Bronson Community Schools

Listed by NCES as Bronson Community School District (district ID 2606960)

Public school district · Branch County · Michigan · NCES district ID 2606960

Bronson Community Schools spent $13,132 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 65% of the other Michigan districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $14,091). Its 3 schools enrolled 963 students in 2024-25; 66.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,039 per student, up 14.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80-84% (Michigan: 81.8%).

Spending per student among Michigan districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Bronson Community Schools in enrollment (979 to 1,010 students) and Bronson Community Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Bronson Community Schools, FY23Bangor Public Schools (Van Buren) $17,270; Farwell Area Schools $15,345; Gwinn Area Community Schools $15,001; Springport Public Schools $13,967; Bath Community Schools $13,807; Bradford Academy $13,595; Old Redford Academy $13,428; Sandusky Community $13,179; Bronson Community Schools $13,132; Hope of Detroit Academy $11,503; State median, under 1,000 students $14,091.10k12k14k16k18kBangor Public Schools (Van Bur…$17,270Farwell Area Schools$15,345Gwinn Area Community Schools$15,001Springport Public Schools$13,967Bath Community Schools$13,807Bradford Academy$13,595Old Redford Academy$13,428Sandusky Community$13,179Bronson Community Schools$13,132Hope of Detroit Academy$11,503State median, under 1,000 students $14,091
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Bronson Community Schools, FY23Bangor Public Schools (Van Buren) $17,270; Farwell Area Schools $15,345; Gwinn Area Community Schools $15,001; Springport Public Schools $13,967; Bath Community Schools $13,807; Bradford Academy $13,595; Old Redford Academy $13,428; Sandusky Community $13,179; Bronson Community Schools $13,132; Hope of Detroit Academy $11,503; State median, under 1,000 students $14,091.10k12k14k16k18kBangor Public Schools (Van Buren)$17,270Farwell Area Schools$15,345Gwinn Area Community Schools$15,001Springport Public Schools$13,967Bath Community Schools$13,807Bradford Academy$13,595Old Redford Academy$13,428Sandusky Community$13,179Bronson Community Schools$13,132Hope of Detroit Academy$11,503State median, under 1,000 students $14,091
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Bronson Community Schools, FY23Bangor Public Schools (Van Buren) $17,270; Farwell Area Schools $15,345; Gwinn Area Community Schools $15,001; Springport Public Schools $13,967; Bath Community Schools $13,807; Bradford Academy $13,595; Old Redford Academy $13,428; Sandusky Community $13,179; Bronson Community Schools $13,132; Hope of Detroit Academy $11,503; State median, under 1,000 students $14,091.10k14k18kBangor Public Schools (Van Buren)$17,270Farwell Area Schools$15,345Gwinn Area Community Schools$15,001Springport Public Schools$13,967Bath Community Schools$13,807Bradford Academy$13,595Old Redford Academy$13,428Sandusky Community$13,179Bronson Community Schools$13,132Hope of Detroit Academy$11,503State median, under 1,000 students $14,091
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to Bronson Community Schools, FY23Bangor Public Schools (Van Buren) $17,270; Farwell Area Schools $15,345; Gwinn Area Community Schools $15,001; Springport Public Schools $13,967; Bath Community Schools $13,807; Bradford Academy $13,595; Old Redford Academy $13,428; Sandusky Community $13,179; Bronson Community Schools $13,132; Hope of Detroit Academy $11,503; State median, under 1,000 students $14,091.10k14k18kBangor Public Schools (Van Buren)$17,270Farwell Area Schools$15,345Gwinn Area Community Schools$15,001Springport Public Schools$13,967Bath Community Schools$13,807Bradford Academy$13,595Old Redford Academy$13,428Sandusky Community$13,179Bronson Community Schools$13,132Hope of Detroit Academy$11,503State median, under 1,000 students $14,091

Where the money came from

$15,554,000 in revenue: 66.3% state, 18.2% local and 15.4% federal. Total spending including $1,914,000 of capital outlay was $15,117,000, or $15,224 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Bronson Community Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $10,315,000; Local $2,838,000; Federal $2,401,000; total $15,554,000.
  • State$10,315,000 66%
  • Local$2,838,000 18%
  • Federal$2,401,000 15%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 465 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

