elementary School61714.032.4%Schoolwide program
W. J. Bryan Elementary61117.557.8%Schoolwide program
Frank Crawford Martin K-8 Center61115.347.5%Eligible, no program
E.W.F. Stirrup Elementary School61115.743.5%Schoolwide program
Miami Shores Elementary School61018.549.0%Schoolwide program
Arcola Lake Elementary School60117.763.9%Schoolwide program
Comstock Elementary School59716.663.8%Schoolwide program
Charles R Hadley Elementary School59515.743.4%Schoolwide program
Linda Lentin K-8 Center59415.663.8%Schoolwide program
West Lakes Preparatory Academy59416.129.3%Eligible, no program
North Twin Lakes Elementary School59015.558.8%Schoolwide program
Imater Academy59019.080.0%Schoolwide program
Virginia a Boone-Highland Oaks School58617.828.3%Eligible, no program
Dr. Gilbert L. Porter Elementary School58613.339.6%Eligible, no program
Mater Academy (Miami Beach)58615.851.7%Eligible, no program
Palm Springs Elementary School58515.849.9%Schoolwide program
Dr. Rolando Espinosa K-8 Center58416.221.2%Eligible, no program
Dr. Toni Bilbao Preparatory Academy58012.923.3%Eligible, no program
Palm Lakes Elementary School57414.747.2%Schoolwide program
Somerset Academy Silver Palms at Princeton57421.365.3%Schoolwide program
Mater Academy East Charter School57322.073.5%Schoolwide program
Doral International Academy of Math and Science57014.615.3%Eligible, no program
Redondo Elementary School56915.048.5%Schoolwide program
Charles David Wyche Jr Elementary School56814.664.3%Schoolwide program
George W. Carver Elementary School56317.114.4%Eligible, no program
Somerset Gables Academy55619.919.2%Not Title I
Marjory Stoneman Douglas Elementary55414.640.6%Schoolwide program
Sylvania Heights Elementary School55114.152.5%Schoolwide program
Somerset Academy Charter Elementary School (South Homestead)55117.271.1%Schoolwide program
Benjamin Franklin K-8 Center54817.161.5%Schoolwide program
Kinloch Park Elementary School54815.255.3%Schoolwide program
Carrie P. Meek/Westview K-8 Center54813.763.0%Schoolwide program
Coconut Grove Elementary School54714.810.1%Not Title I
Miami Community Charter School54520.285.3%Schoolwide program
Gulfstream Elementary School54411.158.3%Schoolwide program
Oak Grove Elementary School54317.563.4%Schoolwide program
Dr. Carlos J. Finlay Elementary54015.046.5%Schoolwide program
Norland Elementary School53615.362.7%Schoolwide program
Florida City Elementary School53517.372.5%Schoolwide program
Greynolds Park Elementary School53216.647.7%Schoolwide program
Santa Clara Elementary School53216.648.3%Schoolwide program
Dr. Manuel C. Barreiro Elementary School53016.130.6%Eligible, no program
Biscayne Beach Elementary School52515.950.7%Schoolwide program
William H. Lehman Elementary School52214.133.1%Eligible, no program
Coral Reef Montessori Academy Charter School52120.83.5%Eligible, no program
Melrose Elementary School51819.962.2%Schoolwide program
Dr. William a. Chapman Elementary School51515.669.5%Schoolwide program
Royal Palm Elementary School51413.949.0%Schoolwide program
Dr. Henry E. Perrine Academy of the Arts51315.150.7%Eligible, no program
John G. Dupuis Elementary School50815.460.6%Schoolwide program
Seminole Elementary School50815.452.2%Schoolwide program
South Miami K-8 Center50814.533.9%Eligible, no program
Leewood K-8 Center50617.422.1%Not Title I
Somerset Prepatory Academy - Homestead50620.274.7%Schoolwide program
Broadmoor Elementary School50115.753.1%Schoolwide program
Whispering Pines Elementary School50017.935.8%Eligible, no program
Fulford Elementary School49816.653.6%Schoolwide program
Laura C. Saunders Elementary School49816.666.1%Schoolwide program
Goulds Elementary School49714.268.6%Schoolwide program
Fairlawn Elementary School49316.445.6%Schoolwide program
Pinecrest Preparatory Academy49121.349.5%Eligible, no program
Somerset Academy Elementary School South Miami Campus49115.815.5%Not Title I
Wesley Matthews Elementary School49013.650.6%Schoolwide program
