Auburn CUSD 10

Public school district · Sangamon County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1704620

Auburn CUSD 10 spent $13,132 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 90% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,127). Its 4 schools enrolled 1,055 students in 2024-25; 49.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,257 per student, up 8.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Illinois: 87.6%).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Auburn CUSD 10 in enrollment (1,092 to 1,134 students) and Auburn CUSD 10 itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Auburn CUSD 10, FY23Millburn District 24 $19,695; Nippersink SD 2 $19,656; Arbor Park SD 145 $18,912; Hoopeston Area CUSD 11 $18,248; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Center Cass SD 66 $16,911; Tri Valley CUSD 3 $14,200; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Johnston City Community $13,113; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kMillburn District 24$19,695Nippersink SD 2$19,656Arbor Park SD 145$18,912Hoopeston Area CUSD 11$18,248Pontiac Elementary School Dist…$18,147Center Cass SD 66$16,911Tri Valley CUSD 3$14,200Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Johnston City Community$13,113State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Auburn CUSD 10, FY23Millburn District 24 $19,695; Nippersink SD 2 $19,656; Arbor Park SD 145 $18,912; Hoopeston Area CUSD 11 $18,248; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Center Cass SD 66 $16,911; Tri Valley CUSD 3 $14,200; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Johnston City Community $13,113; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kMillburn District 24$19,695Nippersink SD 2$19,656Arbor Park SD 145$18,912Hoopeston Area CUSD 11$18,248Pontiac Elementary School District …$18,147Center Cass SD 66$16,911Tri Valley CUSD 3$14,200Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Johnston City Community$13,113State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Auburn CUSD 10, FY23Millburn District 24 $19,695; Nippersink SD 2 $19,656; Arbor Park SD 145 $18,912; Hoopeston Area CUSD 11 $18,248; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Center Cass SD 66 $16,911; Tri Valley CUSD 3 $14,200; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Johnston City Community $13,113; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k22.5kMillburn District 24$19,695Nippersink SD 2$19,656Arbor Park SD 145$18,912Hoopeston Area CUSD 11$18,248Pontiac Elementary School District 429$18,147Center Cass SD 66$16,911Tri Valley CUSD 3$14,200Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Johnston City Community$13,113State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Auburn CUSD 10, FY23Millburn District 24 $19,695; Nippersink SD 2 $19,656; Arbor Park SD 145 $18,912; Hoopeston Area CUSD 11 $18,248; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Center Cass SD 66 $16,911; Tri Valley CUSD 3 $14,200; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Johnston City Community $13,113; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k22.5kMillburn District 24$19,695Nippersink SD 2$19,656Arbor Park SD 145$18,912Hoopeston Area CUSD 11$18,248Pontiac Elementary School District 429$18,147Center Cass SD 66$16,911Tri Valley CUSD 3$14,200Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Johnston City Community$13,113State median, 1,000+ students $18,127

Where the money came from

$20,022,000 in revenue: 49.0% state, 41.7% local and 9.3% federal. Total spending including $2,025,000 of capital outlay was $17,543,000, or $15,748 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Auburn CUSD 10 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $9,818,000; Local $8,347,000; Federal $1,857,000; total $20,022,000.
  • State$9,818,000 49%
  • Local$8,347,000 42%
  • Federal$1,857,000 9%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,114 students in 2022-23, 1,080 students in 2023-24, 1,055 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Auburn CUSD 10 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,114, 2023-24: 1,080, 2024-25: 1,05505001k1.5k2022-231,1142023-241,0802024-251,055
Auburn CUSD 10 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,114, 2023-24: 1,080, 2024-25: 1,05505001k1.5k2022-231,1142023-241,0802024-251,055
Auburn CUSD 10 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,114, 2023-24: 1,080, 2024-25: 1,05505001k1.5k2022-231,1142023-241,0802024-251,055
Auburn CUSD 10 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,114, 2023-24: 1,080, 2024-25: 1,05505001k1.5k2022-231,1142023-241,0802024-251,055

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,11482.113.6
2023-241,08079.513.6
2024-251,05583.712.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Auburn CUSD 10 scored proficient or above: 22% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts22%29.9%553

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 97 students in Auburn CUSD 10's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIllinois
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%87.6%
Students in the class97149,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 492 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Auburn Elementary School29213.5not reportedSchoolwide program
Auburn Middle School20011.9not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 236 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Auburn Jr High at Divernon23611.9not reportedEligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 327 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Auburn High School32712.9not reportedEligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Auburn CUSD 10

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Auburn CUSD 10

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentAuburn CUSD 10 ranks 340 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,132).#340 of 377
  2. Every school district in IllinoisAuburn CUSD 10 is the number 345 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 1,114 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#345 of 865
  3. Hoopeston Area CUSD 11The next larger Illinois district: 1,134 students in fall 2022, $18,248 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,248
  4. Norridge SD 80The next smaller Illinois district: 1,113 students in fall 2022, $13,497 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,497
  5. Compare Auburn CUSD 10 with Hoopeston Area CUSD 11Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Auburn High School, its largest high school327 students in 2024-25, 12.9 per teacher.327
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Auburn CUSD 10

  1. How many schools and students are in Auburn CUSD 10?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,055 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Auburn CUSD 10 spend per student?
    $13,132 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,257 per student, up 8.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Auburn CUSD 10's money come from?
    $20,022,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 49.0% state, 41.7% local and 9.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Auburn CUSD 10 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 65 of the 1,172 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 5.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Auburn CUSD 10 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Auburn CUSD 10 scored proficient or above: 22% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Auburn CUSD 10?
    90-94% of the 97 students in Auburn CUSD 10's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Auburn CUSD 10's NCES district ID?
    1704620. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25