Northern York School District

Listed by NCES as Northern York County SD (district ID 4217760)

Public school district · York County · Pennsylvania · NCES district ID 4217760

Northern York School District spent $14,725 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 93% of the other Pennsylvania districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $17,594). Its 6 schools enrolled 3,209 students in 2024-25; 31.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,335 per student, up 10.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 91% (Pennsylvania: 87.5%).

Spending per student among Pennsylvania districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Northern York in enrollment (3,287 to 3,383 students) and Northern York itself.

Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Northern York, FY23Gateway SD $21,065; Interboro SD $19,915; West Allegheny SD $18,013; Upper Moreland $17,475; Dover Area SD $17,118; Franklin Regional SD $17,108; Kiski Area SD $16,548; West Jefferson Hills SD $16,215; DuBois Area SD $15,907; Northern York $14,725; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kGateway SD$21,065Interboro SD$19,915West Allegheny SD$18,013Upper Moreland$17,475Dover Area SD$17,118Franklin Regional SD$17,108Kiski Area SD$16,548West Jefferson Hills SD$16,215DuBois Area SD$15,907Northern York$14,725State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Northern York, FY23Gateway SD $21,065; Interboro SD $19,915; West Allegheny SD $18,013; Upper Moreland $17,475; Dover Area SD $17,118; Franklin Regional SD $17,108; Kiski Area SD $16,548; West Jefferson Hills SD $16,215; DuBois Area SD $15,907; Northern York $14,725; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kGateway SD$21,065Interboro SD$19,915West Allegheny SD$18,013Upper Moreland$17,475Dover Area SD$17,118Franklin Regional SD$17,108Kiski Area SD$16,548West Jefferson Hills SD$16,215DuBois Area SD$15,907Northern York$14,725State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Northern York, FY23Gateway SD $21,065; Interboro SD $19,915; West Allegheny SD $18,013; Upper Moreland $17,475; Dover Area SD $17,118; Franklin Regional SD $17,108; Kiski Area SD $16,548; West Jefferson Hills SD $16,215; DuBois Area SD $15,907; Northern York $14,725; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.12.5k17.5k22.5kGateway SD$21,065Interboro SD$19,915West Allegheny SD$18,013Upper Moreland$17,475Dover Area SD$17,118Franklin Regional SD$17,108Kiski Area SD$16,548West Jefferson Hills SD$16,215DuBois Area SD$15,907Northern York$14,725State median, 1,000+ students $17,594
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Northern York, FY23Gateway SD $21,065; Interboro SD $19,915; West Allegheny SD $18,013; Upper Moreland $17,475; Dover Area SD $17,118; Franklin Regional SD $17,108; Kiski Area SD $16,548; West Jefferson Hills SD $16,215; DuBois Area SD $15,907; Northern York $14,725; State median, 1,000+ students $17,594.12.5k17.5k22.5kGateway SD$21,065Interboro SD$19,915West Allegheny SD$18,013Upper Moreland$17,475Dover Area SD$17,118Franklin Regional SD$17,108Kiski Area SD$16,548West Jefferson Hills SD$16,215DuBois Area SD$15,907Northern York$14,725State median, 1,000+ students $17,594

Where the money came from

$65,994,000 in revenue: 31.7% state, 64.9% local and 3.4% federal. Total spending including $3,905,000 of capital outlay was $59,382,000, or $17,763 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Northern York School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $20,940,000; Local $42,818,000; Federal $2,236,000; total $65,994,000.
  • State$20,940,000 32%
  • Local$42,818,000 65%
  • Federal$2,236,000 3%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 418 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

3,327 students in 2022-23, 3,254 students in 2023-24, 3,209 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Northern York School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,327, 2023-24: 3,254, 2024-25: 3,20901k2k3k4k2022-233,3272023-243,2542024-253,209
Northern York School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,327, 2023-24: 3,254, 2024-25: 3,20901k2k3k4k2022-233,3272023-243,2542024-253,209
Northern York School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,327, 2023-24: 3,254, 2024-25: 3,20901k2k3k4k2022-233,3272023-243,2542024-253,209
Northern York School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,327, 2023-24: 3,254, 2024-25: 3,20901k2k3k4k2022-233,3272023-243,2542024-253,209