Flamingo Elementary School48415.662.2%Schoolwide program
Christina M. Eve Elementary School48215.132.0%Eligible, no program
North Hialeah Elementary School47816.562.1%Schoolwide program
Gertrude K. Edelman/Sabal Palm47615.959.0%Schoolwide program
David Fairchild Elementary School47316.315.2%Not Title I
Scott Lake Elementary School47217.556.1%Schoolwide program
Phyllis R. Miller Elementary School47115.751.8%Schoolwide program
Pinecrest Academy (North Campus)46819.548.1%Eligible, no program
Mater Academy of International Studies46519.482.6%Schoolwide program
Sweetwater Elementary School46314.952.1%Schoolwide program
Academir Charter School East at Doral46317.823.8%Not Title I
Coral Terrace Elementary School46214.948.1%Schoolwide program
Miami Beach South Pointe Elementary School46216.532.0%Eligible, no program
Charles R Drew K-8 Center46117.176.4%Schoolwide program
Zora Neale Hurston Elementary School45914.341.4%Schoolwide program
Amelia Earhart Elementary School45414.660.4%Schoolwide program
Bridgeprep Academy South45316.843.3%Eligible, no program
James H. Bright Elementary/J.W. Johnson Elementary45213.357.7%Schoolwide program
Archcreek Elementary School45015.560.9%Schoolwide program
Gratigny Elementary School44314.364.3%Schoolwide program
Norwood Elementary School44311.759.6%Schoolwide program
Downtown Miami Charter School44219.26.6%Schoolwide program
Edison Park K-8 Center44114.769.4%Schoolwide program
South Miami Heights Elementary43616.151.1%Schoolwide program
Academir Charter School of Math and Science43618.273.6%Schoolwide program
Cutler Ridge Elementary School43017.260.7%Schoolwide program
North Miami Elementary School43012.661.4%Schoolwide program
Bent Tree Elementary School43011.341.9%Schoolwide program
Beacon College Prep Middle School42412.864.6%Schoolwide program
Summerville Advantage Academy42016.249.3%Schoolwide program
Claude Pepper Elementary School41711.943.9%Eligible, no program
Excelsior Prep Charter School of Miami413not reported88.1%Schoolwide program
Somerset Arts Academy41317.261.7%Schoolwide program
Treasure Island Elementary School41217.947.1%Schoolwide program
Andrea Castillo Preparatory Academy41214.716.7%Not Title I
Joe Hall Elementary School41012.846.1%Schoolwide program
Somerset Academy Bay41019.512.4%Not Title I
Morningside K-8 Academy40615.054.7%Schoolwide program
Dante B. Fascell Elementary School40314.441.9%Schoolwide program
Academir Preparatory Academy39615.266.2%Schoolwide program
Holmes Elementary School39519.876.5%Schoolwide program
Sunset Park Elementary School39013.035.6%Schoolwide program
Bridgeprep Academy of Greater Miami38817.664.9%Schoolwide program
Dr. Henry W. Mack/West Little River K-8 Center38317.460.8%Schoolwide program
Jesse J. Mccrary Jr. Elementary School38216.663.9%Schoolwide program
Toussaint L'ouverture Elementary38215.961.3%Schoolwide program
Flagami Elementary School38114.743.8%Schoolwide program
Miami Springs Elementary School38112.350.4%Schoolwide program
Cypress K-8 Center37615.046.8%Schoolwide program
Van E. Blanton Elementary School37417.865.0%Schoolwide program
Paul Laurence Dunbar K-8 Center37314.964.9%Schoolwide program
Henry S. West Laboratory School37314.310.7%Not Title I
Earlington Heights Elementary School37114.366.3%Schoolwide program
Royal Green Elementary School37113.346.6%Schoolwide program
Rockway Elementary School37015.450.5%Schoolwide program
Tropical Elementary School36712.741.4%Schoolwide program
Mater Preparatory Academy36719.385.0%Schoolwide program
Snapper Creek Elementary School36211.046.4%Eligible, no program
Silver Bluff Elementary School35815.647.2%Schoolwide program
Lenora Braynon Smith Elementary35316.063.7%Schoolwide program
Lakeview Elementary School35115.359.8%Schoolwide program
Somerset Preparatory Academy Sunset35015.933.7%Eligible, no program
Natural Bridge Elementary School34915.255.3%Schoolwide program
Kendale Elementary School34816.630.5%Eligible, no program
