Birdville ISD

Public school district · Tarrant County · Texas · NCES district ID 4810230

Birdville ISD spent $10,940 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 78% of the other Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,244). Its 31 schools enrolled 22,268 students in 2024-25; 26.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,631 per student, up 6.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 92% (Texas: 90.3%).

Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Birdville ISD in enrollment (21,392 to 23,342 students) and Birdville ISD itself.

Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Birdville ISD, FY23Galena Park ISD $13,655; Uplift Education $11,748; Hays CISD $11,289; Mckinney ISD $11,139; Birdville ISD $10,940; Eagle Mountain-Saginaw Independent $10,593; Allen ISD $10,417; Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD $10,260; Tomball ISD $9,720; International Leadership of Texas (Iltexas) $9,669; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14kGalena Park ISD$13,655Uplift Education$11,748Hays CISD$11,289Mckinney ISD$11,139Birdville ISD$10,940Eagle Mountain-Saginaw Indepen…$10,593Allen ISD$10,417Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD$10,260Tomball ISD$9,720International Leadership of Te…$9,669State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Birdville ISD, FY23Galena Park ISD $13,655; Uplift Education $11,748; Hays CISD $11,289; Mckinney ISD $11,139; Birdville ISD $10,940; Eagle Mountain-Saginaw Independent $10,593; Allen ISD $10,417; Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD $10,260; Tomball ISD $9,720; International Leadership of Texas (Iltexas) $9,669; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14kGalena Park ISD$13,655Uplift Education$11,748Hays CISD$11,289Mckinney ISD$11,139Birdville ISD$10,940Eagle Mountain-Saginaw Independent$10,593Allen ISD$10,417Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD$10,260Tomball ISD$9,720International Leadership of Texas (…$9,669State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Birdville ISD, FY23Galena Park ISD $13,655; Uplift Education $11,748; Hays CISD $11,289; Mckinney ISD $11,139; Birdville ISD $10,940; Eagle Mountain-Saginaw Independent $10,593; Allen ISD $10,417; Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD $10,260; Tomball ISD $9,720; International Leadership of Texas (Iltexas) $9,669; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14kGalena Park ISD$13,655Uplift Education$11,748Hays CISD$11,289Mckinney ISD$11,139Birdville ISD$10,940Eagle Mountain-Saginaw Independent$10,593Allen ISD$10,417Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD$10,260Tomball ISD$9,720International Leadership of Texas (Iltexas)$9,669State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Birdville ISD, FY23Galena Park ISD $13,655; Uplift Education $11,748; Hays CISD $11,289; Mckinney ISD $11,139; Birdville ISD $10,940; Eagle Mountain-Saginaw Independent $10,593; Allen ISD $10,417; Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD $10,260; Tomball ISD $9,720; International Leadership of Texas (Iltexas) $9,669; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14kGalena Park ISD$13,655Uplift Education$11,748Hays CISD$11,289Mckinney ISD$11,139Birdville ISD$10,940Eagle Mountain-Saginaw Independent$10,593Allen ISD$10,417Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD$10,260Tomball ISD$9,720International Leadership of Texas (Ilte…$9,669State median, 1,000+ students $12,244

Where the money came from

$324,006,000 in revenue: 26.9% state, 59.5% local and 13.7% federal. Total spending including $30,910,000 of capital outlay was $299,500,000, or $13,231 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Birdville ISD revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $87,057,000; Local $192,627,000; Federal $44,322,000; total $324,006,000.
  • State$87,057,000 27%
  • Local$192,627,000 59%
  • Federal$44,322,000 14%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 577 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

22,637 students in 2022-23, 22,219 students in 2023-24, 22,267 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Birdville ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 22,637, 2023-24: 22,219, 2024-25: 22,267010k20k30k2022-2322,6372023-2422,2192024-2522,267
Birdville ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 22,637, 2023-24: 22,219, 2024-25: 22,267010k20k30k2022-2322,6372023-2422,2192024-2522,267
Birdville ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 22,637, 2023-24: 22,219, 2024-25: 22,267010k20k30k2022-2322,6372023-2422,2192024-2522,267
Birdville ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 22,637, 2023-24: 22,219, 2024-25: 22,267010k20k30k2022-2322,6372023-2422,2192024-2522,267

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2322,6371502.215.1
2023-2422,2191484.815.0
2024-2522,2671453.815.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$91,421,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,039 per student

Birdville ISD booked $91,421,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 1,507 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $60,665 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 91 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$58,471,00064.0%
Special education$9,472,00010.4%
Vocational$4,302,0004.7%
Other programs$19,176,00021.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,759 in 2018-19, $3,934 in 2019-20, $4,000 in 2020-21, $4,031 in 2021-22, $4,039 in 2022-23.