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-233,327225.214.8
2023-243,254224.214.5
2024-253,209227.114.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$15,552,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,652 per student

Northern York School District booked $15,552,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 225 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $69,074 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 17 in 100 Pennsylvania districts with a figure (state median $81,309, 647 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Pennsylvania teacher salary at $72,248 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$12,003,00077.2%
Special education$2,589,00016.6%
Vocational$172,0001.1%
Other programs$788,0005.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,627 in 2018-19, $4,430 in 2019-20, $4,623 in 2020-21, $4,578 in 2021-22, $4,652 in 2022-23.

Northern York School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,627, 2019-20: $4,430, 2020-21: $4,623, 2021-22: $4,578, 2022-23: $4,65202k4k6k2018-19$4,6272019-20$4,4302020-21$4,6232021-22$4,5782022-23$4,652
Northern York School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,627, 2019-20: $4,430, 2020-21: $4,623, 2021-22: $4,578, 2022-23: $4,65202k4k6k2018-19$4,6272019-20$4,4302020-21$4,6232021-22$4,5782022-23$4,652
Northern York School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,627, 2019-20: $4,430, 2020-21: $4,623, 2021-22: $4,578, 2022-23: $4,65202k4k6k2018-19$4,6272019-20$4,4302020-21$4,6232021-22$4,5782022-23$4,652
Northern York School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,627, 2019-20: $4,430, 2020-21: $4,623, 2021-22: $4,578, 2022-23: $4,65202k4k6k2018-19$4,6272019-20$4,4302020-21$4,6232021-22$4,5782022-23$4,652

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Northern York School District scored proficient or above: 59-63% in reading and 37-41% in math, against 54% in reading and 34% in math across Pennsylvania. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Pennsylvania, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtPennsylvaniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts59-63%54%1,454
Math37-41%34%1,456

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

91% of the 281 students in Northern York School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Pennsylvania. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtPennsylvania
Four-year graduation rate91%87.5%
Students in the class281136,045

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

4 elementary schools, 1,470 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Dillsburg Elementary School44013.823.4%Not Title I
Northern Elementary School39713.436.3%Targeted program
South Mountain Elementary School38912.225.7%Not Title I
Wellsville Campus24412.034.8%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 757 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Northern Middle School75714.826.3%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 982 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Northern High School98215.721.7%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Northern York School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Northern York School District

  1. Pennsylvania districts by spending per studentNorthern York School District ranks 389 of 418 Pennsylvania districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,725).#389 of 418
  2. Every school district in PennsylvaniaNorthern York School District is the number 142 by size of 775 Pennsylvania districts, with 3,343 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#142 of 775
  3. Upper Moreland School DistrictThe next larger Pennsylvania district: 3,369 students in fall 2022, $17,475 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,475
  4. West Allegheny SDThe next smaller Pennsylvania district: 3,335 students in fall 2022, $18,013 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,013
  5. Compare Northern York School District with Upper Moreland School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Northern High School, its largest high school982 students in 2024-25, 15.7 per teacher.982
  7. Teacher salary spending across PennsylvaniaNorthern York School District spent $69,074 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $81,309); spending, not a salary.$69,074
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Northern York School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Northern York School District?
    6 schools were open in 2024-25 (4 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 3,209 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Northern York School District spend per student?
    $14,725 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Pennsylvania median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,594 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,335 per student, up 10.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Northern York School District's money come from?
    $65,994,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 31.7% state, 64.9% local and 3.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Northern York School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 312 of the 4,276 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 7.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Northern York School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $15,552,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,652 per student. Divided by the 225 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $69,074 per teacher, more than 17 in 100 Pennsylvania districts (state median $81,309). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Pennsylvania teacher salary at $72,248 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Northern York School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Northern York School District scored proficient or above: 59-63% in reading and 37-41% in math, against 54% in reading and 34% in math across Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Northern York School District?
    91% of the 281 students in Northern York School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Pennsylvania. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Northern York School District's NCES district ID?
    4217760. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25