Bourbonnais 53 District

Listed by NCES as Bourbonnais SD 53 (district ID 1706750)

Public school district · Kankakee County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1706750

Bourbonnais 53 District spent $15,559 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 72% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,127). Its 5 schools enrolled 2,276 students in 2024-25; 40.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,591 per student, up 0.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Bourbonnais 53 District in enrollment (2,262 to 2,337 students) and Bourbonnais 53 District itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Bourbonnais 53 District, FY23CCSD 146 $22,070; Dolton SD 149 $20,881; Berkeley SD 87 $19,832; Ridgeland SD 122 $17,422; Cary School District 26 $15,892; Bourbonnais 53 District $15,559; Effingham CUSD 40 $15,130; Bethalto CUSD 8 $14,496; Taylorville CUSD 3 $13,700; Richland County CUSD 1 $13,170; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25kCCSD 146$22,070Dolton SD 149$20,881Berkeley SD 87$19,832Ridgeland SD 122$17,422Cary School District 26$15,892Bourbonnais 53 District$15,559Effingham CUSD 40$15,130Bethalto CUSD 8$14,496Taylorville CUSD 3$13,700Richland County CUSD 1$13,170State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Bourbonnais 53 District, FY23CCSD 146 $22,070; Dolton SD 149 $20,881; Berkeley SD 87 $19,832; Ridgeland SD 122 $17,422; Cary School District 26 $15,892; Bourbonnais 53 District $15,559; Effingham CUSD 40 $15,130; Bethalto CUSD 8 $14,496; Taylorville CUSD 3 $13,700; Richland County CUSD 1 $13,170; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25kCCSD 146$22,070Dolton SD 149$20,881Berkeley SD 87$19,832Ridgeland SD 122$17,422Cary School District 26$15,892Bourbonnais 53 District$15,559Effingham CUSD 40$15,130Bethalto CUSD 8$14,496Taylorville CUSD 3$13,700Richland County CUSD 1$13,170State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Bourbonnais 53 District, FY23CCSD 146 $22,070; Dolton SD 149 $20,881; Berkeley SD 87 $19,832; Ridgeland SD 122 $17,422; Cary School District 26 $15,892; Bourbonnais 53 District $15,559; Effingham CUSD 40 $15,130; Bethalto CUSD 8 $14,496; Taylorville CUSD 3 $13,700; Richland County CUSD 1 $13,170; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25kCCSD 146$22,070Dolton SD 149$20,881Berkeley SD 87$19,832Ridgeland SD 122$17,422Cary School District 26$15,892Bourbonnais 53 District$15,559Effingham CUSD 40$15,130Bethalto CUSD 8$14,496Taylorville CUSD 3$13,700Richland County CUSD 1$13,170State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Bourbonnais 53 District, FY23CCSD 146 $22,070; Dolton SD 149 $20,881; Berkeley SD 87 $19,832; Ridgeland SD 122 $17,422; Cary School District 26 $15,892; Bourbonnais 53 District $15,559; Effingham CUSD 40 $15,130; Bethalto CUSD 8 $14,496; Taylorville CUSD 3 $13,700; Richland County CUSD 1 $13,170; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25kCCSD 146$22,070Dolton SD 149$20,881Berkeley SD 87$19,832Ridgeland SD 122$17,422Cary School District 26$15,892Bourbonnais 53 District$15,559Effingham CUSD 40$15,130Bethalto CUSD 8$14,496Taylorville CUSD 3$13,700Richland County CUSD 1$13,170State median, 1,000+ students $18,127

Where the money came from

$42,963,000 in revenue: 40.6% state, 43.6% local and 15.7% federal. Total spending including $942,000 of capital outlay was $38,211,000, or $16,642 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Bourbonnais 53 District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $17,449,000; Local $18,751,000; Federal $6,763,000; total $42,963,000.
  • State$17,449,000 41%
  • Local$18,751,000 44%
  • Federal$6,763,000 16%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,296 students in 2022-23, 2,337 students in 2023-24, 2,276 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Bourbonnais 53 District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,296, 2023-24: 2,337, 2024-25: 2,27601k2k3k2022-232,2962023-242,3372024-252,276
Bourbonnais 53 District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,296, 2023-24: 2,337, 2024-25: 2,27601k2k3k2022-232,2962023-242,3372024-252,276
Bourbonnais 53 District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,296, 2023-24: 2,337, 2024-25: 2,27601k2k3k2022-232,2962023-242,3372024-252,276
Bourbonnais 53 District enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,296, 2023-24: 2,337, 2024-25: 2,27601k2k3k2022-232,2962023-242,3372024-252,276

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,296164.514.0
2023-242,337163.014.3
2024-252,276162.614.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Bourbonnais 53 District scored proficient or above: 30% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts30%29.9%1,454

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

3 elementary schools, 1,078 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Alan B Shepard Elementary School48315.6not reportedSchoolwide program
Noel Levasseur Elementary School30513.9not reportedSchoolwide program
Shabbona Elementary School29014.5not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 1,198 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Liberty Intermediate School71413.0not reportedEligible, no program
Bourbonnais Upper Grade Center48414.0not reportedEligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Bourbonnais 53 District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Bourbonnais 53 District

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentBourbonnais 53 District ranks 270 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,559).#270 of 377
  2. Every school district in IllinoisBourbonnais 53 District is the number 181 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 2,296 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#181 of 865
  3. CCSD 146The next larger Illinois district: 2,300 students in fall 2022, $22,070 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$22,070
  4. Dolton SD 149The next smaller Illinois district: 2,292 students in fall 2022, $20,881 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,881
  5. Compare Bourbonnais 53 District with CCSD 146Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Bourbonnais 53 District

  1. How many schools and students are in Bourbonnais 53 District?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 2 middle), enrolling 2,276 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Bourbonnais 53 District spend per student?
    $15,559 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,591 per student, up 0.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Bourbonnais 53 District's money come from?
    $42,963,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 40.6% state, 43.6% local and 15.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Bourbonnais 53 District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 339 of the 2,735 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 12.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Bourbonnais 53 District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Bourbonnais 53 District scored proficient or above: 30% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is Bourbonnais 53 District's NCES district ID?
    1706750. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25