Norridge SD 80

Public school district · Cook County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1728650

Norridge SD 80 spent $13,497 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 88% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,127). Its 2 schools enrolled 1,111 students in 2024-25; 29.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,347 per student, up 6.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Norridge SD 80 in enrollment (1,092 to 1,134 students) and Norridge SD 80 itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Norridge SD 80, FY23Millburn District 24 $19,695; Nippersink SD 2 $19,656; Arbor Park SD 145 $18,912; Hoopeston Area CUSD 11 $18,248; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Center Cass SD 66 $16,911; Tri Valley CUSD 3 $14,200; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Johnston City Community $13,113; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kMillburn District 24$19,695Nippersink SD 2$19,656Arbor Park SD 145$18,912Hoopeston Area CUSD 11$18,248Pontiac Elementary School Dist…$18,147Center Cass SD 66$16,911Tri Valley CUSD 3$14,200Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Johnston City Community$13,113State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Norridge SD 80, FY23Millburn District 24 $19,695; Nippersink SD 2 $19,656; Arbor Park SD 145 $18,912; Hoopeston Area CUSD 11 $18,248; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Center Cass SD 66 $16,911; Tri Valley CUSD 3 $14,200; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Johnston City Community $13,113; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kMillburn District 24$19,695Nippersink SD 2$19,656Arbor Park SD 145$18,912Hoopeston Area CUSD 11$18,248Pontiac Elementary School District …$18,147Center Cass SD 66$16,911Tri Valley CUSD 3$14,200Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Johnston City Community$13,113State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Norridge SD 80, FY23Millburn District 24 $19,695; Nippersink SD 2 $19,656; Arbor Park SD 145 $18,912; Hoopeston Area CUSD 11 $18,248; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Center Cass SD 66 $16,911; Tri Valley CUSD 3 $14,200; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Johnston City Community $13,113; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k22.5kMillburn District 24$19,695Nippersink SD 2$19,656Arbor Park SD 145$18,912Hoopeston Area CUSD 11$18,248Pontiac Elementary School District 429$18,147Center Cass SD 66$16,911Tri Valley CUSD 3$14,200Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Johnston City Community$13,113State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Norridge SD 80, FY23Millburn District 24 $19,695; Nippersink SD 2 $19,656; Arbor Park SD 145 $18,912; Hoopeston Area CUSD 11 $18,248; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Center Cass SD 66 $16,911; Tri Valley CUSD 3 $14,200; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Johnston City Community $13,113; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k22.5kMillburn District 24$19,695Nippersink SD 2$19,656Arbor Park SD 145$18,912Hoopeston Area CUSD 11$18,248Pontiac Elementary School District 429$18,147Center Cass SD 66$16,911Tri Valley CUSD 3$14,200Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Johnston City Community$13,113State median, 1,000+ students $18,127

Where the money came from

$17,344,000 in revenue: 29.1% state, 64.4% local and 6.6% federal. Total spending including $1,296,000 of capital outlay was $17,041,000, or $15,311 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Norridge SD 80 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $5,040,000; Local $11,164,000; Federal $1,140,000; total $17,344,000.
  • State$5,040,000 29%
  • Local$11,164,000 64%
  • Federal$1,140,000 7%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,113 students in 2022-23, 1,126 students in 2023-24, 1,111 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Norridge SD 80 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,113, 2023-24: 1,126, 2024-25: 1,11105001k1.5k2022-231,1132023-241,1262024-251,111
Norridge SD 80 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,113, 2023-24: 1,126, 2024-25: 1,11105001k1.5k2022-231,1132023-241,1262024-251,111
Norridge SD 80 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,113, 2023-24: 1,126, 2024-25: 1,11105001k1.5k2022-231,1132023-241,1262024-251,111
Norridge SD 80 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,113, 2023-24: 1,126, 2024-25: 1,11105001k1.5k2022-231,1132023-241,1262024-251,111

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,11370.015.9
2023-241,12671.115.8
2024-251,11174.015.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Norridge SD 80 scored proficient or above: 51% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts51%29.9%693

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 elementary school, 612 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
J Leigh Elementary School61214.1not reportedTargeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 499 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
J Giles Elementary School49916.4not reportedNot reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Norridge SD 80

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Norridge SD 80

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentNorridge SD 80 ranks 333 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,497).#333 of 377
  2. Every school district in IllinoisNorridge SD 80 is the number 346 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 1,113 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#346 of 865
  3. Auburn CUSD 10The next larger Illinois district: 1,114 students in fall 2022, $13,132 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,132
  4. Pontiac Elementary School District 429The next smaller Illinois district: 1,108 students in fall 2022, $18,147 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,147
  5. Compare Norridge SD 80 with Auburn CUSD 10Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Norridge SD 80

  1. How many schools and students are in Norridge SD 80?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 1,111 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Norridge SD 80 spend per student?
    $13,497 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,347 per student, up 6.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Norridge SD 80's money come from?
    $17,344,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 29.1% state, 64.4% local and 6.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Norridge SD 80 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 135 of the 1,196 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Norridge SD 80 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Norridge SD 80 scored proficient or above: 51% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is Norridge SD 80's NCES district ID?
    1728650. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25