Public schools in Cleveland, TN
Cleveland has 25 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 4 high, 3 middle, 17 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 15,748 students. They are run by 2 districts and agencies; Bradley County Virtual School runs 16 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 2 districts and agencies that run Cleveland's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Cleveland | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bradley County Virtual School | 16 | 10,269 | $10,165 |
| Cleveland City Schools | 9 | 5,768 | $11,690 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
4 high schools in Cleveland, 4,986 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cleveland High | 1,755 | 18.1 | All free (CEP) | Cleveland City Schools |
| Bradley Central High School | 1,649 | 15.7 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
| Walker Valley High School | 1,450 | 15.4 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
| Bradley County Virtual School | 132 | 15.8 | not reported | Bradley County Virtual School |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
3 middle schools in Cleveland, 3,560 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cleveland Middle | 1,291 | 14.6 | All free (CEP) | Cleveland City Schools |
| Lake Forest Middle School | 1,173 | 15.5 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
| Ocoee Middle School | 1,096 | 14.0 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
17 elementary schools in Cleveland, 7,188 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blythe-Bower Elementary | 710 | 13.4 | All free (CEP) | Cleveland City Schools |
| Waterville Community Elementary School | 677 | 17.4 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
| Black Fox Elementary School | 493 | 16.5 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
| North Lee Elementary School | 485 | 18.0 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
| Candy's Creek Cherokee Elementary School | 481 | 14.3 | All free (CEP) | Cleveland City Schools |
| Hopewell Elementary School | 457 | 16.3 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
| Michigan Avenue Elementary School | 452 | 16.4 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
| Mayfield Elementary | 446 | 13.3 | All free (CEP) | Cleveland City Schools |
| Park View Elementary School | 425 | 17.5 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
| Prospect Elementary School | 400 | 17.2 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
The other 7 elementary schools
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oak Grove Elementary School | 383 | 16.6 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
| Arnold Memorial Elementary | 330 | 13.8 | All free (CEP) | Cleveland City Schools |
| Valley View Elementary School | 323 | 16.6 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
| G.R. Stuart Elementary | 317 | 11.5 | All free (CEP) | Cleveland City Schools |
| D.P. Yates Primary | 288 | 12.7 | All free (CEP) | Cleveland City Schools |
| E.L. Ross Elementary | 272 | 14.0 | All free (CEP) | Cleveland City Schools |
| Taylor Elementary School | 249 | 12.0 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One other school in Cleveland, 14 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Cleveland GOAL Academy | 14 | 1.9 | All free (CEP) | Bradley County Virtual School |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Cleveland's public schools compare with Tennessee's
64% of its schools ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, against 67% across the state. Its median school enrolls 452 students (state 469).
| Cleveland | Tennessee | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | not reported | not reported |
| Median school size (students) | 452 | 469 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | 64% | 67% |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 96% | 66% |
| Charter schools | 0% | 5.5% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 25 Cleveland schools and the 1,804 Tennessee schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Cleveland
- Bradley County Virtual SchoolRuns 16 of Cleveland's 25 public schools and spent $10,165 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,165
- Cleveland High, the largest high school in Cleveland1,755 students in 2024-25, 18.1 per teacher.1,755
- Compare Bradley County Virtual School with Cleveland City SchoolsCleveland's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in TennesseeTennessee's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Cleveland addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in Tennessee
- Memphis191 schools
- Nashville118 schools
- Knoxville80 schools
- Chattanooga48 schools
- Clarksville37 schools
- Murfreesboro32 schools
- Franklin25 schools
- Jackson24 schools
Questions about schools in Cleveland
How many public schools are in Cleveland, TN?
25 public schools with an address in Cleveland were open in 2024-25: 4 high, 3 middle, 17 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 15,748 students.What is the largest high school in Cleveland?
Cleveland High, with 1,755 students in 2024-25 (Cleveland City Schools).Which districts run Cleveland's schools?
Bradley County Virtual School (16 schools), Cleveland City Schools (9 schools). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25