Gloria Floyd Elementary School34411.144.5%Eligible, no program
Francis S.Tucker K-8 Center34412.756.7%Schoolwide program
Howard Drive Elementary School34116.228.7%Eligible, no program
Banyan Elementary School34014.839.7%Schoolwide program
Hibiscus Elementary School33915.459.6%Schoolwide program
Dr. Frederica S. Wilson/Skyway Elementary School33617.763.1%Schoolwide program
Pine Lake Elementary School33516.064.5%Schoolwide program
True North Classical Academy at Gateway33322.29.0%Not Title I
Brentwood Elementary School33015.065.8%Schoolwide program
Twin Lakes Elementary School32518.154.2%Schoolwide program
Bel-Aire Elementary School32416.260.2%Schoolwide program
Eneida M. Hartner Elementary School32416.259.3%Schoolwide program
Somerset Palms Academy32418.044.1%Eligible, no program
North County K-8 Center31916.867.7%Schoolwide program
Olympia Heights Elementary School31814.564.5%Schoolwide program
North Dade Center for Modern Languages31514.339.7%Schoolwide program
Miami Children's Museum Charter School31416.526.1%Not Title I
Nathan B. Young Elementary School31018.270.3%Schoolwide program
Carol City Elementary School30822.076.3%Schoolwide program
Springview Elementary School30215.935.8%Eligible, no program
Liberty City Elementary School29918.763.9%Schoolwide program
Agenoria S Paschal/Olinda Elementary School29613.566.6%Schoolwide program
Kelsey L. Pharr Elementary School29417.362.2%Schoolwide program
Greenglade Elementary School29314.049.8%Schoolwide program
Colonial Drive Elementary School28914.552.6%Schoolwide program
Emerson Elementary School28915.243.9%Schoolwide program
Excelsior Prep Charter School of Hialeah28715.185.4%Schoolwide program
Orchard Villa Elementary School28317.765.4%Schoolwide program
True North Classical Academy at Pinecrest27818.510.4%Not reported
Bunche Park Elementary School26912.875.1%Schoolwide program
Lillie C. Evans K-8 Center26919.271.0%Schoolwide program
Integrated Science and Asian Culture (Isaac) Academy26816.823.9%Eligible, no program
Crestview Elementary School26418.964.4%Schoolwide program
Miami Gardens Elementary School26418.961.0%Schoolwide program
Village Green Elementary School26417.643.2%Schoolwide program
Alpha Charter of Excellence26213.855.0%Schoolwide program
Ludlam Elementary School26014.445.8%Schoolwide program
Lake Stevens Elementary School25515.955.3%Schoolwide program
Mater Academy Kiwanis23612.495.3%Not reported
Dr. Robert B. Ingram Elementary School23217.863.8%Schoolwide program
Barbara Hawkins Elementary School22717.568.3%Schoolwide program
Somerset Academy Kendall22417.224.6%Not Title I
Pine Villa Elementary School21921.981.7%Schoolwide program
North Glade Elementary School21615.458.8%Schoolwide program
Golden Glades Elementary School21016.276.2%Schoolwide program
Lincoln-Marti Schools International Campus21011.161.0%Schoolwide program
Lorah Park Elementary School20720.768.1%Schoolwide program
Bridgeprep Academy Interamerican Campus18820.92.7%Schoolwide program
Frederick R. Douglass Elementary18715.665.8%Schoolwide program
Mater International Academy17922.495.0%Schoolwide program
Parkway Elementary School17814.863.5%Schoolwide program
Rainbow Park Elementary School17217.276.2%Schoolwide program
Poinciana Park Elementary School16914.171.6%Schoolwide program
Robert Russa Moton Elementary School16816.883.9%Schoolwide program
Theodore R. and Thelma a. Gibson Charter School16818.794.0%Schoolwide program
Ben Gamla Charter School165not reported33.3%Eligible, no program
Myrtle Grove K-8 Center15417.176.0%Schoolwide program
Phyllis Wheatley Elementary School14514.566.2%Schoolwide program
South Prep Scholars Academy13819.72.2%Not Title I
Brightview Preparatory Academy11214.083.0%Not reported
Early Beginnings Academy9812.35.1%Eligible, no program
Thena Crowder Early Childhood Diagnostic Special Education C698.673.9%Not Title I
Somerset Academy Continental5518.329.1%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

