Ysleta ISD

Public school district · El Paso County · Texas · NCES district ID 4846680

Ysleta ISD spent $14,175 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 86% of the other Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,244). Its 47 schools enrolled 33,947 students in 2024-25; 50.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,992 per student, down 1.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 89% (Texas: 90.3%).

Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Ysleta ISD in enrollment (33,387 to 38,356 students) and Ysleta ISD itself.

Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Ysleta ISD, FY23Ysleta ISD $14,175; Brownsville ISD $14,041; Edinburg CISD $13,129; Spring ISD $12,710; Spring Branch ISD $12,599; Mesquite ISD $12,223; Richardson ISD $12,101; Corpus Christi ISD $11,836; Keller ISD $10,925; Mansfield ISD $10,678; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14k16kYsleta ISD$14,175Brownsville ISD$14,041Edinburg CISD$13,129Spring ISD$12,710Spring Branch ISD$12,599Mesquite ISD$12,223Richardson ISD$12,101Corpus Christi ISD$11,836Keller ISD$10,925Mansfield ISD$10,678State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Ysleta ISD, FY23Ysleta ISD $14,175; Brownsville ISD $14,041; Edinburg CISD $13,129; Spring ISD $12,710; Spring Branch ISD $12,599; Mesquite ISD $12,223; Richardson ISD $12,101; Corpus Christi ISD $11,836; Keller ISD $10,925; Mansfield ISD $10,678; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14k16kYsleta ISD$14,175Brownsville ISD$14,041Edinburg CISD$13,129Spring ISD$12,710Spring Branch ISD$12,599Mesquite ISD$12,223Richardson ISD$12,101Corpus Christi ISD$11,836Keller ISD$10,925Mansfield ISD$10,678State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Ysleta ISD, FY23Ysleta ISD $14,175; Brownsville ISD $14,041; Edinburg CISD $13,129; Spring ISD $12,710; Spring Branch ISD $12,599; Mesquite ISD $12,223; Richardson ISD $12,101; Corpus Christi ISD $11,836; Keller ISD $10,925; Mansfield ISD $10,678; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k12k16kYsleta ISD$14,175Brownsville ISD$14,041Edinburg CISD$13,129Spring ISD$12,710Spring Branch ISD$12,599Mesquite ISD$12,223Richardson ISD$12,101Corpus Christi ISD$11,836Keller ISD$10,925Mansfield ISD$10,678State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Ysleta ISD, FY23Ysleta ISD $14,175; Brownsville ISD $14,041; Edinburg CISD $13,129; Spring ISD $12,710; Spring Branch ISD $12,599; Mesquite ISD $12,223; Richardson ISD $12,101; Corpus Christi ISD $11,836; Keller ISD $10,925; Mansfield ISD $10,678; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k12k16kYsleta ISD$14,175Brownsville ISD$14,041Edinburg CISD$13,129Spring ISD$12,710Spring Branch ISD$12,599Mesquite ISD$12,223Richardson ISD$12,101Corpus Christi ISD$11,836Keller ISD$10,925Mansfield ISD$10,678State median, 1,000+ students $12,244

Where the money came from

$586,668,000 in revenue: 50.6% state, 22.2% local and 27.2% federal. Total spending including $166,799,000 of capital outlay was $719,362,000, or $19,881 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Ysleta ISD revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $296,972,000; Local $129,962,000; Federal $159,734,000; total $586,668,000.
  • State$296,972,000 51%
  • Local$129,962,000 22%
  • Federal$159,734,000 27%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 577 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

36,183 students in 2022-23, 34,787 students in 2023-24, 33,947 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Ysleta ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 36,183, 2023-24: 34,787, 2024-25: 33,947010k20k30k40k2022-2336,1832023-2434,7872024-2533,947
Ysleta ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 36,183, 2023-24: 34,787, 2024-25: 33,947010k20k30k40k2022-2336,1832023-2434,7872024-2533,947
Ysleta ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 36,183, 2023-24: 34,787, 2024-25: 33,947010k20k30k40k2022-2336,1832023-2434,7872024-2533,947
Ysleta ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 36,183, 2023-24: 34,787, 2024-25: 33,947010k20k30k40k2022-2336,1832023-2434,7872024-2533,947

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2336,1832483.914.6
2023-2434,7872375.514.6
2024-2533,9472310.614.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$154,082,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,258 per student

Ysleta ISD booked $154,082,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 2,486 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $61,983 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 94 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$119,285,00077.4%
Special education$11,856,0007.7%
Vocational$8,317,0005.4%
Other programs$14,624,0009.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,574 in 2018-19, $3,770 in 2019-20, $3,933 in 2020-21, $4,027 in 2021-22, $4,258 in 2022-23.

