East High School

Public high school, grades 9 to 12 · Aurora, Illinois

East High School in Aurora, Illinois enrolled 4,020 students in 2024-25 with 213.6 full-time teachers, 18.8 students per teacher against the Illinois high-school median of 13.5. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 8% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 6% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 89% (Illinois: 87.6%).

Enrollment fell 4% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 1%

4,197 students in 2022-23, 4,019 students in 2023-24, 4,020 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 216.8 to 213.6.

Students enrolled at East High School by school year2022-23: 4,197, 2023-24: 4,019, 2024-25: 4,02002k4k6k2022-234,1972023-244,0192024-254,020
Students enrolled at East High School by school year2022-23: 4,197, 2023-24: 4,019, 2024-25: 4,02002k4k6k2022-234,1972023-244,0192024-254,020
Students enrolled at East High School by school year2022-23: 4,197, 2023-24: 4,019, 2024-25: 4,02002k4k6k2022-234,1972023-244,0192024-254,020
Students enrolled at East High School by school year2022-23: 4,197, 2023-24: 4,019, 2024-25: 4,02002k4k6k2022-234,1972023-244,0192024-254,020
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-234,197216.819.4
2023-244,019214.018.8
2024-254,020213.618.8

18.8 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 96 of every 100 Illinois high schools

Among the 690 Illinois high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.5; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Illinois high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.8 to 79.8; East High School 18.8; state median 13.5.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherEast High School 18.8state median 13.5U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Illinois high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.8 to 79.8; East High School 18.8; state median 13.5.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherEast High School 18.8state median 13.5U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Illinois high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.8 to 79.8; East High School 18.8; state median 13.5.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherEast High School 18.8state median 13.5U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Illinois high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.8 to 79.8; East High School 18.8; state median 13.5.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherEast High School 18.8state median 13.5U.S. 14.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

28 AP courses and one counselor per 312 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection East High School enrolled 4,062 students and had 13.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 328 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement courses28
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)13.0, one per 312 of the 4,062 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions328
  • Chronically absent38.5% (2022-23)

Who attends

89.0% of students were Hispanic, 6.9% Black, 2.0% White in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic89.0%
  2. Black6.9%
  3. White2.0%
  4. Two or more races1.0%
  5. Asian0.7%
  6. American Indian0.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at East High School scored proficient or above: 8% in reading in 2021-22 and 6% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtIllinois
Reading and language arts, 2021-228%11%29.9%
Math, 2022-236%not published26.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

89% of the 1,047 students in East High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtIllinois
Four-year graduation rate89%89%87.6%
Students in the class1,0471,047149,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

High schools in Aurora

5 public high schools in Aurora report 2024-25 enrollment; East High School is the largest.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
East High School4,02018.8not reported
West Aurora High School3,64116.2not reported
Waubonsie Valley High School2,84915.8not reported
Metea Valley High School2,76614.5not reported
Illinois Mathematics and Science65620.5not reported

All public schools in Aurora →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about East High School

  1. Waubonsie Valley High SchoolThe nearest public high school, 2.3 miles away: 2,849 students, 15.8 per teacher (2024-25).2.3 mi
  2. West Aurora High SchoolThe next nearest public high school, 2.8 miles away: 3,641 students, 16.2 per teacher (2024-25).2.8 mi
  3. Compare East High School with Waubonsie Valley High SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much East Aurora School District 131 spends per student$16,690 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$16,690
  5. The largest public schools in IllinoisEast High School is the number 5 by size of 708 Illinois high schools open in 2024-25.#5 of 708
  6. Illinois schools by students per teacher18.8 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.5 for high schools.18.8:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about East High School

  1. How many students attend East High School?
    4,020 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 4,197 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Aurora, IL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at East High School?
    18.8 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for high schools is 13.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is East High School a Title I school?
    East High School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at East High School do on state tests?
    The students tested at East High School scored proficient or above: 8% in reading in 2021-22 and 6% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What is the graduation rate at East High School?
    89% of the 1,047 students in East High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  6. What district is East High School in?
    East Aurora School District 131, NCES district ID 1704680. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 170468000143 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22