77 middle schools, 46,837 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Hialeah Gardens Middle School1,55124.244.0%Schoolwide program
Doral Academy Charter Middle School1,35133.820.9%Eligible, no program
South Dade Middle School1,30417.458.8%Schoolwide program
Shenandoah Middle School1,23120.555.1%Schoolwide program
Mater Academy Charter Middle School1,21925.970.7%Schoolwide program
Southwood Middle School1,06322.627.8%Eligible, no program
John F. Kennedy Middle School1,05223.450.7%Schoolwide program
Jorge Mas Canosa Middle School1,01918.247.6%Schoolwide program
Hialeah Middle School1,00220.955.6%Schoolwide program
Herbert a. Ammons Middle School99923.828.1%Eligible, no program
Arvida Middle School98922.534.8%Eligible, no program
Miami Lakes Middle School98725.345.0%Schoolwide program
The other 65 middle schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Howard D. Mcmillan Middle School95719.539.3%Schoolwide program
George Washington Carver Middle School94120.010.5%Not Title I
Cutler Bay Middle93516.156.0%Schoolwide program
Miami Beach Nautilus Middle School89325.532.0%Eligible, no program
Sports Leadership and Management (Slam) Charter Middle Schoo89381.252.4%Schoolwide program
Rockway Middle School88820.751.1%Schoolwide program
Mater Academy Lakes Middle School87022.352.6%Schoolwide program
Imater Academy Middle School78325.364.4%Schoolwide program
Ponce De Leon Middle School77818.545.0%Schoolwide program
Kinloch Park Middle School74621.351.3%Schoolwide program
Highland Oaks Middle School73621.036.4%Eligible, no program
Henry H. Filer Middle School73223.668.0%Schoolwide program
North Miami Middle School72417.756.6%Schoolwide program
South Miami Middle School72021.832.6%Eligible, no program
Lamar Louise Curry Middle School71819.939.7%Schoolwide program
Palmetto Middle School71523.820.6%Not Title I
Palm Springs Middle School69814.057.6%Schoolwide program
Miami Springs Middle School66622.255.0%Schoolwide program
Redland Middle School66116.162.3%Schoolwide program
Norland Middle School65622.657.3%Schoolwide program
Jose De Diego Middle School64715.856.9%Schoolwide program
West Miami Middle School59918.248.6%Schoolwide program
Somerset Academy Charter Middle School59422.868.2%Eligible, no program
Mater Academy Biscayne Middle School56622.627.2%Not reported
Homestead Middle School54515.673.6%Schoolwide program
Glades Middle School53319.740.9%Eligible, no program
Mater Brickell Academy Middle52518.152.4%Not reported
Mater Academy Bay Middle School518not reported43.8%Eligible, no program
Lawton Chiles Middle School51417.747.9%Schoolwide program
Lake Stevens Middle School50919.657.0%Schoolwide program
W. R. Thomas Middle School50719.549.1%Schoolwide program
Country Club Middle School49617.752.2%Schoolwide program
Pinecrest Academy Charter Middle School49423.545.1%Eligible, no program
Hammocks Middle School48620.343.0%Schoolwide program
Ruben Dario Middle School48418.647.1%Schoolwide program
Somerset Academy Charter Middle School (South Homestead)48424.270.5%Schoolwide program
Paul W. Bell Middle School48317.945.8%Schoolwide program
Riviera Middle School47917.150.1%Schoolwide program
Brownsville Middle School47720.756.8%Schoolwide program
Madison Middle School45818.357.2%Schoolwide program
Georgia Jones Ayers Middle School44817.952.2%Schoolwide program
Carol City Middle School41118.766.9%Schoolwide program
Renaissance Middle Charter School39115.035.3%Not Title I
Somerset Prep Academy Middle Homestead38538.571.9%Schoolwide program
Andover Middle School37916.553.6%Schoolwide program
Everglades Preparatory Academy37415.640.4%Schoolwide program
Richmond Heights Middle School34520.358.0%Schoolwide program
Horace Mann Middle School34215.559.4%Schoolwide program
Mater Lakes Collegiate Academy Middle School33236.950.3%Not reported
Archimedean Middle Conservatory32815.632.9%Eligible, no program
North Dade Middle School32719.264.5%Schoolwide program
Miami Community Charter Middle School32324.887.3%Schoolwide program
International Studies Charter Middle School32015.249.1%Eligible, no program
Academir Charter School Middle29916.662.9%Schoolwide program
Doral Academy of Technology28857.612.2%Not Title I
Just Arts and Management Charter Middle School28820.618.1%Eligible, no program
Somerset Academy Bay Middle School25921.615.4%Not Title I
Palm Glades Preparatory Academy21927.457.5%Schoolwide program
Mater International Preparatory21226.579.7%Schoolwide program
Sports Leadership and Management (Slam) Middle School - Nort21121.145.0%Schoolwide program
Somerset Academy Charter Middle School South Miami Campus16623.717.5%Not Title I
Academir Middle School of Math and Science15125.278.8%Not reported
Academir Charter School East Middle9230.729.3%Not reported
Phoenix Academy of Excellence North45not reported100.0%Schoolwide program
Phoenix Academy of Excellence2713.5100.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

