Millard Public Schools

Public school district · Douglas County · Nebraska · NCES district ID 3173740

Millard Public Schools spent $11,579 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 93% of the other Nebraska districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $13,425). Its 34 schools enrolled 23,253 students in 2024-25; 31.8% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,459 per student, up 7.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 92% (Nebraska: 87.3%).

Spending per student among Nebraska's largest districts

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. Among the 10 districts shown, Millard Public Schools ranks 8.

Current spending per student, largest Nebraska districts, FY23Omaha Public Schools $16,585; Westside Community Schools $15,352; Bellevue Public Schools $13,985; Lincoln Public Schools $13,573; Grand Island Public Schools $13,267; Papillion La Vista Community Schools $12,422; Gretna Public Schools $11,616; Millard Public Schools $11,579; Kearney Public Schools $11,473; Elkhorn Public Schools $11,437; State median, 1,000+ students $13,425.10k12k14k16k18kOmaha Public Schools$16,585Westside Community Schools$15,352Bellevue Public Schools$13,985Lincoln Public Schools$13,573Grand Island Public Schools$13,267Papillion La Vista Community S…$12,422Gretna Public Schools$11,616Millard Public Schools$11,579Kearney Public Schools$11,473Elkhorn Public Schools$11,437State median, 1,000+ students $13,425
Current spending per student, largest Nebraska districts, FY23Omaha Public Schools $16,585; Westside Community Schools $15,352; Bellevue Public Schools $13,985; Lincoln Public Schools $13,573; Grand Island Public Schools $13,267; Papillion La Vista Community Schools $12,422; Gretna Public Schools $11,616; Millard Public Schools $11,579; Kearney Public Schools $11,473; Elkhorn Public Schools $11,437; State median, 1,000+ students $13,425.10k12k14k16k18kOmaha Public Schools$16,585Westside Community Schools$15,352Bellevue Public Schools$13,985Lincoln Public Schools$13,573Grand Island Public Schools$13,267Papillion La Vista Community Schools$12,422Gretna Public Schools$11,616Millard Public Schools$11,579Kearney Public Schools$11,473Elkhorn Public Schools$11,437State median, 1,000+ students $13,425
Current spending per student, largest Nebraska districts, FY23Omaha Public Schools $16,585; Westside Community Schools $15,352; Bellevue Public Schools $13,985; Lincoln Public Schools $13,573; Grand Island Public Schools $13,267; Papillion La Vista Community Schools $12,422; Gretna Public Schools $11,616; Millard Public Schools $11,579; Kearney Public Schools $11,473; Elkhorn Public Schools $11,437; State median, 1,000+ students $13,425.10k14k18kOmaha Public Schools$16,585Westside Community Schools$15,352Bellevue Public Schools$13,985Lincoln Public Schools$13,573Grand Island Public Schools$13,267Papillion La Vista Community Schools$12,422Gretna Public Schools$11,616Millard Public Schools$11,579Kearney Public Schools$11,473Elkhorn Public Schools$11,437State median, 1,000+ students $13,425
Current spending per student, largest Nebraska districts, FY23Omaha Public Schools $16,585; Westside Community Schools $15,352; Bellevue Public Schools $13,985; Lincoln Public Schools $13,573; Grand Island Public Schools $13,267; Papillion La Vista Community Schools $12,422; Gretna Public Schools $11,616; Millard Public Schools $11,579; Kearney Public Schools $11,473; Elkhorn Public Schools $11,437; State median, 1,000+ students $13,425.10k14k18kOmaha Public Schools$16,585Westside Community Schools$15,352Bellevue Public Schools$13,985Lincoln Public Schools$13,573Grand Island Public Schools$13,267Papillion La Vista Community Schools$12,422Gretna Public Schools$11,616Millard Public Schools$11,579Kearney Public Schools$11,473Elkhorn Public Schools$11,437State median, 1,000+ students $13,425

Where the money came from

$326,601,000 in revenue: 31.8% state, 60.4% local and 7.8% federal. Total spending including $40,234,000 of capital outlay was $318,797,000, or $13,487 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Millard Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $103,853,000; Local $197,386,000; Federal $25,362,000; total $326,601,000.
  • State$103,853,000 32%
  • Local$197,386,000 60%
  • Federal$25,362,000 8%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 43 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

23,637 students in 2022-23, 23,300 students in 2023-24, 23,253 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Millard Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 23,637, 2023-24: 23,300, 2024-25: 23,253010k20k30k2022-2323,6372023-2423,3002024-2523,253
Millard Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 23,637, 2023-24: 23,300, 2024-25: 23,253010k20k30k2022-2323,6372023-2423,3002024-2523,253
Millard Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 23,637, 2023-24: 23,300, 2024-25: 23,253010k20k30k2022-2323,6372023-2423,3002024-2523,253
Millard Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 23,637, 2023-24: 23,300, 2024-25: 23,253010k20k30k2022-2323,6372023-2423,3002024-2523,253

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2323,6371484.815.9
2023-2423,3001491.415.6
2024-2523,2531490.015.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$99,509,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,210 per student

Millard Public Schools booked $99,509,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 1,510 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $65,886 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 77 in 100 Nebraska districts with a figure (state median $61,845, 215 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Nebraska teacher salary at $57,420 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$75,685,00076.1%
Special education$13,132,00013.2%
Vocational$2,0000.0%
Other programs$10,690,00010.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,634 in 2018-19, $3,703 in 2019-20, $3,985 in 2020-21, $4,012 in 2021-22, $4,210 in 2022-23.

