South Sutter Charter District
Public school district · Sutter County · California · NCES district ID 0601740
South Sutter Charter District spent $13,073 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 93% of the other California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $16,855). Its one school enrolled 2,653 students in 2024-25; 78.8% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 85-89% (California: 86.2%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among California districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to South Sutter Charter District in enrollment (2,262 to 2,332 students) and South Sutter Charter District itself.
Where the money came from
$33,375,000 in revenue: 78.8% state, 17.3% local and 3.9% federal. Total spending including $587,000 of capital outlay was $30,639,000, or $13,350 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$26,313,000 79%
- Local$5,771,000 17%
- Federal$1,291,000 4%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 646 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
2,295 students in 2022-23, 2,485 students in 2023-24, 2,653 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 2,295 | 99.7 | 23.0 |
| 2023-24 | 2,485 | 106.7 | 23.3 |
| 2024-25 | 2,653 | 111.7 | 23.8 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in South Sutter Charter District scored proficient or above: 47-51% in reading and 28-32% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | California | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 47-51% | 45% | 1,108 |
| Math | 28-32% | 34% | 1,106 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
85-89% of the 170 students in South Sutter Charter District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | California | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 85‑89% | 86.2% |
| Students in the class | 170 | 495,492 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 other school, 2,653 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Sutter Charter | 2,653 | 23.8 | 33.1% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact South Sutter Charter District
- Website: southsuttercs.org
- Phone: (800) 979-4436
- Office: 2044 Nicolaus Ave., East Nicolaus, CA 95659
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about South Sutter Charter District
- California districts by spending per studentSouth Sutter Charter District ranks 598 of 646 California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,073).#598 of 646
- Every school district in CaliforniaSouth Sutter Charter District is the number 451 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 2,295 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#451 of 1,991
- Cucamonga School DistrictThe next larger California district: 2,299 students in fall 2022, $20,970 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,970
- Dos Palos Oro Loma Joint UnifiedThe next smaller California district: 2,283 students in fall 2022, $18,599 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,599
- Compare South Sutter Charter District with Cucamonga School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about South Sutter Charter District
How many schools and students are in South Sutter Charter District?
One school was open in 2024-25 (1 other), enrolling 2,653 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does South Sutter Charter District spend per student?
$13,073 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,855 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.Where does South Sutter Charter District's money come from?
$33,375,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 78.8% state, 17.3% local and 3.9% federal (NCES F-33).How do students in South Sutter Charter District do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in South Sutter Charter District scored proficient or above: 47-51% in reading and 28-32% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in South Sutter Charter District?
85-89% of the 170 students in South Sutter Charter District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is South Sutter Charter District's NCES district ID?
0601740. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25