Fontana Unified
Public school district · San Bernardino County · California · NCES district ID 0613920
Fontana Unified spent $18,984 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 75% of the other California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $16,855). Its 44 schools enrolled 32,735 students in 2024-25; 76.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,036 per student, up 5.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 91% (California: 86.2%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among California districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Fontana Unified in enrollment (29,680 to 38,119 students) and Fontana Unified itself.
Where the money came from
$823,726,000 in revenue: 76.3% state, 15.7% local and 8.0% federal. Total spending including $30,638,000 of capital outlay was $684,919,000, or $20,198 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$628,518,000 76%
- Local$129,489,000 16%
- Federal$65,719,000 8%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 646 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
33,844 students in 2022-23, 33,148 students in 2023-24, 32,735 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 33,844 | 1664.7 | 20.3 |
| 2023-24 | 33,148 | 1637.7 | 20.2 |
| 2024-25 | 32,735 | 1506.5 | 21.7 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$189,362,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,584 per student
Fontana Unified booked $189,362,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 1,693 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $111,833 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 71 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $155,420,000 | 82.1% |
| Special education | $26,710,000 | 14.1% |
| Vocational | $4,115,000 | 2.2% |
| Other programs | $3,117,000 | 1.6% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,564 in 2018-19, $4,390 in 2019-20, $4,822 in 2020-21, $5,500 in 2021-22, $5,584 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Fontana Unified scored proficient or above: 32% in reading and 18% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | California | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 32% | 45% | 15,476 |
| Math | 18% | 34% | 15,509 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
91% of the 2,855 students in Fontana Unified's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | California | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 91% | 86.2% |
| Students in the class | 2,855 | 495,492 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
30 elementary schools, 14,777 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sierra Lakes Elementary | 902 | 23.0 | 53.8% | Not reported |
| Dorothy Grant Innovations Academy | 682 | 22.8 | 60.6% | Not reported |
| Redwood Elementary | 654 | 23.7 | 71.4% | Not reported |
| Dolores Huerta International Academy | 639 | 23.6 | 74.8% | Not reported |
| Ted Porter Elementary | 629 | 23.0 | 82.2% | Not reported |
| Beech Avenue Elementary | 615 | 23.2 | 78.2% | Not reported |
| Citrus Elementary | 596 | 22.5 | 79.7% | Not reported |
| Palmetto Elementary | 577 | 21.7 | 86.5% | Not reported |
| Cypress Elementary | 572 | 21.0 | 79.7% | Not reported |
| Kathy Binks Elementary | 567 | 20.6 | 70.2% | Not reported |
| South Tamarind Elementary | 565 | 20.4 | 80.0% | Not reported |
| Date Elementary | 533 | 21.8 | 81.8% | Not reported |
The other 18 elementary schools
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mango Elementary | 523 | 20.8 | 67.7% | Not reported |
| Oleander Elementary | 517 | 21.9 | 81.0% | Not reported |
| Maple Elementary | 511 | 20.7 | 74.6% | Not reported |
| Randall Pepper Elementary | 455 | 19.4 | 84.6% | Not reported |
| Poplar Elementary | 450 | 20.0 | 82.2% | Not reported |
| Juniper Elementary | 446 | 22.8 | 79.4% | Not reported |
| Live Oak Elementary | 434 | 20.8 | 80.4% | Not reported |
| Hemlock Elementary | 426 | 23.0 | 70.0% | Not reported |
| Canyon Crest Elementary | 420 | 21.8 | 65.2% | Not reported |
| Almond Elementary | 418 | 20.8 | 77.5% | Not reported |
| Tokay Elementary | 378 | 20.5 | 75.9% | Not reported |
| North Tamarind Elementary | 373 | 19.4 | 82.0% | Not reported |
| Shadow Hills Elementary | 364 | 20.5 | 80.8% | Not reported |
| Locust Elementary | 346 | 21.3 | 76.3% | Not reported |
| Oak Park Elementary | 340 | 19.3 | 67.6% | Not reported |
| Virginia Primrose Elementary | 336 | 20.4 | 74.7% | Not reported |
| West Randall Elementary | 304 | 15.0 | 83.2% | Not reported |
| Chaparral Academy of Technology | 205 | 16.8 | 79.0% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
7 middle schools, 6,776 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wayne Ruble Middle | 1,394 | 26.0 | 65.9% | Not reported |
| Fontana Middle | 1,049 | 27.6 | 85.2% | Not reported |
| Alder Middle | 964 | 22.5 | 80.8% | Not reported |
| Southridge Tech Middle | 923 | 25.3 | 67.7% | Not reported |
| Harry S. Truman Middle | 883 | 23.8 | 80.9% | Not reported |
| Sequoia Middle | 791 | 21.2 | 82.8% | Not reported |
| Almeria Middle | 772 | 20.9 | 73.1% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
7 high schools, 11,182 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Summit High | 2,725 | 24.6 | 63.7% | Not reported |
| Fontana High | 2,534 | 22.7 | 88.3% | Not reported |
| Fontana A. B. Miller High | 1,950 | 20.2 | 64.9% | Not reported |
| Jurupa Hills High | 1,739 | 20.9 | 75.7% | Not reported |
| Henry J. Kaiser High | 1,660 | 19.3 | 74.5% | Not reported |
| Citrus High (Continuation) | 335 | 14.1 | 86.6% | Not reported |
| Eric Birch High (Continuation) | 239 | 12.9 | 82.4% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Fontana Unified
- Website: fusd.net
- Phone: (909) 357-7600
- Office: 9680 Citrus Ave., Fontana, CA 92335
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Fontana Unified
- California districts by spending per studentFontana Unified ranks 165 of 646 California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($18,984).#165 of 646
- Every school district in CaliforniaFontana Unified is the number 22 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 33,910 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#22 of 1,991
- Oakland UnifiedThe next larger California district: 34,149 students in fall 2022, $22,112 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$22,112
- Fremont UnifiedThe next smaller California district: 33,107 students in fall 2022, $15,152 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,152
- Compare Fontana Unified with Oakland UnifiedEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Summit High, its largest high school2,725 students in 2024-25, 24.6 per teacher.2,725
- Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaFontana Unified spent $111,833 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$111,833
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Fontana Unified
How many schools and students are in Fontana Unified?
44 schools were open in 2024-25 (30 elementary, 7 middle, 7 high), enrolling 32,735 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Fontana Unified spend per student?
$18,984 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,855 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,036 per student, up 5.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Fontana Unified's money come from?
$823,726,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 76.3% state, 15.7% local and 8.0% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Fontana Unified live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 6,115 of the 37,753 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 16.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Fontana Unified spend on teacher salaries?
$189,362,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,584 per student. Divided by the 1,693 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $111,833 per teacher, more than 71 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Fontana Unified do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Fontana Unified scored proficient or above: 32% in reading and 18% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Fontana Unified?
91% of the 2,855 students in Fontana Unified's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Fontana Unified's NCES district ID?
0613920. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25