Memphis-Shelby County Schools
Public school district · Shelby County · Tennessee · NCES district ID 4700148
Memphis-Shelby County Schools spent $13,695 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 96% of the other Tennessee districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $11,310). Its 203 schools enrolled 109,114 students in 2024-25; 34.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,576 per student, up 6.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 81% (Tennessee: 87.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Tennessee's largest districts
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. Among the 10 districts shown, Memphis-Shelby County Schools ranks 3.
Where the money came from
$1,742,342,000 in revenue: 34.7% state, 32.8% local and 32.5% federal. Total spending including $211,864,000 of capital outlay was $1,762,239,000, or $16,050 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$604,381,000 35%
- Local$572,056,000 33%
- Federal$565,905,000 32%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 124 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2023-24
109,797 students in 2022-23, 109,485 students in 2023-24, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 109,797 | 6824.8 | 16.1 |
| 2023-24 | 109,485 | 6717.4 | 16.3 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$403,980,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,679 per student
Memphis-Shelby County Schools booked $403,980,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 6,885 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $58,671 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 61 in 100 Tennessee districts with a figure (state median $57,379, 141 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Tennessee teacher salary at $53,619 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $333,611,000 | 82.6% |
| Special education | $54,034,000 | 13.4% |
| Vocational | $9,834,000 | 2.4% |
| Other programs | $6,501,000 | 1.6% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,638 in 2018-19, $3,633 in 2019-20, $3,541 in 2020-21, $3,743 in 2021-22, $3,679 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Memphis-Shelby County Schools scored proficient or above: 22% in reading and 16% in math, against 35% in reading and 35% in math across Tennessee. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Tennessee, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | Tennessee | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 22% | 35% | 43,281 |
| Math | 16% | 35% | 43,171 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
81% of the 7,461 students in Memphis-Shelby County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Tennessee. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Tennessee | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 81% | 87.3% |
| Students in the class | 7,461 | 71,510 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
119 elementary schools, 57,964 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dexter School | 1,509 | 18.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Snowden Elementary/Middle | 1,384 | 16.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Macon-Hall Elementary | 1,070 | 15.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Belle Forest Community School | 1,027 | 16.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Riverwood Elementary School | 985 | 15.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Treadwell Elementary | 921 | 13.5 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Richland Elementary | 907 | 15.3 | All free (CEP) | Not Title I |
| Chimneyrock Elementary School | 874 | 15.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Parkway Village Elementary | 856 | 13.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Grahamwood Elementary | 850 | 13.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Highland Oaks Elementary | 821 | 13.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Cordova Elementary | 814 | 17.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
The other 107 elementary schools
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lowrance Elementary/Middle | 787 | 16.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| White Station Elementary | 786 | 17.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Downtown Elementary | 784 | 18.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Alcy Elementary | 775 | 14.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Shelby Oaks Elementary | 751 | 15.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Westhaven Elementary | 740 | 19.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Kate Bond Elementary School | 726 | 12.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Germanshire Elementary | 725 | 18.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Geeter School | 709 | 13.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Holmes Road Elementary | 708 | 18.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Power Center Academy Elementary School | 703 | 16.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Hamilton School | 677 | 26.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Ross Elementary | 665 | 21.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Southwind Elementary | 641 | 15.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Berclair Elementary | 638 | 12.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Willow Oaks Elementary | 620 | not reported | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Lucie E. Campbell Elementary | 600 | 20.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Robert R. Church Elementary | 596 | 19.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Idlewild Elementary | 593 | 15.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Wells Station Elementary | 593 | 12.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Hickory Ridge Elementary | 581 | 15.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Crump Elementary | 569 | 16.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Getwell Elementary | 559 | 16.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Brownsville Road Elementary | 550 | 16.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| William Herbert Brewster Elementary School | 548 | 12.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Ford Road Elementary | 536 | 20.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Sherwood Elementary | 531 | 18.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Germantown Elementary | 523 | 13.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Riverview Elementary/Middle | 522 | 15.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Cromwell Elementary | 517 | 15.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Sea Isle Elementary | 514 | 17.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Kingsbury Elementary | 506 | 12.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Oakhaven Elementary | 496 | 16.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Freedom Prep Elementary - Millbranch | 495 | 15.5 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| A. B. Hill Elementary | 485 | 18.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Evans Elementary | 485 | 15.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Fox Meadows Elementary | 476 | 15.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Winridge Elementary | 469 | 17.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Believe Memphis Academy Charter School | 467 | 18.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| South Park Elementary | 462 | 16.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Leadership Preparatory Charter School | 462 | 15.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Egypt Elementary | 454 | 16.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Levi Elementary | 454 | 13.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Whitehaven Elementary | 449 | 18.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Bruce Elementary | 448 | 13.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Keystone Elementary | 446 | 15.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Oakshire Elementary | 442 | 16.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Oak Forest Elementary | 432 | 12.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| J. P. Freeman Elementary/Middle | 432 | 16.