Alpine Vista Middle

Public middle school, grades 5 to 8 · Tulare, California

Alpine Vista Middle in Tulare, California enrolled 617 students in 2024-25 with 28.2 full-time teachers, 21.9 students per teacher against the California middle-school median of 21.0. It has no Title I status on file for 2021-22. On the state tests, 19% of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (California: 34.3%).

Enrollment fell 20% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 11%

770 students in 2022-23, 694 students in 2023-24, 617 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 31.8 to 28.2.

Students enrolled at Alpine Vista Middle by school year2022-23: 770, 2023-24: 694, 2024-25: 61702004006008002022-237702023-246942024-25617
Students enrolled at Alpine Vista Middle by school year2022-23: 770, 2023-24: 694, 2024-25: 61702004006008002022-237702023-246942024-25617
Students enrolled at Alpine Vista Middle by school year2022-23: 770, 2023-24: 694, 2024-25: 61702004006008002022-237702023-246942024-25617
Students enrolled at Alpine Vista Middle by school year2022-23: 770, 2023-24: 694, 2024-25: 61702004006008002022-237702023-246942024-25617
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2377031.824.2
2023-2469430.123.0
2024-2561728.221.9

21.9 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 62 of every 100 California middle schools

Among the 1,353 California middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 21.0; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, California middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 52.3; Alpine Vista Middle 21.9; state median 21.0.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherAlpine Vista Middle 21.9state median 21.0U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, California middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 52.3; Alpine Vista Middle 21.9; state median 21.0.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherAlpine Vista Middle 21.9state median 21.0U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, California middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 52.3; Alpine Vista Middle 21.9; state median 21.0.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherAlpine Vista Middle 21.9state median 21.0U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, California middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.1 to 52.3; Alpine Vista Middle 21.9; state median 21.0.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherAlpine Vista Middle 21.9state median 21.0U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Alpine Vista Middle reported.

  • Advanced Placement coursesnot reported
  • Gifted and talented programnot reported
  • Counselors (FTE)not reported
  • Out-of-school suspensionsnot reported
  • Chronically absent14.5% (2022-23)

Who attends

67.6% of students were Hispanic, 23.5% White, 4.5% Black in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic67.6%
  2. White23.5%
  3. Black4.5%
  4. Asian2.3%
  5. Two or more races1.5%
  6. American Indian0.5%
  7. Pacific Islander0.2%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2022-23

In 2022-23, the students tested at Alpine Vista Middle scored proficient or above: 19% in math, against 34.3% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2022-23
SubjectThis schoolIts districtCalifornia
Math19%18% (2021-22)34.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Middle schools in Tulare

6 public middle schools in Tulare report 2024-25 enrollment; Alpine Vista Middle is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Mulcahy Middle74521.987.7%
Alpine Vista Middle61721.939.4%
Los Tules Middle56922.577.2%
Cherry Avenue Middle48321.182.6%
Live Oak Middle45822.258.7%
Tulare City Community Day43.8not reported

All public schools in Tulare →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Alpine Vista Middle

  1. Live Oak MiddleThe nearest public middle school, 1.6 miles away: 458 students, 22.2 per teacher (2024-25).1.6 mi
  2. Tulare City Community DayThe next nearest public middle school, 1.7 miles away: 4 students, 3.8 per teacher (2024-25).1.7 mi
  3. Compare Alpine Vista Middle with Live Oak MiddleStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Tulare City spends per student$15,574 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$15,574
  5. The largest public schools in CaliforniaAlpine Vista Middle is the number 723 by size of 1,363 California middle schools open in 2024-25.#723 of 1,363
  6. California schools by students per teacher21.9 students per teacher here against the California median of 21.0 for middle schools.21.9:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Alpine Vista Middle

  1. How many students attend Alpine Vista Middle?
    617 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 770 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Tulare, CA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Alpine Vista Middle?
    21.9 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the California median for middle schools is 21.0. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Alpine Vista Middle a Title I school?
    Alpine Vista Middle has no Title I status in the NCES school files, because California did not report school Title I status for 2021-22; the California Department of Education lists each school's current Title I status.
  4. How do students at Alpine Vista Middle do on state tests?
    In 2022-23, the students tested at Alpine Vista Middle scored proficient or above: 19% in math, against 34.3% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Alpine Vista Middle in?
    Tulare City, NCES district ID 0639870. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 063987014661 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22