Public schools in Tulare, CA
Tulare has 31 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 7 high, 6 middle, 18 elementary, enrolling 18,061 students. They are run by 8 districts and agencies; Tulare City runs 18 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 8 districts and agencies that run Tulare's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Tulare | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tulare City | 18 | 9,172 | $15,574 |
| Tulare Joint Union High | 7 | 5,745 | $18,096 |
| Liberty Elementary School District | 1 | 781 | $9,526 |
| Sundale Union Elementary | 1 | 824 | $13,853 |
| Oak Valley Union School District | 1 | 571 | $17,103 |
| Palo Verde Union Elementary | 1 | 499 | $16,449 |
| Waukena School | 1 | 214 | $15,958 |
| Buena Vista Elementary | 1 | 197 | $15,330 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
7 high schools in Tulare, 5,598 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tulare Western High | 1,927 | 21.8 | 63.5% | Tulare Joint Union High |
| Mission Oak High | 1,678 | 20.9 | 56.3% | Tulare Joint Union High |
| Tulare Union High | 1,616 | 21.2 | 66.3% | Tulare Joint Union High |
| Sierra Vista Charter High | 166 | 14.9 | 73.5% | Tulare Joint Union High |
| Accelerated Charter High | 152 | 16.6 | 80.9% | Tulare Joint Union High |
| Tulare Technical Preparatory High | 35 | 9.3 | 97.1% | Tulare Joint Union High |
| Countryside Community Day | 24 | 8.8 | 75.0% | Tulare Joint Union High |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
6 middle schools in Tulare, 2,876 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mulcahy Middle | 745 | 21.9 | 87.7% | Tulare City |
| Alpine Vista Middle | 617 | 21.9 | 39.4% | Tulare City |
| Los Tules Middle | 569 | 22.5 | 77.2% | Tulare City |
| Cherry Avenue Middle | 483 | 21.1 | 82.6% | Tulare City |
| Live Oak Middle | 458 | 22.2 | 58.7% | Tulare City |
| Tulare City Community Day | 4 | 3.8 | All free (CEP) | Tulare City |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
18 elementary schools in Tulare, 9,587 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liberty Elementary | 861 | 22.6 | 39.8% | Liberty Elementary |
| Sundale Elementary | 840 | 25.5 | 35.0% | Sundale Union Elementary |
| Garden Elementary | 689 | 24.1 | 71.1% | Tulare City |
| Mission Valley Elementary | 671 | 23.8 | 52.8% | Tulare City |
| Pleasant Elementary | 668 | 23.9 | 76.8% | Tulare City |
| Alpine Vista | 659 | 22.0 | 42.9% | Tulare City |
| Frank Kohn Elementary | 617 | 22.8 | 81.2% | Tulare City |
| Heritage Elementary | 597 | 24.9 | 78.6% | Tulare City |
| Maple Elementary | 574 | 22.1 | 87.3% | Tulare City |
| Oak Valley Elementary | 562 | 17.9 | 59.6% | Oak Valley Union |
The other 8 elementary schools
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cypress Elementary | 562 | 24.3 | 78.5% | Tulare City |
| Roosevelt Elementary | 561 | 20.8 | 92.2% | Tulare City |
| Palo Verde Elementary | 511 | 22.2 | 79.5% | Palo Verde Union Elementary |
| Wilson Elementary | 487 | 22.7 | 87.3% | Tulare City |
| Lincoln Elementary | 309 | 20.6 | 88.3% | Tulare City |
| Waukena Joint Union Elementary | 220 | 22.0 | 77.7% | Waukena School |
| Buena Vista Elementary | 180 | 18.0 | 52.2% | Buena Vista Elementary |
| Tulare Support | 19 | 6.2 | 84.2% | Tulare City |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Tulare's public schools compare with California's
The median Tulare school has 21.9 students per full-time teacher, about the same as the California median of 21.6. Its median school enrolls 562 students (state 471).
| Tulare | California | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 21.9 | 21.6 |
| Median school size (students) | 562 | 471 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | not reported | not reported |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 97% | 74% |
| Charter schools | 6.5% | 13% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 31 Tulare schools and the 9,918 California schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Tulare
- Tulare CityRuns 18 of Tulare's 31 public schools and spent $15,574 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,574
- Tulare Western High, the largest high school in Tulare1,927 students in 2024-25, 21.8 per teacher.1,927
- Compare Tulare City with Tulare Joint Union HighTulare's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in CaliforniaCalifornia's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Tulare addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in California
- Los Angeles564 schools
- San Diego283 schools
- San Jose232 schools
- Sacramento197 schools
- Fresno179 schools
- Bakersfield146 schools
- San Francisco123 schools
- Stockton122 schools
Questions about schools in Tulare
How many public schools are in Tulare, CA?
31 public schools with an address in Tulare were open in 2024-25: 7 high, 6 middle, 18 elementary, enrolling 18,061 students. 2 are charter schools.What is the largest high school in Tulare?
Tulare Western High, with 1,927 students in 2024-25 (Tulare Joint Union High).Which districts run Tulare's schools?
Tulare City (18 schools), Tulare Joint Union High (7 schools), Liberty Elementary School District (1 school), Sundale Union Elementary (1 school), and 4 more. A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25