119 high schools, 110,903 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
John a. Ferguson Senior High4,29126.732.9%Eligible, no program
Coral Reef Senior High School3,39925.823.9%Eligible, no program
South Dade Senior High School3,38225.459.1%Schoolwide program
Miami Senior High School3,10024.652.3%Schoolwide program
Hialeah Gardens Senior High School3,00926.442.8%Schoolwide program
Barbara Goleman Senior High2,97327.336.0%Eligible, no program
Coral Gables Senior High School2,89424.536.4%Eligible, no program
Miami Palmetto Senior High School2,61825.424.8%Eligible, no program
Southwest Miami Senior High2,59922.643.2%Schoolwide program
Homestead Senior High School2,32322.163.6%Schoolwide program
G. Holmes Braddock Senior High2,29121.240.8%Schoolwide program
Miami Southridge Senior High2,23824.153.4%Schoolwide program
The other 107 high schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Dr. Michael M. Krop Senior High2,16529.336.0%Eligible, no program
Miami Beach Senior High School2,13425.129.1%Eligible, no program
Miami Coral Park Senior High2,08221.539.7%Schoolwide program
Doral Academy Charter High School2,07328.020.4%Eligible, no program
Felix Varela Senior High School1,93524.236.1%Eligible, no program
Miami Arts Studio 6-12 at Zelda Glazer1,79922.821.1%Eligible, no program
Robert Morgan Educational Center1,78024.144.7%Schoolwide program
North Miami Senior High School1,74822.153.5%Schoolwide program
Hialeah Senior High School1,71119.054.6%Schoolwide program
Miami Norland Senior High School1,65322.054.0%Schoolwide program
Terra Environmental Research Institute1,64426.520.4%Eligible, no program
Alonzo & Tracy Mourning Senior High School1,63330.829.8%Eligible, no program
South Miami Senior High School1,61121.541.8%Schoolwide program
Mater Academy Charter High School1,61130.463.2%Schoolwide program
American Senior High School1,58221.746.9%Schoolwide program
Mast Academy1,57120.48.7%Not Title I
Downtown Doral Charter Upper School1,50022.415.0%Not Title I
Miami Northwestern Senior High1,47920.861.7%Schoolwide program
Miami Central Senior High School1,41419.459.5%Schoolwide program
Hialeah-Miami Lakes Senior High1,36720.753.0%Schoolwide program
William H. Turner Technical Arts High School1,29022.652.4%Schoolwide program
Ronald W. Reagan/Doral Senior High School1,28826.315.5%Eligible, no program
Miami Jackson Senior High School1,21320.654.2%Schoolwide program
Mater Academy Lakes High School1,20125.051.4%Schoolwide program
Westland Hialeah Senior High School1,19123.457.8%Schoolwide program
Pinecrest Glades Preparatory Academy Middle High School1,15924.738.1%Eligible, no program
J.C. Bermudez Doral Senior High1,13327.017.7%Not Title I
Miami Lakes Educational Center1,10924.637.9%Schoolwide program
North Miami Beach Senior High1,07518.953.6%Schoolwide program
Miami Springs Senior High School1,03724.150.5%Schoolwide program
Jose Marti Mast 6-12 Academy1,00824.632.4%Eligible, no program
City of Hialeah Educational Academy1,00225.771.3%Schoolwide program
Imater Preparatory Academy High School99424.262.6%Schoolwide program
Sports Leadership Arts Management Charter High School98639.459.8%Schoolwide program
Miami Sunset Senior High School97920.036.8%Schoolwide program
Somerset Academy Charter High School97138.862.8%Schoolwide program
Miami Arts Charter95917.10.7%Not Title I
Booker T. Washington Senior High94417.553.3%Schoolwide program
Miami Carol City Senior High85919.164.0%Schoolwide program
Don Soffer Aventura High School82019.119.8%Not Title I
Keys Gate Charter High School76323.841.5%Eligible, no program
Bridgeprep Academy of Village Green Middle High School69624.031.8%Not reported
Miami Killian Senior High School67517.840.9%Eligible, no program
Miami Edison Senior High School61717.658.2%Schoolwide program
Cutler Bay Senior High School59021.126.3%Eligible, no program
Doctors Charter School of Miami Shores56721.019.6%Not Title I
Green Springs High School55661.84.1%Not Title I
