Millburn District 24

Listed by NCES as Millburn CCSD 24 (district ID 1726100)

Public school district · Lake County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1726100

Millburn District 24 spent $19,695 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 64% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $18,127). Its 2 schools enrolled 1,099 students in 2024-25; 33.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,001 per student, up 6.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Millburn District 24 in enrollment (1,092 to 1,114 students) and Millburn District 24 itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Millburn District 24, FY23Millburn District 24 $19,695; Nippersink SD 2 $19,656; Arbor Park SD 145 $18,912; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Center Cass SD 66 $16,911; Tri Valley CUSD 3 $14,200; Riverdale $13,909; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Johnston City Community $13,113; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kMillburn District 24$19,695Nippersink SD 2$19,656Arbor Park SD 145$18,912Pontiac Elementary School Dist…$18,147Center Cass SD 66$16,911Tri Valley CUSD 3$14,200Riverdale$13,909Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Johnston City Community$13,113State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Millburn District 24, FY23Millburn District 24 $19,695; Nippersink SD 2 $19,656; Arbor Park SD 145 $18,912; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Center Cass SD 66 $16,911; Tri Valley CUSD 3 $14,200; Riverdale $13,909; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Johnston City Community $13,113; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kMillburn District 24$19,695Nippersink SD 2$19,656Arbor Park SD 145$18,912Pontiac Elementary School District …$18,147Center Cass SD 66$16,911Tri Valley CUSD 3$14,200Riverdale$13,909Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Johnston City Community$13,113State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Millburn District 24, FY23Millburn District 24 $19,695; Nippersink SD 2 $19,656; Arbor Park SD 145 $18,912; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Center Cass SD 66 $16,911; Tri Valley CUSD 3 $14,200; Riverdale $13,909; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Johnston City Community $13,113; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k22.5kMillburn District 24$19,695Nippersink SD 2$19,656Arbor Park SD 145$18,912Pontiac Elementary School District 429$18,147Center Cass SD 66$16,911Tri Valley CUSD 3$14,200Riverdale$13,909Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Johnston City Community$13,113State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Millburn District 24, FY23Millburn District 24 $19,695; Nippersink SD 2 $19,656; Arbor Park SD 145 $18,912; Pontiac Elementary School District 429 $18,147; Center Cass SD 66 $16,911; Tri Valley CUSD 3 $14,200; Riverdale $13,909; Norridge SD 80 $13,497; Auburn CUSD 10 $13,132; Johnston City Community $13,113; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k22.5kMillburn District 24$19,695Nippersink SD 2$19,656Arbor Park SD 145$18,912Pontiac Elementary School District 429$18,147Center Cass SD 66$16,911Tri Valley CUSD 3$14,200Riverdale$13,909Norridge SD 80$13,497Auburn CUSD 10$13,132Johnston City Community$13,113State median, 1,000+ students $18,127

Where the money came from

$29,997,000 in revenue: 33.5% state, 63.6% local and 2.9% federal. Total spending including $618,000 of capital outlay was $26,234,000, or $23,784 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Millburn District 24 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $10,059,000; Local $19,069,000; Federal $869,000; total $29,997,000.
  • State$10,059,000 34%
  • Local$19,069,000 64%
  • Federal$869,000 3%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,103 students in 2022-23, 1,098 students in 2023-24, 1,099 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Millburn District 24 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,103, 2023-24: 1,098, 2024-25: 1,09905001k1.5k2022-231,1032023-241,0982024-251,099
Millburn District 24 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,103, 2023-24: 1,098, 2024-25: 1,09905001k1.5k2022-231,1032023-241,0982024-251,099
Millburn District 24 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,103, 2023-24: 1,098, 2024-25: 1,09905001k1.5k2022-231,1032023-241,0982024-251,099
Millburn District 24 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,103, 2023-24: 1,098, 2024-25: 1,09905001k1.5k2022-231,1032023-241,0982024-251,099

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,10389.012.4
2023-241,09888.012.5
2024-251,09987.012.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Millburn District 24 scored proficient or above: 44% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts44%29.9%734

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 elementary school, 711 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Millburn Elementary School71112.5not reportedNot reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 388 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Millburn Middle School38812.9not reportedNot reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Millburn District 24

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Millburn District 24

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentMillburn District 24 ranks 135 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($19,695).#135 of 377
  2. Every school district in IllinoisMillburn District 24 is the number 349 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 1,103 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#349 of 865
  3. Center Cass SD 66The next larger Illinois district: 1,105 students in fall 2022, $16,911 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,911
  4. Nippersink SD 2The next smaller Illinois district: 1,102 students in fall 2022, $19,656 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,656
  5. Compare Millburn District 24 with Center Cass SD 66Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Millburn District 24

  1. How many schools and students are in Millburn District 24?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 1,099 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Millburn District 24 spend per student?
    $19,695 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,001 per student, up 6.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Millburn District 24's money come from?
    $29,997,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 33.5% state, 63.6% local and 2.9% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Millburn District 24 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 55 of the 1,329 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 4.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Millburn District 24 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Millburn District 24 scored proficient or above: 44% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is Millburn District 24's NCES district ID?
    1726100. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25