Val Verde Unified

Public school district · Riverside County · California · NCES district ID 0691135

Val Verde Unified spent $18,152 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 66% of the other California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $16,855). Its 21 schools enrolled 19,038 students in 2024-25; 70.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,692 per student, up 14.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 93% (California: 86.2%).

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Val Verde Unified in enrollment (18,354 to 20,151 students) and Val Verde Unified itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Val Verde Unified, FY23Ontario-Montclair $21,832; Jurupa Unified $19,991; Colton Joint Unified $18,922; Madera Unified $18,553; Val Verde Unified $18,152; Redlands Unified $17,755; Vista Unified $17,624; ABC Unified $17,187; Panama-Buena Vista Union $15,641; San Marcos Unified $14,622; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kOntario-Montclair$21,832Jurupa Unified$19,991Colton Joint Unified$18,922Madera Unified$18,553Val Verde Unified$18,152Redlands Unified$17,755Vista Unified$17,624ABC Unified$17,187Panama-Buena Vista Union$15,641San Marcos Unified$14,622State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Val Verde Unified, FY23Ontario-Montclair $21,832; Jurupa Unified $19,991; Colton Joint Unified $18,922; Madera Unified $18,553; Val Verde Unified $18,152; Redlands Unified $17,755; Vista Unified $17,624; ABC Unified $17,187; Panama-Buena Vista Union $15,641; San Marcos Unified $14,622; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kOntario-Montclair$21,832Jurupa Unified$19,991Colton Joint Unified$18,922Madera Unified$18,553Val Verde Unified$18,152Redlands Unified$17,755Vista Unified$17,624ABC Unified$17,187Panama-Buena Vista Union$15,641San Marcos Unified$14,622State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Val Verde Unified, FY23Ontario-Montclair $21,832; Jurupa Unified $19,991; Colton Joint Unified $18,922; Madera Unified $18,553; Val Verde Unified $18,152; Redlands Unified $17,755; Vista Unified $17,624; ABC Unified $17,187; Panama-Buena Vista Union $15,641; San Marcos Unified $14,622; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.12.5k17.5k22.5kOntario-Montclair$21,832Jurupa Unified$19,991Colton Joint Unified$18,922Madera Unified$18,553Val Verde Unified$18,152Redlands Unified$17,755Vista Unified$17,624ABC Unified$17,187Panama-Buena Vista Union$15,641San Marcos Unified$14,622State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Val Verde Unified, FY23Ontario-Montclair $21,832; Jurupa Unified $19,991; Colton Joint Unified $18,922; Madera Unified $18,553; Val Verde Unified $18,152; Redlands Unified $17,755; Vista Unified $17,624; ABC Unified $17,187; Panama-Buena Vista Union $15,641; San Marcos Unified $14,622; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.12.5k17.5k22.5kOntario-Montclair$21,832Jurupa Unified$19,991Colton Joint Unified$18,922Madera Unified$18,553Val Verde Unified$18,152Redlands Unified$17,755Vista Unified$17,624ABC Unified$17,187Panama-Buena Vista Union$15,641San Marcos Unified$14,622State median, 1,000+ students $16,855

Where the money came from

$751,163,000 in revenue: 70.9% state, 16.5% local and 12.6% federal. Total spending including $124,066,000 of capital outlay was $797,539,000, or $41,155 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Val Verde Unified revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $532,455,000; Local $124,239,000; Federal $94,469,000; total $751,163,000.
  • State$532,455,000 71%
  • Local$124,239,000 17%
  • Federal$94,469,000 13%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 646 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

19,367 students in 2022-23, 19,327 students in 2023-24, 19,038 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Val Verde Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 19,367, 2023-24: 19,327, 2024-25: 19,03805k10k15k20k2022-2319,3672023-2419,3272024-2519,038
Val Verde Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 19,367, 2023-24: 19,327, 2024-25: 19,03805k10k15k20k2022-2319,3672023-2419,3272024-2519,038
Val Verde Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 19,367, 2023-24: 19,327, 2024-25: 19,03805k10k15k20k2022-2319,3672023-2419,3272024-2519,038
Val Verde Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 19,367, 2023-24: 19,327, 2024-25: 19,03805k10k15k20k2022-2319,3672023-2419,3272024-2519,038

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2319,367874.222.2
2023-2419,327892.221.7
2024-2519,038871.721.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$108,742,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,611 per student

Val Verde Unified booked $108,742,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 874 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $124,386 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 87 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$88,261,00081.2%
Special education$13,690,00012.6%
Vocational$3,111,0002.9%
Other programs$3,680,0003.4%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,092 in 2018-19, $4,172 in 2019-20, $4,834 in 2020-21, $4,985 in 2021-22, $5,611 in 2022-23.

