Yamhill Carlton School District

Listed by NCES as Yamhill Carlton SD 1 (district ID 4100016)

Public school district · Yamhill County · Oregon · NCES district ID 4100016

Yamhill Carlton School District spent $13,131 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 88% of the other Oregon districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $15,368). Its 3 schools enrolled 924 students in 2024-25; 59.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,012 per student, up 6.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 85-89% (Oregon: 81.3%).

Spending per student among Oregon districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Yamhill Carlton in enrollment (1,002 to 1,223 students) and Yamhill Carlton itself.

Current spending per student, Oregon districts closest in size to Yamhill Carlton, FY23Creswell SD 40 $17,085; Sisters SD 6 $16,286; Corbett $15,236; Banks $14,460; Rogue River $14,222; Gervais $14,204; Pleasant Hill $13,369; Yamhill Carlton $13,131; Lowell $7,273; Prairie City SD 4 $5,875; State median, 1,000+ students $15,368.5k10k15k20kCreswell SD 40$17,085Sisters SD 6$16,286Corbett$15,236Banks$14,460Rogue River$14,222Gervais$14,204Pleasant Hill$13,369Yamhill Carlton$13,131Lowell$7,273Prairie City SD 4$5,875State median, 1,000+ students $15,368
Current spending per student, Oregon districts closest in size to Yamhill Carlton, FY23Creswell SD 40 $17,085; Sisters SD 6 $16,286; Corbett $15,236; Banks $14,460; Rogue River $14,222; Gervais $14,204; Pleasant Hill $13,369; Yamhill Carlton $13,131; Lowell $7,273; Prairie City SD 4 $5,875; State median, 1,000+ students $15,368.5k10k15k20kCreswell SD 40$17,085Sisters SD 6$16,286Corbett$15,236Banks$14,460Rogue River$14,222Gervais$14,204Pleasant Hill$13,369Yamhill Carlton$13,131Lowell$7,273Prairie City SD 4$5,875State median, 1,000+ students $15,368
Current spending per student, Oregon districts closest in size to Yamhill Carlton, FY23Creswell SD 40 $17,085; Sisters SD 6 $16,286; Corbett $15,236; Banks $14,460; Rogue River $14,222; Gervais $14,204; Pleasant Hill $13,369; Yamhill Carlton $13,131; Lowell $7,273; Prairie City SD 4 $5,875; State median, 1,000+ students $15,368.5k10k15k20kCreswell SD 40$17,085Sisters SD 6$16,286Corbett$15,236Banks$14,460Rogue River$14,222Gervais$14,204Pleasant Hill$13,369Yamhill Carlton$13,131Lowell$7,273Prairie City SD 4$5,875State median, 1,000+ students $15,368
Current spending per student, Oregon districts closest in size to Yamhill Carlton, FY23Creswell SD 40 $17,085; Sisters SD 6 $16,286; Corbett $15,236; Banks $14,460; Rogue River $14,222; Gervais $14,204; Pleasant Hill $13,369; Yamhill Carlton $13,131; Lowell $7,273; Prairie City SD 4 $5,875; State median, 1,000+ students $15,368.5k10k15k20kCreswell SD 40$17,085Sisters SD 6$16,286Corbett$15,236Banks$14,460Rogue River$14,222Gervais$14,204Pleasant Hill$13,369Yamhill Carlton$13,131Lowell$7,273Prairie City SD 4$5,875State median, 1,000+ students $15,368

Where the money came from

$18,246,000 in revenue: 59.3% state, 34.8% local and 5.8% federal. Total spending including $1,306,000 of capital outlay was $17,352,000, or $15,661 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Yamhill Carlton School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $10,821,000; Local $6,358,000; Federal $1,067,000; total $18,246,000.
  • State$10,821,000 59%
  • Local$6,358,000 35%
  • Federal$1,067,000 6%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 93 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

921 students in 2022-23, 917 students in 2023-24, 924 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Yamhill Carlton School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 921, 2023-24: 917, 2024-25: 92402505007501k2022-239212023-249172024-25924
Yamhill Carlton School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 921, 2023-24: 917, 2024-25: 92402505007501k2022-239212023-249172024-25924
Yamhill Carlton School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 921, 2023-24: 917, 2024-25: 92402505007501k2022-239212023-249172024-25924
Yamhill Carlton School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 921, 2023-24: 917, 2024-25: 92402505007501k2022-239212023-249172024-25924