Pinecrest Preparatory Academy Charter High School52952.944.2%Eligible, no program
Iprep Academy North52223.719.3%Not Title I
Arthur and Polly Mays Conservatory of the Arts51419.049.8%Schoolwide program
Medical Academy for Science and Technology (M.a.S.T.) @ Home51121.336.4%Eligible, no program
Somerset Academy Charter High School (South Homestead)49719.972.8%Schoolwide program
Mast@Fiu48924.520.4%Eligible, no program
Mater Brickell Academy High48727.151.7%Not reported
Design & Architecture Senior High48616.822.2%Eligible, no program
Kendall Greens High School48248.26.2%Not Title I
Everglades Preparatory Academy High School46417.844.8%Schoolwide program
North Gardens High School45464.95.7%Eligible, no program
New World School of the Arts45115.619.7%Not Title I
North Park High School43147.93.9%Eligible, no program
Center for International Education a Cambridge Associate School39221.842.3%Eligible, no program
Mater Academy Bay High School390not reported48.2%Eligible, no program
International Studies Charter High School37618.853.5%Eligible, no program
Somerset Preparatory Academy High School Homestead37634.275.0%Eligible, no program
International Studies Preparatory Academy37515.613.9%Eligible, no program
Acceleration Academies-Central Miami375not reported3.7%Eligible, no program
Doral Performing Arts & Entertainment Academy36973.817.3%Not Title I
Mater Performing Arts & Entertainment Academy31521.060.6%Schoolwide program
Somerset College Preparatory Academy South High School31528.666.7%Not reported
Stellar Leadership Academy31226.011.5%Schoolwide program
Mater Academy Biscayne North Miami High School30820.531.5%Not reported
Archimedean Upper Conservatory30613.325.5%Eligible, no program
Biotech@Richmond Heights 9-12 High School29716.530.0%Eligible, no program
Young Womens Preparatory Academy29516.437.6%Eligible, no program
School for Advanced Studies - South29036.315.5%Not Title I
Mater Lakes Collegiate Academy High School28896.048.3%Not reported
Law Enforcement Officers Memorial High School28114.854.1%Schoolwide program
Slam Academy High School North Campus27839.735.3%Schoolwide program
C. G. Bethel High School26938.47.4%Eligible, no program
Miami Community Charter High School26515.674.7%Schoolwide program
Chambers High School24348.64.5%Eligible, no program
Youth Co-Op Preparatory High School24024.062.1%Schoolwide program
The Seed School of Miami23210.169.8%Schoolwide program
Itech@Thomas a Edison Educational Center23017.761.7%Schoolwide program
Palm Glades Preparatory High School22912.748.9%Schoolwide program
Charter High School of the Americas17925.636.3%Schoolwide program
Acceleration Academies Llc Homestead170not reported7.1%Eligible, no program
Young Men's Preparatory Academy16511.053.3%Schoolwide program
School for Advanced Studies-Wolfson13545.015.6%Eligible, no program
School for Advanced Studies Homestead13043.329.2%Eligible, no program
School for Advanced Studies11929.810.1%Eligible, no program
Colegiate Virtual Academy11416.35.3%Not Title I
School for Advanced Studies North11328.323.0%Eligible, no program
Dr. Marvin Dunn Academy for Community Education.779.671.4%Schoolwide program
Juvenile Justice Center Alt Ed708.815.7%Eligible, no program
His House63not reportednot reportedNot Title I
Secondary Student Success Center 80350not reported36.0%Schoolwide program
Charter High School of the Americas (Florida City Campus)4816.056.3%Schoolwide program
Pace Center for Girls36not reported19.4%Eligible, no program
Secondary Student Success Center 80135not reported48.6%Schoolwide program
Cope Center North282.864.3%Schoolwide program
Dorothy M. Wallace Cope Center272.570.4%Schoolwide program
Secondary Student Success Center-80424not reported62.5%Schoolwide program
International Studies Virtual Academy24not reported13.0%Not Title I
Turner/Guilford/Knight22not reported12.5%Not Title I
Secondary Student Success Center 80216not reported37.5%Schoolwide program
Here's Help4not reportednot reportedEligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

