Granite City Community Unit School District #9
Listed by NCES as Granite City CUSD 9 (district ID 1717280)
Public school district · Madison County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1717280
Granite City Community Unit School District #9 spent $14,168 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 83% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,127). Its 8 schools enrolled 5,747 students in 2024-25; 32.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,631 per student, down 3.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 71% (Illinois: 87.6%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Granite City Community Unit School District #9 in enrollment (5,490 to 6,178 students) and Granite City Community Unit School District #9 itself.
Where the money came from
$122,501,000 in revenue: 32.2% state, 46.6% local and 21.3% federal. Total spending including $7,713,000 of capital outlay was $95,910,000, or $16,488 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$39,415,000 32%
- Local$57,053,000 47%
- Federal$26,033,000 21%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
5,817 students in 2022-23, 5,775 students in 2023-24, 5,747 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 5,817 | 340.3 | 17.1 |
| 2023-24 | 5,775 | 347.0 | 16.6 |
| 2024-25 | 5,747 | 328.0 | 17.5 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Granite City Community Unit School District #9 scored proficient or above: 10% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Illinois | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 10% | 29.9% | 2,805 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
71% of the 480 students in Granite City Community Unit School District #9's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Illinois | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 71% | 87.6% |
| Students in the class | 480 | 149,998 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
5 elementary schools, 2,320 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prather Elementary School | 612 | 16.5 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Frohardt Elementary School | 452 | 16.1 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Wilson Elementary School | 448 | 14.9 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Mitchell Elementary School | 413 | 14.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
| Maryville Elementary School | 395 | 15.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 middle schools, 1,672 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coolidge Junior High School | 854 | 18.2 | All free (CEP) | Targeted program |
| Grigsby Intermediate School | 818 | 17.8 | All free (CEP) | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 1,755 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Granite City High School | 1,755 | 20.2 | All free (CEP) | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Granite City Community Unit School District #9
- Website: gcsd9.net
- Phone: (618) 451-5800
- Office: 3200 Maryville Rd, Granite City, IL 62040
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Granite City Community Unit School District #9
- Illinois districts by spending per studentGranite City Community Unit School District #9 ranks 313 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,168).#313 of 377
- Every school district in IllinoisGranite City Community Unit School District #9 is the number 49 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 5,817 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#49 of 865
- Wheeling CCSD 21The next larger Illinois district: 6,001 students in fall 2022, $23,330 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$23,330
- Alton School DistrictThe next smaller Illinois district: 5,752 students in fall 2022, $16,310 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,310
- Compare Granite City Community Unit School District #9 with Wheeling CCSD 21Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Granite City High School, its largest high school1,755 students in 2024-25, 20.2 per teacher.1,755
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Granite City Community Unit School District #9
How many schools and students are in Granite City Community Unit School District #9?
8 schools were open in 2024-25 (5 elementary, 2 middle, 1 high), enrolling 5,747 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Granite City Community Unit School District #9 spend per student?
$14,168 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,631 per student, down 3.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Granite City Community Unit School District #9's money come from?
$122,501,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 32.2% state, 46.6% local and 21.3% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Granite City Community Unit School District #9 live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 1,160 of the 6,568 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 17.7%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in Granite City Community Unit School District #9 do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Granite City Community Unit School District #9 scored proficient or above: 10% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Granite City Community Unit School District #9?
71% of the 480 students in Granite City Community Unit School District #9's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Granite City Community Unit School District #9's NCES district ID?
1717280. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25