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis Merit Academy | 424 | 41.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Power Center Academy Elementary - Southeast | 423 | 18.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Vision Preparatory Charter School | 421 | 14.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis School of Excellence Elementary | 420 | 19.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Newberry Elementary | 410 | 14.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Granville T. Woods Academy of Innovation Charter School | 406 | 19.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Star Academy | 400 | 31.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Raleigh-Bartlett Meadows Elementary | 398 | 14.5 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Douglass Elementary/Middle | 393 | 12.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Perea Elementary School | 393 | 16.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Scenic Hills Elementary | 392 | 12.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Sheffield Elementary | 386 | 16.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Freedom Prep Elementary - Parkrose | 386 | 19.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| KIPP Memphis Collegiate Elementary | 381 | 30.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Cummings Elementary/Middle | 379 | 11.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Journey East Academy | 376 | 17.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| E.E. Jeter Elementary/Middle | 356 | 13.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis Delta Preparatory | 351 | 15.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Frayser-Corning Elementary | 347 | 21.9 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
| Winchester Elementary | 344 | 14.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Aurora Collegiate Academy | 340 | not reported | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis School of Excellence Elementary Cordova | 324 | 19.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Jackson Elementary | 322 | 14.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis Business Academy Elementary School | 322 | 11.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Cherokee Elementary | 321 | 12.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Beacon College Preparatory | 321 | 11.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Northaven Elementary | 320 | 14.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Vollentine Elementary | 319 | 14.5 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Delano Elementary | 315 | 15.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Larose Elementary | 313 | 13.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Peabody Elementary | 310 | 14.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Hawkins Mill Elementary | 308 | 17.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Southern Avenue Charter School Of Academic Excellence Creati | 302 | 10.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Sharpe Elementary | 301 | 13.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Lucy Elementary | 301 | 13.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Barret's Chapel Elementary/Middle | 300 | 11.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Bethel Grove Elementary | 290 | 17.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Georgian Hills Elementary | 287 | 15.0 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
| Whitney Elementary | 285 | 20.2 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
| Promise Academy | 282 | 21.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis STEM Academy | 276 | 13.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Balmoral/Ridgeway Elementary | 275 | 11.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Westside Elementary | 269 | 17.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Double Tree Elementary | 259 | 25.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Gardenview Elementary | 256 | 13.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Compass Community School Hickory Hill Campus | 241 | 12.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Springdale Elementary | 231 | 11.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Compass Community School Berclair Campus | 231 | 11.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis College Preparatory | 227 | 15.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Rozelle Elementary | 222 | 8.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Dunbar Elementary | 206 | 19.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Compass Community School Orange Mound Campus | 203 | 10.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Compass Community School Binghampton Campus | 201 | 12.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Compass Community School Frayser Campus | 200 | 12.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Circles Of Success Learning Academy | 195 | 12.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis Business Academy Hickory Hill Elementary School | 183 | 7.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Ida B. Wells Academy ES/MS | 99 | 7.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Arrow Academy of Excellence | 76 | 19.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
32 middle schools, 16,651 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| White Station Middle | 1,127 | 15.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Colonial Middle | 1,034 | 16.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Kate Bond Middle School | 1,002 | 16.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Hickory Ridge Middle | 805 | 17.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Treadwell Middle School | 764 | 17.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Sherwood Middle | 743 | 15.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Havenview Middle | 696 | 20.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| American Way Middle | 693 | 16.5 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Cordova Middle | 680 | 23.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| A. Maceo Walker Middle | 641 | 16.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Bellevue Middle | 625 | 17.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Germantown Middle | 606 | 15.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
The other 20 middle schools
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ridgeway Middle | 599 | 18.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Kingsbury Middle | 538 | 13.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Highland Oaks Middle | 537 | 17.5 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Mt. Pisgah Middle/High | 498 | 23.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Craigmont Middle | 475 | 13.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Grandview Heights Middle School | 472 | 19.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Raleigh Egypt Middle School | 461 | 17.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Power Center Academy Middle | 451 | 28.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Maxine Smith STEAM Academy | 439 | 14.0 | All free (CEP) | Not Title I |
| Memphis Business Academy Middle | 399 | 11.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Chickasaw Middle | 330 | 14.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Power Center Academy Middle - Southeast | 323 | 13.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis Grizzlies Preparatory Charter School | 306 | 14.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Oakhaven Middle | 303 | 21.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| KIPP Memphis Collegiate Middle | 301 | 10.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Georgian Hills Middle | 249 | 17.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Woodstock Middle School | 248 | 10.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Veritas College Preparatory | 137 | 13.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| City University School Girls Preparatory | 94 | 8.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis Business Academy Hickory Hill Middle School | 75 | 6.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