Val Verde Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,092, 2019-20: $4,172, 2020-21: $4,834, 2021-22: $4,985, 2022-23: $5,61102k4k6k2018-19$4,0922019-20$4,1722020-21$4,8342021-22$4,9852022-23$5,611
Val Verde Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,092, 2019-20: $4,172, 2020-21: $4,834, 2021-22: $4,985, 2022-23: $5,61102k4k6k2018-19$4,0922019-20$4,1722020-21$4,8342021-22$4,9852022-23$5,611
Val Verde Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,092, 2019-20: $4,172, 2020-21: $4,834, 2021-22: $4,985, 2022-23: $5,61102k4k6k2018-19$4,0922019-20$4,1722020-21$4,8342021-22$4,9852022-23$5,611
Val Verde Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,092, 2019-20: $4,172, 2020-21: $4,834, 2021-22: $4,985, 2022-23: $5,61102k4k6k2018-19$4,0922019-20$4,1722020-21$4,8342021-22$4,9852022-23$5,611

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Val Verde Unified scored proficient or above: 35% in reading and 18% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts35%45%8,470
Math18%34%8,481

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

93% of the 1,686 students in Val Verde Unified's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtCalifornia
Four-year graduation rate93%86.2%
Students in the class1,686495,492

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

12 elementary schools, 8,809 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Triple Crown Elementary97127.469.0%Not reported
Sierra Vista Elementary86723.672.4%Not reported
May Ranch Elementary84825.369.0%Not reported
Lasselle Elementary81222.666.4%Not reported
Mead Valley Elementary78823.680.8%Not reported
Rainbow Ridge Elementary72321.073.9%Not reported
Columbia Elementary70424.787.6%Not reported
Val Verde Elementary69319.876.3%Not reported
Mary McLeod Bethune Elementary63919.773.6%Not reported
Victoriano Elementary60823.964.5%Not reported
Manuel L. Real Elementary59321.682.6%Not reported
Avalon Elementary56324.064.3%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

4 middle schools, 3,676 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lakeside Middle1,07622.367.9%Not reported
Tomas Rivera Middle1,01422.884.5%Not reported
Vista Verde Middle90022.965.1%Not reported
March Middle68618.070.1%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

4 high schools, 6,402 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Orange Vista High2,39622.266.4%Not reported
Rancho Verde High2,10122.263.1%Not reported
Citrus Hill High1,63020.076.1%Not reported
Val Verde High27510.980.7%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 151 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Val Verde Academy15113.965.6%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Val Verde Unified

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Val Verde Unified

  1. California districts by spending per studentVal Verde Unified ranks 222 of 646 California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($18,152).#222 of 646
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaVal Verde Unified is the number 64 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 19,379 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#64 of 1,991
  3. San Marcos UnifiedThe next larger California district: 19,532 students in fall 2022, $14,622 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,622
  4. Colton Joint UnifiedThe next smaller California district: 19,297 students in fall 2022, $18,922 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,922
  5. Compare Val Verde Unified with San Marcos UnifiedEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Orange Vista High, its largest high school2,396 students in 2024-25, 22.2 per teacher.2,396
  7. Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaVal Verde Unified spent $124,386 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$124,386
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Val Verde Unified

  1. How many schools and students are in Val Verde Unified?
    21 schools were open in 2024-25 (12 elementary, 4 middle, 4 high, 1 other), enrolling 19,038 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Val Verde Unified spend per student?
    $18,152 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,855 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,692 per student, up 14.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Val Verde Unified's money come from?
    $751,163,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 70.9% state, 16.5% local and 12.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Val Verde Unified live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 2,462 of the 19,538 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 12.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Val Verde Unified spend on teacher salaries?
    $108,742,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,611 per student. Divided by the 874 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $124,386 per teacher, more than 87 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Val Verde Unified do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Val Verde Unified scored proficient or above: 35% in reading and 18% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Val Verde Unified?
    93% of the 1,686 students in Val Verde Unified's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Val Verde Unified's NCES district ID?
    0691135. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25