Public schools in Visalia, CA
Visalia has 52 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 12 high, 5 middle, 31 elementary, 4 other, enrolling 32,998 students. They are run by 9 districts and agencies; Visalia Unified runs 40 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 9 districts and agencies that run Visalia's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Visalia | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Visalia Unified | 40 | 28,893 | $16,966 |
| Tulare County Office of Education | 5 | 1,636 | not reported |
| Crescent Valley Public Charter School II | 1 | 663 | $20,370 |
| Valley Life Charter School | 1 | 662 | $14,607 |
| Eleanor Roosevelt Community Learning Center District | 1 | 390 | $12,610 |
| Blue Oak Academy Charter School | 1 | 342 | $11,810 |
| Sycamore Valley Academy District | 1 | 392 | $11,168 |
| Outside Creek Elementary | 1 | 130 | $10,377 |
| Stone Corral Elementary | 1 | 116 | $22,155 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
12 high schools in Visalia, 9,636 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Redwood High | 2,490 | 24.1 | 44.5% | Visalia Unified |
| Golden West High | 2,059 | 21.6 | 67.6% | Visalia Unified |
| El Diamante High | 1,890 | 21.2 | 60.2% | Visalia Unified |
| Mt. Whitney High | 1,637 | 21.9 | 71.2% | Visalia Unified |
| Visalia Charter Independent Study | 515 | 10.8 | 67.4% | Visalia Unified |
| Sequoia High | 280 | 14.7 | 80.4% | Visalia Unified |
| University Preparatory High | 253 | 29.6 | 30.0% | Tulare County Office of Education |
| Visalia Technical Early College | 216 | 15.2 | 51.9% | Visalia Unified |
| La Sierra High | 191 | 16.8 | 62.8% | Tulare County Office of Education |
| Tulare County Court | 66 | 10.9 | 95.5% | Tulare County Office of Education |
The other 2 high schools
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Creekside Community Day | 34 | 8.6 | 91.2% | Visalia Unified |
| Tulare County Community | 5 | 2.6 | 62.5% | Tulare County Office of Education |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
5 middle schools in Visalia, 4,184 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ridgeview Middle | 975 | 24.3 | 56.5% | Visalia Unified |
| Valley Oak Middle | 952 | 21.6 | 75.5% | Visalia Unified |
| Divisadero Middle | 769 | 21.9 | 75.0% | Visalia Unified |
| Green Acres Middle | 761 | 23.2 | 64.1% | Visalia Unified |
| La Joya Middle | 727 | 23.2 | 66.0% | Visalia Unified |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
31 elementary schools in Visalia, 16,030 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Riverway Elementary | 857 | 24.1 | 60.1% | Visalia Unified |
| Annie R. Mitchell | 789 | 23.9 | 64.1% | Visalia Unified |
| Oak Grove Elementary | 756 | 25.8 | 30.0% | Visalia Unified |
| Manuel F. Hernandez | 707 | 23.7 | 55.0% | Visalia Unified |
| Four Creeks Elementary | 654 | 21.5 | 82.6% | Visalia Unified |
| Denton Elementary | 648 | 21.1 | 33.2% | Visalia Unified |
| Golden Oak Elementary | 631 | 21.1 | 72.9% | Visalia Unified |
| Cottonwood Creek Elementary | 627 | 23.3 | 57.7% | Visalia Unified |
| Mountain View Elementary | 618 | 21.4 | 65.5% | Visalia Unified |
| Shannon Ranch Elementary | 609 | 23.1 | 44.7% | Visalia Unified |
The other 21 elementary schools
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
4 other schools in Visalia, 3,148 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Special Education | 1,141 | 10.6 | 67.6% | Tulare County Office of Education |
| Crescent Valley Public Charter II | 852 | 22.7 | 82.3% | Crescent Valley Public Charter School II |
| Valley Life Charter | 688 | 16.1 | 35.6% | Valley Life Charter School |
| Eleanor Roosevelt Community Learning Center | 467 | 21.7 | 41.3% | Eleanor Roosevelt Community Learning Center District |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Visalia's public schools compare with California's
The median Visalia school has 21.6 students per full-time teacher, about the same as the California median of 21.6. Its median school enrolls 559 students (state 471).
| Visalia | California | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 21.6 | 21.6 |
| Median school size (students) | 559 | 471 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | not reported | not reported |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 92% | 74% |
| Charter schools | 21% | 13% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 52 Visalia schools and the 9,918 California schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Visalia
- Visalia UnifiedRuns 40 of Visalia's 52 public schools and spent $16,966 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,966
- Redwood High, the largest high school in Visalia2,490 students in 2024-25, 24.1 per teacher.2,490
- Compare Visalia Unified with Tulare County Office of EducationVisalia's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in CaliforniaCalifornia's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Visalia addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in California
- Los Angeles564 schools
- San Diego283 schools
- San Jose232 schools
- Sacramento197 schools
- Fresno179 schools
- Bakersfield146 schools
- San Francisco123 schools
- Stockton122 schools
Questions about schools in Visalia
How many public schools are in Visalia, CA?
52 public schools with an address in Visalia were open in 2024-25: 12 high, 5 middle, 31 elementary, 4 other, enrolling 32,998 students. 11 are charter schools.What is the largest high school in Visalia?
Redwood High, with 2,490 students in 2024-25 (Visalia Unified).Which districts run Visalia's schools?
Visalia Unified (40 schools), Tulare County Office of Education (5 schools), Crescent Valley Public Charter School II (1 school), Valley Life Charter School (1 school), and 5 more. A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25