993 students in 2022-23, 946 students in 2023-24, 963 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Bronson Community Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 993, 2023-24: 946, 2024-25: 96302505007501k2022-239932023-249462024-25963
Bronson Community Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 993, 2023-24: 946, 2024-25: 96302505007501k2022-239932023-249462024-25963
Bronson Community Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 993, 2023-24: 946, 2024-25: 96302505007501k2022-239932023-249462024-25963
Bronson Community Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 993, 2023-24: 946, 2024-25: 96302505007501k2022-239932023-249462024-25963

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2399352.019.1
2023-2494654.017.5
2024-2596358.716.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,318,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,341 per student

Bronson Community Schools booked $3,318,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 52 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $63,808 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 56 in 100 Michigan districts with a figure (state median $62,387, 536 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Michigan teacher salary at $65,198 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$3,161,00095.3%
Other programs$157,0004.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,850 in 2018-19, $2,899 in 2019-20, $2,987 in 2020-21, $3,212 in 2021-22, $3,341 in 2022-23.

Bronson Community Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,850, 2019-20: $2,899, 2020-21: $2,987, 2021-22: $3,212, 2022-23: $3,34101k2k3k4k2018-19$2,8502019-20$2,8992020-21$2,9872021-22$3,2122022-23$3,341
Bronson Community Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,850, 2019-20: $2,899, 2020-21: $2,987, 2021-22: $3,212, 2022-23: $3,34101k2k3k4k2018-19$2,8502019-20$2,8992020-21$2,9872021-22$3,2122022-23$3,341
Bronson Community Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,850, 2019-20: $2,899, 2020-21: $2,987, 2021-22: $3,212, 2022-23: $3,34101k2k3k4k2018-19$2,8502019-20$2,8992020-21$2,9872021-22$3,2122022-23$3,341
Bronson Community Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,850, 2019-20: $2,899, 2020-21: $2,987, 2021-22: $3,212, 2022-23: $3,34101k2k3k4k2018-19$2,8502019-20$2,8992020-21$2,9872021-22$3,2122022-23$3,341

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Bronson Community Schools scored proficient or above: 35-39% in reading and 25-29% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Michigan, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMichiganStudents tested
Reading and language arts35-39%44%451
Math25-29%34%451

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80-84% of the 73 students in Bronson Community Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMichigan
Four-year graduation rate80‑84%81.8%
Students in the class73115,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 433 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Ryan Elementary School21713.259.9%Schoolwide program
Anderson Elementary School21614.961.6%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 530 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Bronson JrSr High School53019.146.8%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Bronson Community Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Bronson Community Schools

  1. Michigan districts by spending per studentBronson Community Schools ranks 302 of 465 Michigan districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,132).#302 of 465
  2. Every school district in MichiganBronson Community Schools is the number 364 by size of 892 Michigan districts, with 993 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#364 of 892
  3. Gwinn Area Community SchoolsThe next larger Michigan district: 997 students in fall 2022, $15,001 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,001
  4. Old Redford Academy School DistrictThe next smaller Michigan district: 987 students in fall 2022, $13,428 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,428
  5. Compare Bronson Community Schools with Gwinn Area Community SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Bronson JrSr High School, its largest high school530 students in 2024-25, 19.1 per teacher.530
  7. Teacher salary spending across MichiganBronson Community Schools spent $63,808 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,387); spending, not a salary.$63,808
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Bronson Community Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Bronson Community Schools?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 963 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Bronson Community Schools spend per student?
    $13,132 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Michigan median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,091 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,039 per student, up 14.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Bronson Community Schools' money come from?
    $15,554,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 66.3% state, 18.2% local and 15.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Bronson Community Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 215 of the 1,375 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 15.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Bronson Community Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,318,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,341 per student. Divided by the 52 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $63,808 per teacher, more than 56 in 100 Michigan districts (state median $62,387). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Michigan teacher salary at $65,198 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Bronson Community Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Bronson Community Schools scored proficient or above: 35-39% in reading and 25-29% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Michigan's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Bronson Community Schools?
    80-84% of the 73 students in Bronson Community Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Bronson Community Schools' NCES district ID?
    2606960. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25