San Ramon Valley Unified

Public school district · Contra Costa County · California · NCES district ID 0635130

San Ramon Valley Unified spent $15,351 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 72% of the other California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $16,855). Its 36 schools enrolled 28,554 students in 2024-25; 39.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,073 per student, up 11.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 97% (California: 86.2%).

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to San Ramon Valley Unified in enrollment (26,379 to 31,653 students) and San Ramon Valley Unified itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to San Ramon Valley Unified, FY23Bakersfield City $19,155; Moreno Valley Unified $18,481; Anaheim Union High $18,314; Modesto City Schools $18,028; Desert Sands Unified $17,070; Visalia Unified $16,966; Lodi Unified $16,495; San Ramon Valley Unified $15,351; Mt. Diablo Unified $15,273; Temecula Valley Unified $14,165; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.12k14k16k18k20kBakersfield City$19,155Moreno Valley Unified$18,481Anaheim Union High$18,314Modesto City Schools$18,028Desert Sands Unified$17,070Visalia Unified$16,966Lodi Unified$16,495San Ramon Valley Unified$15,351Mt. Diablo Unified$15,273Temecula Valley Unified$14,165State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to San Ramon Valley Unified, FY23Bakersfield City $19,155; Moreno Valley Unified $18,481; Anaheim Union High $18,314; Modesto City Schools $18,028; Desert Sands Unified $17,070; Visalia Unified $16,966; Lodi Unified $16,495; San Ramon Valley Unified $15,351; Mt. Diablo Unified $15,273; Temecula Valley Unified $14,165; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.12k14k16k18k20kBakersfield City$19,155Moreno Valley Unified$18,481Anaheim Union High$18,314Modesto City Schools$18,028Desert Sands Unified$17,070Visalia Unified$16,966Lodi Unified$16,495San Ramon Valley Unified$15,351Mt. Diablo Unified$15,273Temecula Valley Unified$14,165State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to San Ramon Valley Unified, FY23Bakersfield City $19,155; Moreno Valley Unified $18,481; Anaheim Union High $18,314; Modesto City Schools $18,028; Desert Sands Unified $17,070; Visalia Unified $16,966; Lodi Unified $16,495; San Ramon Valley Unified $15,351; Mt. Diablo Unified $15,273; Temecula Valley Unified $14,165; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.12k16k20kBakersfield City$19,155Moreno Valley Unified$18,481Anaheim Union High$18,314Modesto City Schools$18,028Desert Sands Unified$17,070Visalia Unified$16,966Lodi Unified$16,495San Ramon Valley Unified$15,351Mt. Diablo Unified$15,273Temecula Valley Unified$14,165State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to San Ramon Valley Unified, FY23Bakersfield City $19,155; Moreno Valley Unified $18,481; Anaheim Union High $18,314; Modesto City Schools $18,028; Desert Sands Unified $17,070; Visalia Unified $16,966; Lodi Unified $16,495; San Ramon Valley Unified $15,351; Mt. Diablo Unified $15,273; Temecula Valley Unified $14,165; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.12k16k20kBakersfield City$19,155Moreno Valley Unified$18,481Anaheim Union High$18,314Modesto City Schools$18,028Desert Sands Unified$17,070Visalia Unified$16,966Lodi Unified$16,495San Ramon Valley Unified$15,351Mt. Diablo Unified$15,273Temecula Valley Unified$14,165State median, 1,000+ students $16,855

Where the money came from

$551,881,000 in revenue: 39.9% state, 57.2% local and 2.9% federal. Total spending including $12,062,000 of capital outlay was $477,425,000, or $16,086 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

San Ramon Valley Unified revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $219,958,000; Local $315,936,000; Federal $15,987,000; total $551,881,000.
  • State$219,958,000 40%
  • Local$315,936,000 57%
  • Federal$15,987,000 3%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 646 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

29,639 students in 2022-23, 29,183 students in 2023-24, 28,554 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

San Ramon Valley Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 29,639, 2023-24: 29,183, 2024-25: 28,554010k20k30k2022-2329,6392023-2429,1832024-2528,554
San Ramon Valley Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 29,639, 2023-24: 29,183, 2024-25: 28,554010k20k30k2022-2329,6392023-2429,1832024-2528,554
San Ramon Valley Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 29,639, 2023-24: 29,183, 2024-25: 28,554010k20k30k2022-2329,6392023-2429,1832024-2528,554
San Ramon Valley Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 29,639, 2023-24: 29,183, 2024-25: 28,554010k20k30k2022-2329,6392023-2429,1832024-2528,554

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2329,6391258.423.6
2023-2429,1831261.523.1
2024-2528,5541276.422.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$142,648,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,806 per student

San Ramon Valley Unified booked $142,648,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 1,258 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $113,360 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 73 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$121,278,00085.0%
Special education$17,478,00012.3%
Vocational$1,634,0001.1%
Other programs$2,258,0001.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,799 in 2018-19, $3,938 in 2019-20, $4,141 in 2020-21, $4,450 in 2021-22, $4,806 in 2022-23.