45 high schools, 31,821 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cordova High School | 2,251 | 20.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| White Station High | 2,046 | 16.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Germantown High | 1,719 | 16.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Southwind High | 1,675 | 23.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Whitehaven High | 1,509 | 16.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Overton High | 1,417 | 14.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Kingsbury High | 1,383 | 21.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Central High | 1,331 | 21.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Craigmont High | 968 | 15.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Trezevant High | 883 | 17.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis Rise Academy | 753 | 15.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Raleigh-Egypt High | 725 | 18.5 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
The other 33 high schools
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kirby High | 699 | 16.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Ridgeway High | 695 | 15.2 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Freedom Preparatory Academy Flagship | 692 | 18.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Power Center Academy High School | 671 | 18.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis Academy Of Science Engineering Middle/High | 667 | 11.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Wooddale High | 662 | 21.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Bolton High | 661 | 17.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Soulsville Charter School | 651 | 11.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Melrose High | 645 | 14.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Hamilton High | 628 | 15.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Douglass High | 604 | 17.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| East High | 583 | 16.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis School of Excellence | 575 | 12.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis Business Academy High School | 521 | 14.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Crosstown High School | 520 | 11.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Sheffield High | 516 | 20.5 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| The Excel Center | 457 | 40.8 | All free (CEP) | Not Title I |
| Memphis School of Excellence Cordova | 448 | 15.9 | All free (CEP) | Not Title I |
| B. T. Washington High | 436 | 14.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Memphis Virtual Adult High School | 418 | 13.9 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
| Mitchell High | 376 | 17.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Compass Community School Midtown Campus | 373 | 12.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Manassas High | 369 | 13.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Westwood High | 361 | 13.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| KIPP Memphis Collegiate High School | 346 | 14.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Oakhaven High | 341 | 15.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Freedom Prep Middle - Brownlee | 335 | 19.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Middle College High | 304 | 16.3 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| City University School Of Liberal Arts | 179 | 21.7 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Northwest Prep Academy | 173 | 9.0 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Medical District High School | 146 | 10.2 | All free (CEP) | Not Title I |
| Hollis F. Price Middle College | 96 | 6.5 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| City University School of Independence | 13 | 2.6 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
7 other schools, 2,678 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Early Childhood Programs | 938 | 76.8 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
| Exceptional Children Special Placements | 551 | not reported | All free (CEP) | Not Title I |
| Carver College and Career Academy | 402 | 6.3 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
| Memphis Virtual School | 309 | 8.4 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Ridgeway Early Learning Center | 178 | 13.6 | All free (CEP) | Not reported |
| Avon School | 174 | 8.9 | All free (CEP) | Eligible, no program |
| Shrine School | 126 | 10.6 | All free (CEP) | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
5 more schools on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory
These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.
Memphis Virtual Adult High School
High school in Memphis; open in 2024-25; 418 students; 13.9 students per teacher.
Campus School
Elementary school in Memphis; 398 students; 19.4 students per teacher.
University Middle
Middle school in Memphis; 271 students; 14.5 students per teacher.
KIPP Memphis Academy Middle
Middle school in Memphis; 228 students; 10.4 students per teacher.
University High School
High school in Memphis; 96 students; 15.7 students per teacher.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.
Contact Memphis-Shelby County Schools
- Website: scsk12.org
- Phone: (901) 321-2500
- Office: 160 S Hollywood, Memphis, TN 38112
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Memphis-Shelby County Schools
- Tennessee districts by spending per studentMemphis-Shelby County Schools ranks 6 of 124 Tennessee districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,695).#6 of 124
- Every school district in TennesseeMemphis-Shelby County Schools is the largest of 148 Tennessee districts, with 109,797 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1 of 148
- Metropolitan Nashville Public SchoolsThe next smaller Tennessee district: 80,651 students in fall 2022, $17,808 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,808
- Compare Memphis-Shelby County Schools with Metropolitan Nashville Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Cordova High School, its largest high school2,251 students in 2024-25, 20.6 per teacher.2,251
- Teacher salary spending across TennesseeMemphis-Shelby County Schools spent $58,671 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $57,379); spending, not a salary.$58,671
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Memphis-Shelby County Schools
How many schools and students are in Memphis-Shelby County Schools?
203 schools were open in 2024-25 (119 elementary, 32 middle, 45 high, 7 other), enrolling 109,114 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Memphis-Shelby County Schools spend per student?
$13,695 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Tennessee median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,310 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,576 per student, up 6.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Memphis-Shelby County Schools' money come from?
$1,742,342,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 34.7% state, 32.8% local and 32.5% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Memphis-Shelby County Schools live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 45,255 of the 129,725 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 34.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Memphis-Shelby County Schools spend on teacher salaries?
$403,980,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,679 per student. Divided by the 6,885 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $58,671 per teacher, more than 61 in 100 Tennessee districts (state median $57,379). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Tennessee teacher salary at $53,619 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Memphis-Shelby County Schools do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Memphis-Shelby County Schools scored proficient or above: 22% in reading and 16% in math, against 35% in reading and 35% in math across Tennessee. Tennessee's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Memphis-Shelby County Schools?
81% of the 7,461 students in Memphis-Shelby County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Tennessee. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Memphis-Shelby County Schools' NCES district ID?
4700148. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25