Millard Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,634, 2019-20: $3,703, 2020-21: $3,985, 2021-22: $4,012, 2022-23: $4,21002k4k6k2018-19$3,6342019-20$3,7032020-21$3,9852021-22$4,0122022-23$4,210
Millard Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,634, 2019-20: $3,703, 2020-21: $3,985, 2021-22: $4,012, 2022-23: $4,21002k4k6k2018-19$3,6342019-20$3,7032020-21$3,9852021-22$4,0122022-23$4,210
Millard Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,634, 2019-20: $3,703, 2020-21: $3,985, 2021-22: $4,012, 2022-23: $4,21002k4k6k2018-19$3,6342019-20$3,7032020-21$3,9852021-22$4,0122022-23$4,210
Millard Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,634, 2019-20: $3,703, 2020-21: $3,985, 2021-22: $4,012, 2022-23: $4,21002k4k6k2018-19$3,6342019-20$3,7032020-21$3,9852021-22$4,0122022-23$4,210

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Millard Public Schools scored proficient or above: 61% in reading and 61% in math, against 47.1% in reading and 46% in math across Nebraska. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Nebraska, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNebraskaStudents tested
Reading and language arts61%47.1%12,282
Math61%46%12,278

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

92% of the 1,791 students in Millard Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Nebraska. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNebraska
Four-year graduation rate92%87.3%
Students in the class1,79124,336

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

25 elementary schools, 10,544 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Montclair Elementary School64117.622.8%Not Title I
Wheeler Elementary School63316.514.2%Not Title I
Black Elk Elementary School60518.419.2%Not Title I
Reeder Elementary School50417.115.3%Not Title I
Reagan Elementary49817.212.2%Not Title I
Neihardt Elementary School48915.526.4%Not Title I
Ezra Millard Elementary School48516.525.6%Not Title I
Willowdale Elementary School46916.610.2%Not Title I
Aldrich Elementary46217.45.2%Not Title I
Grace Abbott Elementary School45417.612.6%Not Title I
Ackerman Elementary School45315.119.2%Not Title I
Rohwer Elementary School45015.313.1%Not Title I
The other 13 elementary schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Norris Elementary School42114.136.3%Targeted program
Upchurch Elementary40213.913.2%Not Title I
J Sterling Morton Elementary School39214.124.5%Not Title I
Walt Disney Elementary School37212.033.1%Targeted program
Bryan Elementary School35910.935.4%Schoolwide program
Holling Heights Elementary School34010.049.1%Schoolwide program
Harvey Oaks Elementary School34018.011.2%Not Title I
Sandoz Elementary School33611.535.4%Schoolwide program
Norman Rockwell Elementary School31012.133.2%Schoolwide program
Cody Elementary School30712.336.8%Schoolwide program
Cottonwood Elementary School30311.323.4%Not Title I
Willa Cather Elementary School28613.119.2%Not Title I
Hitchcock Elementary School23314.120.2%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

6 middle schools, 5,267 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Beadle Middle School1,01116.812.3%Not Title I
Kiewit Middle School96716.816.8%Not Title I
Harry Andersen Middle School89815.627.3%Not Title I
Millard North Middle School82015.219.6%Not Title I
Millard Central Middle School81113.138.2%Not Title I
Russell Middle School76016.312.4%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 high schools, 7,442 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Millard North High School2,57217.315.3%Not Title I
Millard South High School2,52616.523.9%Not Title I
Millard West High School2,34417.313.2%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Millard Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Millard Public Schools

  1. Nebraska districts by spending per studentMillard Public Schools ranks 40 of 43 Nebraska districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,579).#40 of 43
  2. Every school district in NebraskaMillard Public Schools is the number 3 by size of 251 Nebraska districts, with 23,637 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#3 of 251
  3. Lincoln Public SchoolsThe next larger Nebraska district: 41,850 students in fall 2022, $13,573 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,573
  4. Papillion La Vista Community SchoolsThe next smaller Nebraska district: 12,031 students in fall 2022, $12,422 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,422
  5. Compare Millard Public Schools with Lincoln Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Millard North High School, its largest high school2,572 students in 2024-25, 17.3 per teacher.2,572
  7. Teacher salary spending across NebraskaMillard Public Schools spent $65,886 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $61,845); spending, not a salary.$65,886
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Millard Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Millard Public Schools?
    34 schools were open in 2024-25 (25 elementary, 6 middle, 3 high), enrolling 23,253 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Millard Public Schools spend per student?
    $11,579 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Nebraska median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,425 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,459 per student, up 7.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Millard Public Schools' money come from?
    $326,601,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 31.8% state, 60.4% local and 7.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Millard Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 1,297 of the 25,782 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 5.0%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Millard Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $99,509,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,210 per student. Divided by the 1,510 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $65,886 per teacher, more than 77 in 100 Nebraska districts (state median $61,845). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Nebraska teacher salary at $57,420 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Millard Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Millard Public Schools scored proficient or above: 61% in reading and 61% in math, against 47.1% in reading and 46% in math across Nebraska. Nebraska's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Millard Public Schools?
    92% of the 1,791 students in Millard Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Nebraska. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Millard Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    3173740. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25