28 other schools, 10,096 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
True North Classical Academy1,45017.712.2%Not Title I
KIPP Miami-Liberty City1,35920.39.1%Schoolwide program
Bridgeprep Academy of Miami Dade1,31617.50.7%Not Title I
Academy for Innovative Education1,06317.741.5%Schoolwide program
Bridgeprep Academy of Village Green85620.920.8%Eligible, no program
I Preparatory Academy78118.618.2%Not Title I
Miami-Dade Virtual High School Franchise49822.63.4%Not Title I
Brucie Ball Educational Center435not reported52.0%Eligible, no program
Prek Intervention355not reported2.3%Not Title I
Blue Lakes Elementary School34810.936.8%Eligible, no program
Miami-Dade Online Academy- Virtual Instruction Program297not reported11.4%Not Title I
South Florida Autism Charter School Inc29514.836.9%Schoolwide program
The other 16 schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lincoln-Marti Charter School Hialeah Campus17111.450.9%Schoolwide program
Mater Academy Virtual Charter School9924.84.0%Eligible, no program
Miami Macarthur Educational Center975.771.1%Schoolwide program
Ruth Owens Kruse Education Center973.757.7%Schoolwide program
Neva King Cooper Educational Center865.159.3%Schoolwide program
Jann Mann Educational Center834.268.7%Schoolwide program
Instructional Center System Wide80not reported11.3%Not Title I
Chapman Partnership Early Childhood Center South7777.096.1%Not Title I
Teenage Parent Program51not reported4.8%Not Title I
Robert Renick Educational Center474.363.8%Schoolwide program
Boystown44not reportednot reportedNot Title I
Chapman Partnership Early Childhood Center N37not reported91.9%Not Title I
Title I Migrant Education Program29not reported89.7%Not Title I
Parkview Elementary School2110.561.9%Schoolwide program
Citrus Health Sipp/Crisis16not reported31.3%Not Title I
Nicklaus Children's Hospital8not reported36.4%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

