Pulaski County Public Schools

Public school district · Pulaski County · Virginia · NCES district ID 5103150

Pulaski County Public Schools spent $13,947 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 76% of the other Virginia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $14,972). Its 7 schools enrolled 3,864 students in 2024-25; 55.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,071 per student, up 0.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 94% (Virginia: 88.8%).

Spending per student among Virginia districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Pulaski County Public Schools in enrollment (3,750 to 4,241 students) and Pulaski County Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Pulaski County Public Schools, FY23Fredericksburg City Public Schools $17,150; Hopewell City Public Schools $16,800; Smyth County Public Schools $15,196; Mecklenburg County Public Schools $15,069; Salem City Public Schools $14,892; Amherst County Public Schools $14,301; Pulaski County Public Schools $13,947; Wythe County Public Schools $13,467; Powhatan County Public Schools $13,138; Scott County Public Schools $12,841; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.10k12k14k16k18kFredericksburg City Public Sch…$17,150Hopewell City Public Schools$16,800Smyth County Public Schools$15,196Mecklenburg County Public Scho…$15,069Salem City Public Schools$14,892Amherst County Public Schools$14,301Pulaski County Public Schools$13,947Wythe County Public Schools$13,467Powhatan County Public Schools$13,138Scott County Public Schools$12,841State median, 1,000+ students $14,972
Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Pulaski County Public Schools, FY23Fredericksburg City Public Schools $17,150; Hopewell City Public Schools $16,800; Smyth County Public Schools $15,196; Mecklenburg County Public Schools $15,069; Salem City Public Schools $14,892; Amherst County Public Schools $14,301; Pulaski County Public Schools $13,947; Wythe County Public Schools $13,467; Powhatan County Public Schools $13,138; Scott County Public Schools $12,841; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.10k12k14k16k18kFredericksburg City Public Schools$17,150Hopewell City Public Schools$16,800Smyth County Public Schools$15,196Mecklenburg County Public Schools$15,069Salem City Public Schools$14,892Amherst County Public Schools$14,301Pulaski County Public Schools$13,947Wythe County Public Schools$13,467Powhatan County Public Schools$13,138Scott County Public Schools$12,841State median, 1,000+ students $14,972
Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Pulaski County Public Schools, FY23Fredericksburg City Public Schools $17,150; Hopewell City Public Schools $16,800; Smyth County Public Schools $15,196; Mecklenburg County Public Schools $15,069; Salem City Public Schools $14,892; Amherst County Public Schools $14,301; Pulaski County Public Schools $13,947; Wythe County Public Schools $13,467; Powhatan County Public Schools $13,138; Scott County Public Schools $12,841; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.10k14k18kFredericksburg City Public Schools$17,150Hopewell City Public Schools$16,800Smyth County Public Schools$15,196Mecklenburg County Public Schools$15,069Salem City Public Schools$14,892Amherst County Public Schools$14,301Pulaski County Public Schools$13,947Wythe County Public Schools$13,467Powhatan County Public Schools$13,138Scott County Public Schools$12,841State median, 1,000+ students $14,972
Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Pulaski County Public Schools, FY23Fredericksburg City Public Schools $17,150; Hopewell City Public Schools $16,800; Smyth County Public Schools $15,196; Mecklenburg County Public Schools $15,069; Salem City Public Schools $14,892; Amherst County Public Schools $14,301; Pulaski County Public Schools $13,947; Wythe County Public Schools $13,467; Powhatan County Public Schools $13,138; Scott County Public Schools $12,841; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.10k14k18kFredericksburg City Public Schools$17,150Hopewell City Public Schools$16,800Smyth County Public Schools$15,196Mecklenburg County Public Schools$15,069Salem City Public Schools$14,892Amherst County Public Schools$14,301Pulaski County Public Schools$13,947Wythe County Public Schools$13,467Powhatan County Public Schools$13,138Scott County Public Schools$12,841State median, 1,000+ students $14,972

Where the money came from

$65,198,000 in revenue: 55.5% state, 27.1% local and 17.4% federal. Total spending including $6,921,000 of capital outlay was $65,880,000, or $16,520 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Pulaski County Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $36,190,000; Local $17,686,000; Federal $11,322,000; total $65,198,000.
  • State$36,190,000 56%
  • Local$17,686,000 27%
  • Federal$11,322,000 17%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 116 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

