Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD
Public school district · Tarrant County · Texas · NCES district ID 4824060
Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD spent $10,260 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 91% of the other Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,244). Its 30 schools enrolled 23,257 students in 2024-25; 13.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,179 per student, up 9.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 96% (Texas: 90.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD in enrollment (21,426 to 24,431 students) and Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD itself.
Where the money came from
$307,218,000 in revenue: 13.6% state, 74.2% local and 12.2% federal. Total spending including $50,342,000 of capital outlay was $301,676,000, or $13,147 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$41,780,000 14%
- Local$227,863,000 74%
- Federal$37,575,000 12%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 577 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
22,947 students in 2022-23, 23,225 students in 2023-24, 23,255 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 22,947 | 1430.6 | 16.0 |
| 2023-24 | 23,225 | 1449.4 | 16.0 |
| 2024-25 | 23,255 | 1440.3 | 16.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$94,933,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,137 per student
Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD booked $94,933,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 1,450 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $65,467 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 99 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $61,517,000 | 64.8% |
| Special education | $9,450,000 | 10.0% |
| Vocational | $4,171,000 | 4.4% |
| Other programs | $19,795,000 | 20.9% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,660 in 2018-19, $3,767 in 2019-20, $4,042 in 2020-21, $4,062 in 2021-22, $4,137 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD scored proficient or above: 63% in reading and 59% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | Texas | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 63% | 52% | 10,094 |
| Math | 59% | 42% | 8,509 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
96% of the 1,614 students in Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Texas | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 96% | 90.3% |
| Students in the class | 1,614 | 403,301 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
21 elementary schools, 12,985 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Viridian Elementary | 845 | 17.7 | 15.5% | Not Title I |
| Oakwood Terrace Elementary | 777 | 16.9 | 70.8% | Schoolwide program |
| Arbor Creek Elementary | 710 | 15.6 | 60.4% | Schoolwide program |
| Wilshire Elementary | 681 | 16.9 | 54.5% | Schoolwide program |
| River Trails Elementary | 676 | 18.3 | 50.6% | Schoolwide program |
| Bellaire Elementary | 672 | 16.2 | 77.8% | Schoolwide program |
| Trinity Lakes Elementary | 657 | 15.4 | 51.6% | Schoolwide program |
| Bedford Heights Elementary | 651 | 18.6 | 19.4% | Not Title I |
| Meadow Creek Elementary | 649 | 16.7 | 29.0% | Not Title I |
| South Euless Elementary | 631 | 16.5 | 60.5% | Schoolwide program |
| Midway Park Elementary | 625 | 14.8 | 71.5% | Schoolwide program |
| Bell Manor Elementary | 610 | 15.6 | 58.4% | Schoolwide program |
The other 9 elementary schools
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spring Garden Elementary | 599 | 14.8 | 36.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Shady Oaks Elementary | 594 | 15.8 | 61.6% | Schoolwide program |
| Shady Brook Elementary | 582 | 15.8 | 53.4% | Schoolwide program |
| Lakewood Elementary | 573 | 15.8 | 48.5% | Schoolwide program |
| North Euless Elementary | 534 | 15.5 | 62.2% | Schoolwide program |
| Harrison Lane Elementary | 528 | 14.5 | 72.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Hurst Hills Elementary | 480 | 13.4 | 46.3% | Schoolwide program |
| Stonegate Elementary | 472 | 14.5 | 55.1% | Schoolwide program |
| Donna Park | 439 | 14.1 | 62.4% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
5 middle schools, 5,095 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Euless Junior High | 1,075 | 16.4 | 63.0% | Eligible, no program |
| Central Junior High | 1,061 | 14.8 | 47.9% | Eligible, no program |
| Harwood Junior High | 1,024 | 17.1 | 35.1% | Eligible, no program |
| Bedford Junior High | 968 | 17.6 | 36.5% | Eligible, no program |
| Hurst Junior High | 967 | 15.8 | 62.6% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
4 high schools, 5,177 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trinity High School | 2,734 | 17.5 | 42.8% | Eligible, no program |
| Bell High School | 2,411 | 16.9 | 42.3% | Eligible, no program |
| Keys High School | 30 | 2.4 | 53.3% | Eligible, no program |
| Tarrant Co J J a E P | 2 | not reported | not reported | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory
These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.
Tarrant Co J J a E P
High school in Ft Worth; open in 2024-25; 2 students.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.
Contact Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD
- Website: hebisd.edu
- Phone: (817) 383-4461
- Office: 1849a Central Dr, Bedford, TX 76022
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD
- Texas districts by spending per studentHurst-Euless-Bedford ISD ranks 524 of 577 Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($10,260).#524 of 577
- Every school district in TexasHurst-Euless-Bedford ISD is the number 62 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 22,947 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#62 of 1,212
- Uplift EducationThe next larger Texas district: 23,082 students in fall 2022, $11,748 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,748
- Birdville ISDThe next smaller Texas district: 22,637 students in fall 2022, $10,940 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,940
- Compare Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD with Uplift EducationEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Trinity High School, its largest high school2,734 students in 2024-25, 17.5 per teacher.2,734
- Teacher salary spending across TexasHurst-Euless-Bedford ISD spent $65,467 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$65,467
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD
How many schools and students are in Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD?
30 schools were open in 2024-25 (21 elementary, 5 middle, 4 high), enrolling 23,257 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD spend per student?
$10,260 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,244 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,179 per student, up 9.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD's money come from?
$307,218,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 13.6% state, 74.2% local and 12.2% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 3,626 of the 27,159 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 13.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD spend on teacher salaries?
$94,933,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,137 per student. Divided by the 1,450 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $65,467 per teacher, more than 99 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD scored proficient or above: 63% in reading and 59% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD?
96% of the 1,614 students in Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD's NCES district ID?
4824060. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25