Calcasieu Parish
Public school district · Calcasieu Parish · Louisiana · NCES district ID 2200330
Calcasieu Parish spent $17,724 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 83% of the other Louisiana districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,478). Its 56 schools enrolled 27,851 students in 2024-25; 22.8% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,252 per student, down 2.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% (Louisiana: 82.6%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Louisiana's largest districts
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. Among the 10 districts shown, Calcasieu Parish ranks 1.
Where the money came from
$601,219,000 in revenue: 22.8% state, 47.0% local and 30.2% federal. Total spending including $21,534,000 of capital outlay was $575,772,000, or $19,502 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$137,177,000 23%
- Local$282,298,000 47%
- Federal$181,744,000 30%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 84 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
29,523 students in 2022-23, 29,282 students in 2023-24, 27,851 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 29,523 | 1917.2 | 15.4 |
| 2023-24 | 29,282 | 2278.6 | 12.9 |
| 2024-25 | 27,851 | 2300.3 | 12.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$138,674,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,697 per student
Calcasieu Parish booked $138,674,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 1,917 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $72,333 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 77 in 100 Louisiana districts with a figure (state median $64,742, 167 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Louisiana teacher salary at $52,376 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $102,966,000 | 74.3% |
| Special education | $22,805,000 | 16.4% |
| Vocational | $3,633,000 | 2.6% |
| Other programs | $9,270,000 | 6.7% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,076 in 2018-19, $4,304 in 2019-20, $4,525 in 2020-21, $4,686 in 2021-22, $4,697 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Calcasieu Parish scored proficient or above: 47% in reading and 36% in math, against 42.4% in reading and 31.8% in math across Louisiana. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Louisiana, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Louisiana | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 47% | 42.4% | 13,958 |
| Math | 36% | 31.8% | 13,780 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
90% of the 2,136 students in Calcasieu Parish's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 82.6% across Louisiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Louisiana | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 90% | 82.6% |
| Students in the class | 2,136 | 50,762 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
33 elementary schools, 13,036 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moss Bluff Elementary School | 969 | 14.2 | 44.1% | Schoolwide program |
| A. A. Nelson Elementary School | 736 | 15.2 | 51.1% | Schoolwide program |
| St. John Elementary School | 670 | 12.9 | 61.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Gillis Elementary School | 650 | 12.1 | 49.2% | Schoolwide program |
| Maplewood Elementary | 640 | 12.8 | 48.4% | Schoolwide program |
| Prien Lake Elementary School | 639 | 12.9 | 36.3% | Eligible, no program |
| E. K. Key Elementary School | 546 | 11.8 | 63.0% | Schoolwide program |
| J. I. Watson Elementary School | 531 | 12.7 | 70.2% | Schoolwide program |
| Frasch Elementary School | 522 | 12.0 | 40.6% | Schoolwide program |
| Fairview Elementary School | 518 | 11.2 | 56.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Combre-Fondel Elementary School | 426 | 13.9 | 82.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Westwood Elementary School | 412 | 13.5 | 60.4% | Schoolwide program |
The other 21 elementary schools
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cypress Cove Elementary School | 399 | 11.2 | 54.4% | Schoolwide program |
| LeBleu Settlement Elementary School | 386 | 14.1 | 49.7% | Schoolwide program |
| Vinton Elementary School | 374 | 12.7 | 68.2% | Schoolwide program |
| W. T. Henning Elementary School | 369 | 11.3 | 55.3% | Schoolwide program |
| Dolby Elementary School | 360 | 11.5 | 53.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Western Heights Elementary School | 343 | 14.6 | 52.2% | Schoolwide program |
| Henry Heights Elementary School | 315 | 9.4 | 77.1% | Schoolwide program |
| M. J. Kaufman Elementary School | 308 | 10.1 | 78.9% | Schoolwide program |
| T. S. Cooley Elementary Magnet School | 300 | 18.8 | 14.0% | Not Title I |
| Vincent Settlement Elementary School | 284 | 12.2 | 37.7% | Schoolwide program |
| Richard W. Vincent Elementary School | 283 | 11.4 | 77.0% | Schoolwide program |
| College Oaks Elementary School | 278 | 10.4 | 78.8% | Schoolwide program |
| Brentwood Elementary School | 272 | 10.4 | 91.5% | Schoolwide program |
| Oak Park Elementary School | 259 | 10.3 | 81.9% | Schoolwide program |
| DeQuincy Primary School | 239 | 13.1 | 61.1% | Schoolwide program |
| DeQuincy Elementary School | 222 | 14.4 | 58.6% | Schoolwide program |
| Pearl Watson Elementary School | 219 | 11.0 | 90.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Barbe Elementary School | 179 | 11.5 | 85.5% | Schoolwide program |
| T. H. Watkins Elementary School | 165 | 10.0 | 89.1% | Schoolwide program |
