I Preparatory Academy

Public school, pre-kindergarten to grade 12 · Miami, Florida

I Preparatory Academy in Miami, Florida enrolled 781 students in 2024-25 with 42.0 full-time teachers, 18.6 students per teacher against the Florida median of 11.4. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 85-90% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 91% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Florida: 53% and 52.2%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Florida: 88%).

Enrollment fell 2% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 11%

797 students in 2022-23, 824 students in 2023-24, 781 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 47.0 to 42.0.

Students enrolled at I Preparatory Academy by school year2022-23: 797, 2023-24: 824, 2024-25: 78102505007501k2022-237972023-248242024-25781
Students enrolled at I Preparatory Academy by school year2022-23: 797, 2023-24: 824, 2024-25: 78102505007501k2022-237972023-248242024-25781
Students enrolled at I Preparatory Academy by school year2022-23: 797, 2023-24: 824, 2024-25: 78102505007501k2022-237972023-248242024-25781
Students enrolled at I Preparatory Academy by school year2022-23: 797, 2023-24: 824, 2024-25: 78102505007501k2022-237972023-248242024-25781
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2379747.017.0
2023-2482443.019.2
2024-2578142.018.6

18.6 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 79 of every 100 Florida schools of this kind

Among the 234 Florida schools of this kind that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 11.4; the national median for schools of this kind is 13.8. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Florida other schools, 2024-25234 values from 3.0 to 82.5; I Preparatory Academy 18.6; state median 11.4.1 more above 80.0 →020406080students per full-time teacherI Preparatory Academy 18.6state median 11.4U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Florida other schools, 2024-25234 values from 3.0 to 82.5; I Preparatory Academy 18.6; state median 11.4.1 more above 80.0 →020406080students per full-time teacherI Preparatory Academy 18.6state median 11.4U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Florida other schools, 2024-25234 values from 3.0 to 82.5; I Preparatory Academy 18.6; state median 11.4.1 more above 80.0 →020406080students per full-time teacherI Preparatory Academy 18.6state median 11.4U.S. 13.8
Students per teacher, Florida other schools, 2024-25234 values from 3.0 to 82.5; I Preparatory Academy 18.6; state median 11.4.1 more above 80.0 →020406080students per full-time teacherI Preparatory Academy 18.6state median 11.4U.S. 13.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

13 AP courses and one counselor per 803 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection I Preparatory Academy enrolled 803 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement courses13
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 803 of the 803 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent6.6% (2022-23)

Who attends

61.5% of students were Hispanic, 20.2% White, 10.0% Black in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic61.5%
  2. White20.2%
  3. Black10.0%
  4. Two or more races4.6%
  5. Asian3.7%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at I Preparatory Academy scored proficient or above: 85-90% in reading in 2021-22 and 91% in math in 2022-23, against 53% in reading in 2021-22 and 52.2% in math in 2022-23 across Florida. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Florida, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtFlorida
Reading and language arts, 2021-2285‑90%57%53%
Math, 2022-2391%58% (2021-22)52.2%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 40 students in I Preparatory Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Florida. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtFlorida
Four-year graduation rate90% or more90%88%
Students in the class4023,623208,274

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

Schools of this kind in Miami

22 public schools of this kind in Miami report 2024-25 enrollment; I Preparatory Academy is number 5 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
True North Classical Academy1,45017.712.2%
KIPP Miami-Liberty City1,35920.39.1%
Bridgeprep Academy of Miami Dade1,31617.50.7%
Bridgeprep Academy of Village Green85620.920.8%
I Preparatory Academy78118.618.2%
Miami-Dade Virtual High School Franchise49822.63.4%
Brucie Ball Educational Center435not reported52.0%
Prek Intervention355not reported2.3%

All public schools in Miami →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about I Preparatory Academy

  1. Miami-Dade Online Academy- Virtual Instruction ProgramThe nearest public school of this kind, under 0.1 miles away: 297 students (2024-25).under 0.1 mi
  2. Chapman Partnership Early Childhood Center NThe next nearest public school of this kind, 0.3 miles away: 37 students (2024-25).0.3 mi
  3. Compare I Preparatory Academy with Miami-Dade Online Academy- Virtual Instruction ProgramStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Miami-Dade County Public Schools spends per student$13,138 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$13,138
  5. The largest public schools in FloridaI Preparatory Academy is the number 50 by size of 347 Florida schools of this kind open in 2024-25.#50 of 347
  6. Florida schools by students per teacher18.6 students per teacher here against the Florida median of 11.4 for schools of this kind.18.6:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about I Preparatory Academy

  1. How many students attend I Preparatory Academy?
    781 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 797 in 2022-23. It is a public school in Miami, FL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at I Preparatory Academy?
    18.6 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Florida median for schools of this kind is 11.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is I Preparatory Academy a Title I school?
    I Preparatory Academy was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at I Preparatory Academy do on state tests?
    The students tested at I Preparatory Academy scored proficient or above: 85-90% in reading in 2021-22 and 91% in math in 2022-23, against 53% in reading in 2021-22 and 52.2% in math in 2022-23 across Florida. Florida's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What is the graduation rate at I Preparatory Academy?
    90% or more of the 40 students in I Preparatory Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Florida. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  6. What district is I Preparatory Academy in?
    Miami-Dade County Public Schools, NCES district ID 1200390. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 120039007855 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22