3,988 students in 2022-23, 3,878 students in 2023-24, 3,864 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Pulaski County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,988, 2023-24: 3,878, 2024-25: 3,86401k2k3k4k2022-233,9882023-243,8782024-253,864
Pulaski County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,988, 2023-24: 3,878, 2024-25: 3,86401k2k3k4k2022-233,9882023-243,8782024-253,864
Pulaski County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,988, 2023-24: 3,878, 2024-25: 3,86401k2k3k4k2022-233,9882023-243,8782024-253,864
Pulaski County Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,988, 2023-24: 3,878, 2024-25: 3,86401k2k3k4k2022-233,9882023-243,8782024-253,864

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-233,988311.012.8
2023-243,878301.412.9
2024-253,864316.012.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$18,191,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,561 per student

Pulaski County Public Schools booked $18,191,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 310 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $58,728 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 30 in 100 Virginia districts with a figure (state median $61,899, 129 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Virginia teacher salary at $59,965 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$13,364,00073.5%
Special education$3,177,00017.5%
Vocational$1,351,0007.4%
Other programs$299,0001.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,989 in 2018-19, $3,882 in 2019-20, $3,905 in 2020-21, $4,256 in 2021-22, $4,561 in 2022-23.

Pulaski County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,989, 2019-20: $3,882, 2020-21: $3,905, 2021-22: $4,256, 2022-23: $4,56102k4k6k2018-19$3,9892019-20$3,8822020-21$3,9052021-22$4,2562022-23$4,561
Pulaski County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,989, 2019-20: $3,882, 2020-21: $3,905, 2021-22: $4,256, 2022-23: $4,56102k4k6k2018-19$3,9892019-20$3,8822020-21$3,9052021-22$4,2562022-23$4,561
Pulaski County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,989, 2019-20: $3,882, 2020-21: $3,905, 2021-22: $4,256, 2022-23: $4,56102k4k6k2018-19$3,9892019-20$3,8822020-21$3,9052021-22$4,2562022-23$4,561
Pulaski County Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,989, 2019-20: $3,882, 2020-21: $3,905, 2021-22: $4,256, 2022-23: $4,56102k4k6k2018-19$3,9892019-20$3,8822020-21$3,9052021-22$4,2562022-23$4,561

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

Graduation rate, class of 2023

94% of the 316 students in Pulaski County Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.8% across Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtVirginia
Four-year graduation rate94%88.8%
Students in the class31699,059

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

5 elementary schools, 1,880 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Pulaski Elementary47212.191.7%Schoolwide program
Critzer Elementary41611.691.3%Schoolwide program
Dublin Elementary41113.079.1%Schoolwide program
Riverlawn Elementary38012.491.6%Schoolwide program
Snowville Elementary20112.192.0%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 825 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Pulaski County Middle82512.591.4%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 1,159 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Pulaski County Senior High1,15912.191.0%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Pulaski County Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Pulaski County Public Schools

  1. Virginia districts by spending per studentPulaski County Public Schools ranks 87 of 116 Virginia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,947).#87 of 116
  2. Every school district in VirginiaPulaski County Public Schools is the number 60 by size of 132 Virginia districts, with 3,988 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#60 of 132
  3. Scott County Public SchoolsThe next larger Virginia district: 4,024 students in fall 2022, $12,841 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,841
  4. Amherst County Public SchoolsThe next smaller Virginia district: 3,987 students in fall 2022, $14,301 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,301
  5. Compare Pulaski County Public Schools with Scott County Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Pulaski County Senior High, its largest high school1,159 students in 2024-25, 12.1 per teacher.1,159
  7. Teacher salary spending across VirginiaPulaski County Public Schools spent $58,728 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $61,899); spending, not a salary.$58,728
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Pulaski County Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Pulaski County Public Schools?
    7 schools were open in 2024-25 (5 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 3,864 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Pulaski County Public Schools spend per student?
    $13,947 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Virginia median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,972 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,071 per student, up 0.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Pulaski County Public Schools' money come from?
    $65,198,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 55.5% state, 27.1% local and 17.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Pulaski County Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 640 of the 4,395 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 14.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Pulaski County Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $18,191,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,561 per student. Divided by the 310 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $58,728 per teacher, more than 30 in 100 Virginia districts (state median $61,899). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Virginia teacher salary at $59,965 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. What is the graduation rate in Pulaski County Public Schools?
    94% of the 316 students in Pulaski County Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.8% across Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Pulaski County Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    5103150. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25