Birdville ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,759, 2019-20: $3,934, 2020-21: $4,000, 2021-22: $4,031, 2022-23: $4,03902k4k6k2018-19$3,7592019-20$3,9342020-21$4,0002021-22$4,0312022-23$4,039
Birdville ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,759, 2019-20: $3,934, 2020-21: $4,000, 2021-22: $4,031, 2022-23: $4,03902k4k6k2018-19$3,7592019-20$3,9342020-21$4,0002021-22$4,0312022-23$4,039
Birdville ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,759, 2019-20: $3,934, 2020-21: $4,000, 2021-22: $4,031, 2022-23: $4,03902k4k6k2018-19$3,7592019-20$3,9342020-21$4,0002021-22$4,0312022-23$4,039
Birdville ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,759, 2019-20: $3,934, 2020-21: $4,000, 2021-22: $4,031, 2022-23: $4,03902k4k6k2018-19$3,7592019-20$3,9342020-21$4,0002021-22$4,0312022-23$4,039

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Birdville ISD scored proficient or above: 53% in reading and 45% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtTexasStudents tested
Reading and language arts53%52%9,975
Math45%42%9,978

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

92% of the 1,685 students in Birdville ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtTexas
Four-year graduation rate92%90.3%
Students in the class1,685403,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

19 elementary schools, 10,302 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Watauga Elementary70015.072.4%Schoolwide program
Cheney Hills Elementary69615.376.0%Schoolwide program
Jack C Binion Elementary69315.168.0%Schoolwide program
West Birdville Elementary66515.578.0%Schoolwide program
O H Stowe Elementary66014.464.1%Schoolwide program
Smithfield Elementary65817.036.6%Schoolwide program
David E Smith Elementary64015.972.3%Schoolwide program
Grace E Hardeman Elementary60015.153.0%Schoolwide program
Academy at Carrie F Thomas58615.962.1%Schoolwide program
W a Porter Elementary53813.513.6%Not Title I
North Ridge Elementary51015.129.4%Eligible, no program
Birdville Elementary47914.368.5%Schoolwide program
The other 7 elementary schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Holiday Heights Elementary46315.151.0%Schoolwide program
Walker Creek Elementary45814.421.4%Not Title I
John D Spicer Elementary43114.658.0%Schoolwide program
Foster Village Elementary43015.555.6%Schoolwide program
Green Valley Elementary40614.821.2%Not Title I
Snow Heights Elementary38014.831.1%Schoolwide program
Alliene Mullendore Elementary30912.059.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

7 middle schools, 4,936 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Haltom Middle90916.070.0%Schoolwide program
North Richland Middle88216.056.0%Schoolwide program
Smithfield Middle79815.620.6%Not Title I
North Ridge Middle66215.331.7%Schoolwide program
Richland Middle63314.463.0%Schoolwide program
Watauga Middle57212.958.6%Schoolwide program
North Oaks Middle48012.557.7%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

5 high schools, 7,030 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Haltom High School2,75717.156.7%Eligible, no program
Birdville High School2,06917.233.0%Eligible, no program
Richland High School2,06315.940.1%Eligible, no program
Shannon High School1406.760.7%Eligible, no program
Tarrant Co J J a E P1not reportednot reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 more schools on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

W T Francisco Elementary

School in Haltom City; 368 students; 14.4 students per teacher.

Tarrant Co J J a E P

High school in Haltom City; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (inactive); 1 student.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Birdville ISD

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Birdville ISD

  1. Texas districts by spending per studentBirdville ISD ranks 452 of 577 Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($10,940).#452 of 577
  2. Every school district in TexasBirdville ISD is the number 63 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 22,637 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#63 of 1,212
  3. Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISDThe next larger Texas district: 22,947 students in fall 2022, $10,260 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,260
  4. Hays CISDThe next smaller Texas district: 22,297 students in fall 2022, $11,289 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,289
  5. Compare Birdville ISD with Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Haltom High School, its largest high school2,757 students in 2024-25, 17.1 per teacher.2,757
  7. Teacher salary spending across TexasBirdville ISD spent $60,665 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$60,665
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Birdville ISD

  1. How many schools and students are in Birdville ISD?
    31 schools were open in 2024-25 (19 elementary, 7 middle, 5 high), enrolling 22,268 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Birdville ISD spend per student?
    $10,940 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,244 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $11,631 per student, up 6.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Birdville ISD's money come from?
    $324,006,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 26.9% state, 59.5% local and 13.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Birdville ISD live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 3,415 of the 25,587 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 13.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Birdville ISD spend on teacher salaries?
    $91,421,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,039 per student. Divided by the 1,507 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $60,665 per teacher, more than 91 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Birdville ISD do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Birdville ISD scored proficient or above: 53% in reading and 45% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Birdville ISD?
    92% of the 1,685 students in Birdville ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Birdville ISD's NCES district ID?
    4810230. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25