Ysleta ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,574, 2019-20: $3,770, 2020-21: $3,933, 2021-22: $4,027, 2022-23: $4,25802k4k6k2018-19$3,5742019-20$3,7702020-21$3,9332021-22$4,0272022-23$4,258
Ysleta ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,574, 2019-20: $3,770, 2020-21: $3,933, 2021-22: $4,027, 2022-23: $4,25802k4k6k2018-19$3,5742019-20$3,7702020-21$3,9332021-22$4,0272022-23$4,258
Ysleta ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,574, 2019-20: $3,770, 2020-21: $3,933, 2021-22: $4,027, 2022-23: $4,25802k4k6k2018-19$3,5742019-20$3,7702020-21$3,9332021-22$4,0272022-23$4,258
Ysleta ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,574, 2019-20: $3,770, 2020-21: $3,933, 2021-22: $4,027, 2022-23: $4,25802k4k6k2018-19$3,5742019-20$3,7702020-21$3,9332021-22$4,0272022-23$4,258

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Ysleta ISD scored proficient or above: 51% in reading and 41% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtTexasStudents tested
Reading and language arts51%52%16,029
Math41%42%13,561

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

89% of the 3,040 students in Ysleta ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtTexas
Four-year graduation rate89%90.3%
Students in the class3,040403,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

28 elementary schools, 14,719 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Alicia R Chacon International85915.457.2%Schoolwide program
Eastwood Knolls International78914.252.6%Schoolwide program
Scotsdale Elementary74915.564.0%Schoolwide program
Edgemere International School63914.269.6%Schoolwide program
Loma Terrace Elementary61415.287.5%Schoolwide program
Riverside Elementary60714.490.0%Not Title I
Mission Valley Elementary60415.883.6%Schoolwide program
Sageland Elementary60113.285.0%Schoolwide program
East Point Elementary55813.672.4%Schoolwide program
North Star Elementary55215.366.7%Schoolwide program
Glen Cove Elementary53712.476.2%Schoolwide program
North Loop Elementary53414.292.9%Schoolwide program
The other 16 elementary schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Pebble Hills Elementary53413.878.3%Schoolwide program
Lancaster Elementary51714.183.9%Schoolwide program
Dolphin Terrace Elementary51015.565.1%Schoolwide program
Eastwood Heights Elementary50814.556.9%Schoolwide program
Desertaire Elementary50513.678.0%Schoolwide program
Tierra Del Sol Elementary50213.571.1%Schoolwide program
Parkland Elementary47112.585.4%Schoolwide program
Thomas Manor46215.389.6%Schoolwide program
Vista Hills Elementary43913.871.8%Schoolwide program
Del Valle Elementary42213.487.0%Schoolwide program
Pasodale Elementary41612.985.1%Schoolwide program
Capistrano Elementary41514.396.6%Schoolwide program
Ramona Elementary38612.789.9%Schoolwide program
Robbin E L Washington International Elementary37113.086.3%Schoolwide program
Ysleta Elementary32914.389.7%Schoolwide program
Presa Elementary28912.082.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

7 middle schools, 6,784 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Eastwood Middle1,28015.861.5%Schoolwide program
Parkland Pre-Engineering Middle1,14616.876.9%Schoolwide program
Bel Air Middle1,00214.886.8%Schoolwide program
Hanks Middle1,00014.385.9%Schoolwide program
Del Valle Middle96914.382.2%Schoolwide program
Riverside Middle70514.290.5%Schoolwide program
Ysleta Middle68213.289.7%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

10 high schools, 11,683 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Eastwood High School2,29516.047.5%Schoolwide program
Bel Air High School1,86616.176.9%Schoolwide program
Del Valle High School1,79816.776.6%Schoolwide program
Parkland High School1,56515.569.6%Schoolwide program
J M Hanks High School1,36415.065.5%Schoolwide program
Ysleta High School1,16815.387.3%Schoolwide program
Riverside High School95215.085.3%Schoolwide program
Young Women's Leadership Academy32015.058.4%Schoolwide program
Valle Verde Early College High School27314.063.7%Schoolwide program
Cesar Chavez Academy823.296.3%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 other schools, 761 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ysleta Pk Center45317.284.8%Schoolwide program
Parkland Pre K Center30817.071.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

4 more schools on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Constance Hulbert Elementary

School in El Paso; 266 students; 13.7 students per teacher.

Del Norte Heights Elementary

Elementary school in El Paso; 240 students; 14.6 students per teacher.

Tejas School of Choice

High school in El Paso; 116 students; 9.0 students per teacher.

Plato Academy

High school in El Paso; 60 students; 5.5 students per teacher.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Ysleta ISD

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Ysleta ISD

  1. Texas districts by spending per studentYsleta ISD ranks 82 of 577 Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,175).#82 of 577
  2. Every school district in TexasYsleta ISD is the number 34 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 36,183 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#34 of 1,212
  3. Richardson ISDThe next larger Texas district: 37,260 students in fall 2022, $12,101 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,101
  4. Mansfield ISDThe next smaller Texas district: 35,722 students in fall 2022, $10,678 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,678
  5. Compare Ysleta ISD with Richardson ISDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Eastwood High School, its largest high school2,295 students in 2024-25, 16.0 per teacher.2,295
  7. Teacher salary spending across TexasYsleta ISD spent $61,983 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$61,983
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Ysleta ISD

  1. How many schools and students are in Ysleta ISD?
    47 schools were open in 2024-25 (28 elementary, 7 middle, 10 high, 2 other), enrolling 33,947 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Ysleta ISD spend per student?
    $14,175 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,244 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,992 per student, down 1.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Ysleta ISD's money come from?
    $586,668,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 50.6% state, 22.2% local and 27.2% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Ysleta ISD live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 9,311 of the 33,210 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 28.0%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Ysleta ISD spend on teacher salaries?
    $154,082,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,258 per student. Divided by the 2,486 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $61,983 per teacher, more than 94 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Ysleta ISD do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Ysleta ISD scored proficient or above: 51% in reading and 41% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Ysleta ISD?
    89% of the 3,040 students in Ysleta ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Ysleta ISD's NCES district ID?
    4846680. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25