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2392151.517.9
2023-2491754.616.8
2024-2592454.916.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,486,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,146 per student

Yamhill Carlton School District booked $3,486,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 57 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $60,912 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 30 in 100 Oregon districts with a figure (state median $65,110, 168 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oregon teacher salary at $69,671 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,739,00078.6%
Special education$360,00010.3%
Vocational$43,0001.2%
Other programs$344,0009.9%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,702 in 2018-19, $2,635 in 2019-20, $2,984 in 2020-21, $2,987 in 2021-22, $3,146 in 2022-23.

Yamhill Carlton School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,702, 2019-20: $2,635, 2020-21: $2,984, 2021-22: $2,987, 2022-23: $3,14601k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7022019-20$2,6352020-21$2,9842021-22$2,9872022-23$3,146
Yamhill Carlton School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,702, 2019-20: $2,635, 2020-21: $2,984, 2021-22: $2,987, 2022-23: $3,14601k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7022019-20$2,6352020-21$2,9842021-22$2,9872022-23$3,146
Yamhill Carlton School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,702, 2019-20: $2,635, 2020-21: $2,984, 2021-22: $2,987, 2022-23: $3,14601k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7022019-20$2,6352020-21$2,9842021-22$2,9872022-23$3,146
Yamhill Carlton School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,702, 2019-20: $2,635, 2020-21: $2,984, 2021-22: $2,987, 2022-23: $3,14601k2k3k4k2018-19$2,7022019-20$2,6352020-21$2,9842021-22$2,9872022-23$3,146

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Yamhill Carlton School District scored proficient or above: 41% in reading and 19% in math, against 44% in reading and 30.6% in math across Oregon. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oregon, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOregonStudents tested
Reading and language arts41%44%415
Math19%30.6%407

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

85-89% of the 67 students in Yamhill Carlton School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.3% across Oregon. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOregon
Four-year graduation rate85‑89%81.3%
Students in the class6746,371

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 276 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Yamhill Carlton Elementary School27617.650.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 369 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Yamhill Carlton Intermediate School36916.450.4%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 279 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Yamhill Carlton High School27916.750.5%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Yamhill Carlton School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Yamhill Carlton School District

  1. Oregon districts by spending per studentYamhill Carlton School District ranks 82 of 93 Oregon districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,131).#82 of 93
  2. Every school district in OregonYamhill Carlton School District is the number 87 by size of 207 Oregon districts, with 1,108 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#87 of 207
  3. Creswell SD 40The next larger Oregon district: 1,135 students in fall 2022, $17,085 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,085
  4. Prairie City SD 4The next smaller Oregon district: 1,089 students in fall 2022, $5,875 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$5,875
  5. Compare Yamhill Carlton School District with Creswell SD 40Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Yamhill Carlton High School, its largest high school279 students in 2024-25, 16.7 per teacher.279
  7. Teacher salary spending across OregonYamhill Carlton School District spent $60,912 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $65,110); spending, not a salary.$60,912
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Yamhill Carlton School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Yamhill Carlton School District?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 924 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Yamhill Carlton School District spend per student?
    $13,131 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Oregon median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,368 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,012 per student, up 6.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Yamhill Carlton School District's money come from?
    $18,246,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 59.3% state, 34.8% local and 5.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Yamhill Carlton School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 89 of the 1,188 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 7.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Yamhill Carlton School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,486,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,146 per student. Divided by the 57 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $60,912 per teacher, more than 30 in 100 Oregon districts (state median $65,110). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oregon teacher salary at $69,671 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Yamhill Carlton School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Yamhill Carlton School District scored proficient or above: 41% in reading and 19% in math, against 44% in reading and 30.6% in math across Oregon. Oregon's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Yamhill Carlton School District?
    85-89% of the 67 students in Yamhill Carlton School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.3% across Oregon. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Yamhill Carlton School District's NCES district ID?
    4100016. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25