Public schools in Burnsville, MN
Burnsville has 16 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 4 high, 1 middle, 9 elementary, 2 other, enrolling 7,075 students. They are run by 4 districts and agencies; Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 runs 13 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 4 districts and agencies that run Burnsville's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Burnsville | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 | 13 | 7,822 | $17,393 |
| Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan ISD 196 | 1 | 29,221 | $15,334 |
| STEP Academy | 1 | 703 | $14,145 |
| Gateway STEM Academy | 1 | 178 | $20,747 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
4 high schools in Burnsville, 3,572 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Burnsville High School | 2,029 | 17.6 | 43.3% | Burnsville-Eagan-Savage |
| Burnsville Area Learning Center | 1,350 | not reported | 48.6% | Burnsville-Eagan-Savage |
| ONE91 Virtual Academy Secondary | 151 | 12.8 | 60.3% | Burnsville-Eagan-Savage |
| Bes Transition Program | 42 | 8.4 | 64.3% | Burnsville-Eagan-Savage |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One middle school in Burnsville, 50 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Joseph Nicollet Middle School | 50 | 1.0 | 48.0% | Burnsville-Eagan-Savage |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
9 elementary schools in Burnsville, 3,200 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Echo Park Leadership Engineer/Tech | 732 | 12.9 | 42.9% | Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan ISD 196 |
| William Byrne Elementary | 569 | 15.6 | 43.1% | Burnsville-Eagan-Savage |
| Sky Oaks Elementary | 524 | 13.6 | 65.5% | Burnsville-Eagan-Savage |
| Edward Neill Elementary | 377 | 14.4 | 51.2% | Burnsville-Eagan-Savage |
| Gideon Pond Elementary | 361 | 14.0 | 49.0% | Burnsville-Eagan-Savage |
| Vista View Elementary | 311 | 11.4 | 55.3% | Burnsville-Eagan-Savage |
| STEP Academy Kg-5th - Burnsville | 171 | 12.9 | 93.0% | STEP Academy |
| Gateway STEM Academy Charter School | 121 | not reported | 91.7% | Gateway STEM Academy |
| ONE91 Virtual Academy Elementary | 34 | 20.5 | 61.8% | Burnsville-Eagan-Savage |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
2 other schools in Burnsville, 253 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Early Education Program & Services | 203 | 12.7 | 53.7% | Burnsville-Eagan-Savage |
| Diamondhead Ready to Learn | 50 | not reported | 34.0% | Burnsville-Eagan-Savage |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Burnsville's public schools compare with Minnesota's
The median Burnsville school has 13.3 students per full-time teacher, about the same as the Minnesota median of 13.7. 47% of its schools ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, against 20% across the state. Its median school enrolls 257 students (state 275).
| Burnsville | Minnesota | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 13.3 | 13.7 |
| Median school size (students) | 257 | 275 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | 47% | 20% |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 75% | 22% |
| Charter schools | 13% | 12% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 16 Burnsville schools and the 2,321 Minnesota schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Burnsville
- Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191Runs 13 of Burnsville's 16 public schools and spent $17,393 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,393
- Burnsville High School, the largest high school in Burnsville2,029 students in 2024-25, 17.6 per teacher.2,029
- Compare Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 with Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan ISD 196Burnsville's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in MinnesotaMinnesota's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Burnsville addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in Minnesota
- Saint Paul135 schools
- Minneapolis132 schools
- Rochester44 schools
- Duluth30 schools
- Brooklyn Park29 schools
- Plymouth27 schools
- Bloomington26 schools
- Apple Valley20 schools
Questions about schools in Burnsville
How many public schools are in Burnsville, MN?
16 public schools with an address in Burnsville were open in 2024-25: 4 high, 1 middle, 9 elementary, 2 other, enrolling 7,075 students. 2 are charter schools.What is the largest high school in Burnsville?
Burnsville High School, with 2,029 students in 2024-25 (Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191).Which districts run Burnsville's schools?
Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191 (13 schools), Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan ISD 196 (1 school), STEP Academy (1 school), Gateway STEM Academy (1 school). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25