Kirby High
Public high school, grades 9 to 12 · Memphis, Tennessee
Kirby High in Memphis, Tennessee enrolled 699 students in 2024-25. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 2% of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (Tennessee: 34.3%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 77% (Tennessee: 87.3%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 17% from 2022-23 to 2023-24; full-time teachers fell 12%
835 students in 2022-23, 697 students in 2023-24. Full-time teachers went from 49.4 to 43.4.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 835 | 49.4 | 16.9 |
| 2023-24 | 697 | 43.4 | 16.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24.
4 AP courses and one counselor per 200 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Kirby High enrolled 800 students and had 4.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement courses4
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)4.0, one per 200 of the 800 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions0
- Chronically absent49.6% (2022-23)
Who attends
76.8% of students were Black, 20.2% Hispanic, 2.0% of two or more races in 2024-25.
- Black76.8%
- Hispanic20.2%
- Two or more races2.0%
- White0.9%
- Asian0.1%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2022-23
In 2022-23, the students tested at Kirby High scored proficient or above: 2% in math, against 34.3% in math across Tennessee. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Tennessee, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This school | Its district | Tennessee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Math | 2% | 16% (2021-22) | 34.3% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
77% of the 270 students in Kirby High's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Tennessee. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This school | Its district | Tennessee | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 77% | 81% | 87.3% |
| Students in the class | 270 | 7,461 | 71,510 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
High schools in Memphis
46 public high schools in Memphis report 2024-25 enrollment.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| White Station High | 2,046 | 16.9 | not reported |
| Southwind High | 1,675 | 23.8 | not reported |
| Whitehaven High | 1,509 | 16.8 | not reported |
| Overton High | 1,417 | 14.3 | not reported |
| Kingsbury High | 1,383 | 21.8 | not reported |
| Central High | 1,331 | 21.2 | not reported |
| Craigmont High | 968 | 15.3 | not reported |
| Trezevant High | 883 | 17.2 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Kirby High
- Bluff City High SchoolThe nearest public high school, 0.4 miles away: 514 students, 21.0 per teacher (2024-25).0.4 mi
- Power Center Academy High SchoolThe next nearest public high school, 2.4 miles away: 671 students, 18.8 per teacher (2024-25).2.4 mi
- Compare Kirby High with Bluff City High SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Memphis-Shelby County Schools spends per student$13,695 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$13,695
- The largest public schools in TennesseeKirby High is the number 165 by size of 384 Tennessee high schools open in 2024-25.#165 of 384
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Kirby High
How many students attend Kirby High?
699 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 835 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Memphis, TN.What is the student-teacher ratio at Kirby High?
16.9 students per full-time teacher (2022-23). A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Kirby High a Title I school?
Kirby High ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Kirby High do on state tests?
In 2022-23, the students tested at Kirby High scored proficient or above: 2% in math, against 34.3% in math across Tennessee. Tennessee's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What is the graduation rate at Kirby High?
77% of the 270 students in Kirby High's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Tennessee. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Kirby High in?
Memphis-Shelby County Schools, NCES district ID 4700148. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 470014801859 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.