14 more schools on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Citrus Grove Middle School

Middle school in Miami; 781 students; 17.4 students per teacher.

True North Classical Academy at Dadeland

Elementary school in Miami; 576 students; 19.9 students per teacher.

Beacon College Preparatory Elementary School

Elementary school in Opa Locka; 317 students.

True North Classical Academy High School

High school in Miami; 299 students; 15.0 students per teacher.

Shadowlawn Elementary School

School in Miami; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 129 students; 21.5 students per teacher.

His House

High school in Miami Gardens; open in 2024-25; 63 students.

Mater Academy East Preparatory

School in Miami; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 22 students; 22.0 students per teacher.

Amikids Miami-Dade North

School in Miami; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 20 students.

Miami Youth Academy

School in Miami; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 19 students.

Graduation Alliance

School in Miami; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 18 students.

Amikids Miami-Dade South

School in Miami; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 14 students.

Nicklaus Children's Hospital

School in Miami; open in 2024-25; 8 students.

Here's Help

High school in Opa Locka; open in 2024-25; 4 students.

Restart 500 Role Models

Elementary school in Miami; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 2 students.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Miami-Dade County Public Schools

  1. Florida districts by spending per studentMiami-Dade County Public Schools ranks 13 of 66 Florida districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,138).#13 of 66
  2. Every school district in FloridaMiami-Dade County Public Schools is the largest of 80 Florida districts, with 334,090 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1 of 80
  3. Broward County Public SchoolsThe next smaller Florida district: 254,732 students in fall 2022, $12,121 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,121
  4. Compare Miami-Dade County Public Schools with Broward County Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  5. John a. Ferguson Senior High, its largest high school4,291 students in 2024-25, 26.7 per teacher.4,291
  6. Teacher salary spending across FloridaMiami-Dade County Public Schools spent $64,637 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $58,157); spending, not a salary.$64,637
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Miami-Dade County Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Miami-Dade County Public Schools?
    509 schools were open in 2024-25 (285 elementary, 77 middle, 119 high, 28 other), enrolling 334,135 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Miami-Dade County Public Schools spend per student?
    $13,138 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Florida median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,744 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,931 per student, up 6.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Miami-Dade County Public Schools' money come from?
    $4,922,614,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 23.1% state, 57.4% local and 19.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Miami-Dade County Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 64,456 of the 408,605 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 15.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Miami-Dade County Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,073,368,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,213 per student. Divided by the 16,606 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $64,637 per teacher, more than 82 in 100 Florida districts (state median $58,157). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Florida teacher salary at $51,230 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Miami-Dade County Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Miami-Dade County Public Schools scored proficient or above: 57% in reading and 58% in math, against 53% in reading and 55% in math across Florida. Florida's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Miami-Dade County Public Schools?
    90% of the 23,623 students in Miami-Dade County Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Florida. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Miami-Dade County Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    1200390. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25