| John J. Johnson II Elementary School | 131 | 10.9 | 96.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Ralph F. Wilson Elementary School | 92 | 7.4 | 93.5% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
11 middle schools, 5,274 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| S. J. Welsh Middle School | 1,011 | 11.2 | 43.1% | Eligible, no program |
| Moss Bluff Middle School | 781 | 12.7 | 34.4% | Eligible, no program |
| W. W. Lewis Middle School | 757 | 12.2 | 40.2% | Eligible, no program |
| F. K. White Middle School | 614 | 8.8 | 58.1% | Schoolwide program |
| Oak Park Middle School | 388 | 9.1 | 80.2% | Schoolwide program |
| S. P. Arnett Middle School | 374 | 13.0 | 46.3% | Eligible, no program |
| LeBlanc Middle School | 366 | 11.4 | 56.3% | Schoolwide program |
| Maplewood Middle School | 319 | 9.6 | 43.3% | Eligible, no program |
| Ray D. Molo Middle Magnet School | 265 | 8.9 | 86.8% | Schoolwide program |
| DeQuincy Middle School | 208 | 10.7 | 50.5% | Eligible, no program |
| Vinton Middle School | 191 | 9.0 | 60.7% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
9 high schools, 8,453 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sulphur High School | 1,911 | 14.0 | 38.7% | Not Title I |
| Alfred M. Barbe High School | 1,908 | 16.9 | 36.2% | Not Title I |
| Sam Houston High School | 1,141 | 14.8 | 30.0% | Not Title I |
| Iowa High School | 1,007 | 13.3 | 50.7% | Eligible, no program |
| LaGrange High School | 881 | 9.4 | 74.3% | Schoolwide program |
| Washington/Marion Magnet High School | 597 | 12.5 | 80.7% | Schoolwide program |
| Westlake High School | 487 | 9.7 | 40.2% | Eligible, no program |
| DeQuincy High School | 279 | 9.4 | 41.9% | Eligible, no program |
| Vinton High School | 242 | 9.3 | 51.7% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
3 other schools, 1,088 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bell City High School | 785 | 12.5 | 33.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Starks High School | 284 | 7.8 | 41.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Jake Drost School for Exceptional Children | 19 | 5.4 | 84.2% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 more schools on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory
These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.
Jessie D. Clifton Elementary School
School in Lake Charles; 140 students; 12.7 students per teacher.
John F. Kennedy Elementary School
School in Lake Charles; 63 students; 9.9 students per teacher.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.
Contact Calcasieu Parish
- Phone: (337) 217-4000
- Office: 3310 Broad Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Calcasieu Parish
- Louisiana districts by spending per studentCalcasieu Parish ranks 15 of 84 Louisiana districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,724).#15 of 84
- Every school district in LouisianaCalcasieu Parish is the number 6 by size of 194 Louisiana districts, with 29,523 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#6 of 194
- Lafayette ParishThe next larger Louisiana district: 32,377 students in fall 2022, $12,386 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,386
- Livingston ParishThe next smaller Louisiana district: 27,731 students in fall 2022, $12,047 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,047
- Compare Calcasieu Parish with Lafayette ParishEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Sulphur High School, its largest high school1,911 students in 2024-25, 14.0 per teacher.1,911
- Teacher salary spending across LouisianaCalcasieu Parish spent $72,333 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $64,742); spending, not a salary.$72,333
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Calcasieu Parish
How many schools and students are in Calcasieu Parish?
56 schools were open in 2024-25 (33 elementary, 11 middle, 9 high, 3 other), enrolling 27,851 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Calcasieu Parish spend per student?
$17,724 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Louisiana median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,478 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,252 per student, down 2.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Calcasieu Parish's money come from?
$601,219,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 22.8% state, 47.0% local and 30.2% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Calcasieu Parish live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 7,261 of the 37,891 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 19.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Calcasieu Parish spend on teacher salaries?
$138,674,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,697 per student. Divided by the 1,917 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $72,333 per teacher, more than 77 in 100 Louisiana districts (state median $64,742). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Louisiana teacher salary at $52,376 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Calcasieu Parish do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Calcasieu Parish scored proficient or above: 47% in reading and 36% in math, against 42.4% in reading and 31.8% in math across Louisiana. Louisiana's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Calcasieu Parish?
90% of the 2,136 students in Calcasieu Parish's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 82.6% across Louisiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Calcasieu Parish's NCES district ID?
2200330. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25