Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School
Listed by NCES as Heritage Academy (district ID 4800080)
Public school district · Bexar County · Texas · NCES district ID 4800080
Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School spent $13,948 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 67% of the other Texas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $15,156). Its 5 schools enrolled 589 students in 2024-25; 82.9% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Texas: 90.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School in enrollment (537 to 547 students) and Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School itself.
Where the money came from
$7,694,000 in revenue: 82.9% state, 1.0% local and 16.1% federal. Total spending was $7,566,000, or $13,959 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.
- State$6,377,000 83%
- Local$78,000 1%
- Federal$1,239,000 16%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 629 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
542 students in 2022-23, 574 students in 2023-24, 589 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 542 | 46.8 | 11.6 |
| 2023-24 | 574 | 46.3 | 12.4 |
| 2024-25 | 589 | 45.0 | 13.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School scored proficient or above: 41-47% in reading and 30-37% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | Texas | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 41-47% | 52% | 343 |
| Math | 30-37% | 42% | 342 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
90% or more of the 33 students in Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Texas | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 90% or more | 90.3% |
| Students in the class | 33 | 403,301 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 98 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heritage Academy of Windcrest | 98 | 9.5 | 92.9% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
3 middle schools, 300 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heritage Academy of Del Rio Middle | 254 | 16.5 | 75.2% | Schoolwide program |
| Heritage Academy | 33 | 8.3 | 90.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Heritage Academy of San Antonio | 13 | 7.7 | 92.3% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 191 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Heritage Academy of Del Rio | 191 | 14.0 | 79.6% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School
- Website: heritageacademy.net
- Phone: (210) 659-0329
- Office: 6013 Fountainwood Dr, San Antonio, TX 78233
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School
- Texas districts by spending per studentHeritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School ranks 424 of 629 Texas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,948).#424 of 629
- Every school district in TexasHeritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School is the number 778 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 542 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#778 of 1,212
- Dawson ISDThe next larger Texas district: 546 students in fall 2022, $15,302 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,302
- Haskell CISDThe next smaller Texas district: 539 students in fall 2022, $15,770 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,770
- Compare Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School with Dawson ISDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Heritage Academy of Del Rio, its largest high school191 students in 2024-25, 14.0 per teacher.191
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School
How many schools and students are in Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School?
5 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 3 middle, 1 high), enrolling 589 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School spend per student?
$13,948 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,156 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.Where does Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School's money come from?
$7,694,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 82.9% state, 1.0% local and 16.1% federal (NCES F-33).How do students in Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School scored proficient or above: 41-47% in reading and 30-37% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School?
90% or more of the 33 students in Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Heritage Academy - A Tuition-Free School's NCES district ID?
4800080. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25