San Ramon Valley Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,799, 2019-20: $3,938, 2020-21: $4,141, 2021-22: $4,450, 2022-23: $4,80602k4k6k2018-19$3,7992019-20$3,9382020-21$4,1412021-22$4,4502022-23$4,806
San Ramon Valley Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,799, 2019-20: $3,938, 2020-21: $4,141, 2021-22: $4,450, 2022-23: $4,80602k4k6k2018-19$3,7992019-20$3,9382020-21$4,1412021-22$4,4502022-23$4,806
San Ramon Valley Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,799, 2019-20: $3,938, 2020-21: $4,141, 2021-22: $4,450, 2022-23: $4,80602k4k6k2018-19$3,7992019-20$3,9382020-21$4,1412021-22$4,4502022-23$4,806
San Ramon Valley Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,799, 2019-20: $3,938, 2020-21: $4,141, 2021-22: $4,450, 2022-23: $4,80602k4k6k2018-19$3,7992019-20$3,9382020-21$4,1412021-22$4,4502022-23$4,806

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in San Ramon Valley Unified scored proficient or above: 79% in reading and 73% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts79%45%13,232
Math73%34%13,220

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

97% of the 2,674 students in San Ramon Valley Unified's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtCalifornia
Four-year graduation rate97%86.2%
Students in the class2,674495,492

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

22 elementary schools, 11,794 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Quail Run Elementary74422.216.8%Not reported
Greenbrook Elementary73223.16.4%Not reported
Twin Creeks Elementary67421.711.4%Not reported
Golden View Elementary65420.99.3%Not reported
Coyote Creek Elementary61321.08.3%Not reported
Montevideo Elementary59221.49.6%Not reported
Sycamore Valley Elementary55923.35.4%Not reported
Creekside Elementary54919.67.3%Not reported
Vista Grande Elementary54423.04.0%Not reported
Walt Disney Elementary52323.07.8%Not reported
Tassajara Hills Elementary50623.48.1%Not reported
Country Club Elementary50020.013.8%Not reported
The other 10 elementary schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Bella Vista Elementary49919.614.4%Not reported
Bollinger Canyon Elementary49220.95.1%Not reported
Hidden Hills Elementary48621.010.3%Not reported
Green Valley Elementary48420.33.1%Not reported
Montair Elementary48419.16.2%Not reported
Rancho Romero Elementary46924.75.8%Not reported
Neil A. Armstrong Elementary46521.26.5%Not reported
John Baldwin Elementary43922.42.5%Not reported
Live Oak Elementary43819.38.2%Not reported
Alamo Elementary34821.93.7%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

8 middle schools, 6,654 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Windemere Ranch Middle1,01124.07.9%Not reported
Pine Valley Middle97324.96.4%Not reported
Gale Ranch Middle97122.79.2%Not reported
Iron Horse Middle93922.59.5%Not reported
Charlotte Wood Middle85322.95.0%Not reported
Diablo Vista Middle83523.37.9%Not reported
Stone Valley Middle58621.77.8%Not reported
Los Cerros Middle48620.04.9%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

5 high schools, 10,045 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Dougherty Valley High3,03924.87.6%Not reported
California High2,89424.88.3%Not reported
Monte Vista High2,04222.05.1%Not reported
San Ramon Valley High2,03622.75.3%Not reported
Del Amigo High (Continuation)348.841.2%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 61 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Venture (Alternative)615.68.2%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact San Ramon Valley Unified

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about San Ramon Valley Unified

  1. California districts by spending per studentSan Ramon Valley Unified ranks 465 of 646 California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,351).#465 of 646
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaSan Ramon Valley Unified is the number 25 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 29,680 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#25 of 1,991
  3. Moreno Valley UnifiedThe next larger California district: 31,653 students in fall 2022, $18,481 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,481
  4. Modesto City SchoolsThe next smaller California district: 29,628 students in fall 2022, $18,028 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,028
  5. Compare San Ramon Valley Unified with Moreno Valley UnifiedEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Dougherty Valley High, its largest high school3,039 students in 2024-25, 24.8 per teacher.3,039
  7. Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaSan Ramon Valley Unified spent $113,360 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$113,360
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about San Ramon Valley Unified

  1. How many schools and students are in San Ramon Valley Unified?
    36 schools were open in 2024-25 (22 elementary, 8 middle, 5 high, 1 other), enrolling 28,554 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does San Ramon Valley Unified spend per student?
    $15,351 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,855 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,073 per student, up 11.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does San Ramon Valley Unified's money come from?
    $551,881,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 39.9% state, 57.2% local and 2.9% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in San Ramon Valley Unified live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 780 of the 31,756 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 2.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does San Ramon Valley Unified spend on teacher salaries?
    $142,648,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,806 per student. Divided by the 1,258 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $113,360 per teacher, more than 73 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in San Ramon Valley Unified do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in San Ramon Valley Unified scored proficient or above: 79% in reading and 73% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in San Ramon Valley Unified?
    97% of the 2,674 students in San Ramon Valley Unified's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is San Ramon Valley Unified's NCES district ID?
    0635130. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25