Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD

Public school district · Orange County · Texas · NCES district ID 4827690

Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD spent $11,011 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 76% of the other Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,244). Its 6 schools enrolled 3,320 students in 2024-25; 44.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,284 per student, up 11.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 96% (Texas: 90.3%).

Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD in enrollment (3,297 to 3,400 students) and Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD itself.

Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD, FY23Palestine ISD $14,146; Henderson ISD $13,785; Pleasanton ISD $13,720; Zapata County ISD $13,602; El Campo ISD $13,351; Chapel Hill ISD $12,442; Burnet CISD $11,954; Mineral Wells ISD $11,736; Jarrell ISD $11,363; Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD $11,011; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14k16kPalestine ISD$14,146Henderson ISD$13,785Pleasanton ISD$13,720Zapata County ISD$13,602El Campo ISD$13,351Chapel Hill ISD$12,442Burnet CISD$11,954Mineral Wells ISD$11,736Jarrell ISD$11,363Little Cypress-Mauriceville CI…$11,011State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD, FY23Palestine ISD $14,146; Henderson ISD $13,785; Pleasanton ISD $13,720; Zapata County ISD $13,602; El Campo ISD $13,351; Chapel Hill ISD $12,442; Burnet CISD $11,954; Mineral Wells ISD $11,736; Jarrell ISD $11,363; Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD $11,011; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14k16kPalestine ISD$14,146Henderson ISD$13,785Pleasanton ISD$13,720Zapata County ISD$13,602El Campo ISD$13,351Chapel Hill ISD$12,442Burnet CISD$11,954Mineral Wells ISD$11,736Jarrell ISD$11,363Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD$11,011State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD, FY23Palestine ISD $14,146; Henderson ISD $13,785; Pleasanton ISD $13,720; Zapata County ISD $13,602; El Campo ISD $13,351; Chapel Hill ISD $12,442; Burnet CISD $11,954; Mineral Wells ISD $11,736; Jarrell ISD $11,363; Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD $11,011; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k12k16kPalestine ISD$14,146Henderson ISD$13,785Pleasanton ISD$13,720Zapata County ISD$13,602El Campo ISD$13,351Chapel Hill ISD$12,442Burnet CISD$11,954Mineral Wells ISD$11,736Jarrell ISD$11,363Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD$11,011State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD, FY23Palestine ISD $14,146; Henderson ISD $13,785; Pleasanton ISD $13,720; Zapata County ISD $13,602; El Campo ISD $13,351; Chapel Hill ISD $12,442; Burnet CISD $11,954; Mineral Wells ISD $11,736; Jarrell ISD $11,363; Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD $11,011; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k12k16kPalestine ISD$14,146Henderson ISD$13,785Pleasanton ISD$13,720Zapata County ISD$13,602El Campo ISD$13,351Chapel Hill ISD$12,442Burnet CISD$11,954Mineral Wells ISD$11,736Jarrell ISD$11,363Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD$11,011State median, 1,000+ students $12,244

Where the money came from

$45,865,000 in revenue: 44.4% state, 39.2% local and 16.4% federal. Total spending including $5,158,000 of capital outlay was $44,697,000, or $13,382 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $20,358,000; Local $17,995,000; Federal $7,512,000; total $45,865,000.
  • State$20,358,000 44%
  • Local$17,995,000 39%
  • Federal$7,512,000 16%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 577 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

3,340 students in 2022-23, 3,241 students in 2023-24, 3,320 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,340, 2023-24: 3,241, 2024-25: 3,32001k2k3k4k2022-233,3402023-243,2412024-253,320
Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,340, 2023-24: 3,241, 2024-25: 3,32001k2k3k4k2022-233,3402023-243,2412024-253,320
Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,340, 2023-24: 3,241, 2024-25: 3,32001k2k3k4k2022-233,3402023-243,2412024-253,320
Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,340, 2023-24: 3,241, 2024-25: 3,32001k2k3k4k2022-233,3402023-243,2412024-253,320

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-233,340251.013.3
2023-243,241252.812.8
2024-253,320252.113.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$10,766,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,223 per student

Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD booked $10,766,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 251 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $42,892 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 14 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$6,961,00064.7%
Special education$1,289,00012.0%
Vocational$725,0006.7%
Other programs$1,791,00016.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,353 in 2018-19, $3,416 in 2019-20, $3,452 in 2020-21, $3,252 in 2021-22, $3,223 in 2022-23.

Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,353, 2019-20: $3,416, 2020-21: $3,452, 2021-22: $3,252, 2022-23: $3,22301k2k3k4k2018-19$3,3532019-20$3,4162020-21$3,4522021-22$3,2522022-23$3,223
Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,353, 2019-20: $3,416, 2020-21: $3,452, 2021-22: $3,252, 2022-23: $3,22301k2k3k4k2018-19$3,3532019-20$3,4162020-21$3,4522021-22$3,2522022-23$3,223
Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,353, 2019-20: $3,416, 2020-21: $3,452, 2021-22: $3,252, 2022-23: $3,22301k2k3k4k2018-19$3,3532019-20$3,4162020-21$3,4522021-22$3,2522022-23$3,223
Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,353, 2019-20: $3,416, 2020-21: $3,452, 2021-22: $3,252, 2022-23: $3,22301k2k3k4k2018-19$3,3532019-20$3,4162020-21$3,4522021-22$3,2522022-23$3,223

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 36-39% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtTexasStudents tested
Reading and language arts45-49%52%1,480
Math36-39%42%1,239

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

96% of the 218 students in Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtTexas
Four-year graduation rate96%90.3%
Students in the class218403,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 elementary schools, 1,524 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Little Cypress Elementary67314.264.5%Schoolwide program
Mauriceville Elementary50711.567.3%Schoolwide program
Little Cypress Intermediate34412.857.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 795 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Little Cypress Junior High52314.656.0%Eligible, no program
Mauriceville Middle27211.658.1%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 1,001 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lit Cypr-Mrceville High School1,00113.550.6%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD

  1. Texas districts by spending per studentLittle Cypress-Mauriceville CISD ranks 438 of 577 Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,011).#438 of 577
  2. Every school district in TexasLittle Cypress-Mauriceville CISD is the number 275 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 3,340 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#275 of 1,212
  3. El Campo ISDThe next larger Texas district: 3,349 students in fall 2022, $13,351 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,351
  4. Chapel Hill ISDThe next smaller Texas district: 3,308 students in fall 2022, $12,442 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,442
  5. Compare Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD with El Campo ISDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Lit Cypr-Mrceville High School, its largest high school1,001 students in 2024-25, 13.5 per teacher.1,001
  7. Teacher salary spending across TexasLittle Cypress-Mauriceville CISD spent $42,892 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$42,892
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD

  1. How many schools and students are in Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD?
    6 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 2 middle, 1 high), enrolling 3,320 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD spend per student?
    $11,011 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,244 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,284 per student, up 11.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD's money come from?
    $45,865,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 44.4% state, 39.2% local and 16.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 469 of the 3,759 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 12.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD spend on teacher salaries?
    $10,766,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,223 per student. Divided by the 251 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $42,892 per teacher, more than 14 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 36-39% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD?
    96% of the 218 students in Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Little Cypress-Mauriceville CISD's NCES district ID?
    4827690. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25