Rising Sun Montessori District
Public school district · El Dorado County · California · NCES district ID 0601868
Rising Sun Montessori District spent $15,304 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 69% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,666). Its one school enrolled 155 students in 2024-25; 80.7% of its revenue came from the state.
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among California districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Rising Sun Montessori District in enrollment (133 to 137 students) and Rising Sun Montessori District itself.
Where the money came from
$2,094,000 in revenue: 80.7% state, 15.7% local and 3.6% federal. Total spending was $2,066,000, or $15,304 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.
- State$1,690,000 81%
- Local$328,000 16%
- Federal$76,000 4%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
135 students in 2022-23, 144 students in 2023-24, 155 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 135 | 7.0 | 19.3 |
| 2023-24 | 144 | 7.0 | 20.6 |
| 2024-25 | 155 | 7.0 | 22.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$558,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,133 per student
Rising Sun Montessori District booked $558,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 7 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $79,714 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 18 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $429,000 | 76.9% |
| Special education | $129,000 | 23.1% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,190 in 2018-19, $2,220 in 2019-20, $2,493 in 2020-21, $3,362 in 2021-22, $4,133 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Rising Sun Montessori District scored proficient or above: 50-100% in reading and 50-100% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | California | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 50-100% | 45% | 48 |
| Math | 50-100% | 34% | 47 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
1 elementary school, 155 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rising Sun Montessori | 155 | 22.1 | 19.4% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Rising Sun Montessori District
- Website: risingsunmontessori.org
- Phone: (916) 936-2333
- Office: 4940 Robert J. Mathews Pkwy., El Dorado Hills, CA 95762
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Rising Sun Montessori District
- California districts by spending per studentRising Sun Montessori District ranks 854 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,304).#854 of 1,238
- Every school district in CaliforniaRising Sun Montessori District is the number 1,745 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 135 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1,745 of 1,991
- JCS - Cedar Cove DistrictThe next larger California district: 136 students in fall 2022, $13,728 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,728
- AeroSTEM Academy DistrictThe next smaller California district: 133 students in fall 2022, $14,654 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,654
- Compare Rising Sun Montessori District with JCS - Cedar Cove DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaRising Sun Montessori District spent $79,714 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$79,714
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Rising Sun Montessori District
How many schools and students are in Rising Sun Montessori District?
One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 155 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Rising Sun Montessori District spend per student?
$15,304 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.Where does Rising Sun Montessori District's money come from?
$2,094,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 80.7% state, 15.7% local and 3.6% federal (NCES F-33).How much does Rising Sun Montessori District spend on teacher salaries?
$558,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,133 per student. Divided by the 7 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $79,714 per teacher, more than 18 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Rising Sun Montessori District do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Rising Sun Montessori District scored proficient or above: 50-100% in reading and 50-100% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is Rising Sun Montessori District's NCES district ID?
0601868. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25