Columbia Community Unit School District 4

Listed by NCES as Columbia CUSD 4 (district ID 1710740)

Public school district · Monroe County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1710740

Columbia Community Unit School District 4 spent $12,981 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 92% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,127). Its 4 schools enrolled 1,904 students in 2024-25; 31.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,280 per student, up 10.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Illinois: 87.6%).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Columbia Community Unit School District 4 in enrollment (1,924 to 2,036 students) and Columbia Community Unit School District 4 itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Columbia Community Unit School District 4, FY23Dolton SD 148 $26,724; Argo Community High School District 217 $25,223; Bensenville SD 2 $22,272; Reavis High School $21,477; Beach Park District 3 $18,229; Macomb $16,653; Murphysboro Community Unit School District #186 $16,403; Kewanee CUSD 229 $13,322; Columbia Community Unit School District 4 $12,981; Il Valley Central USD 321 $12,755; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25k30kDolton SD 148$26,724Argo Community High School Dis…$25,223Bensenville SD 2$22,272Reavis High School$21,477Beach Park District 3$18,229Macomb$16,653Murphysboro Community Unit Sch…$16,403Kewanee CUSD 229$13,322Columbia Community Unit School…$12,981Il Valley Central USD 321$12,755State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Columbia Community Unit School District 4, FY23Dolton SD 148 $26,724; Argo Community High School District 217 $25,223; Bensenville SD 2 $22,272; Reavis High School $21,477; Beach Park District 3 $18,229; Macomb $16,653; Murphysboro Community Unit School District #186 $16,403; Kewanee CUSD 229 $13,322; Columbia Community Unit School District 4 $12,981; Il Valley Central USD 321 $12,755; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25k30kDolton SD 148$26,724Argo Community High School District…$25,223Bensenville SD 2$22,272Reavis High School$21,477Beach Park District 3$18,229Macomb$16,653Murphysboro Community Unit School D…$16,403Kewanee CUSD 229$13,322Columbia Community Unit School Dist…$12,981Il Valley Central USD 321$12,755State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Columbia Community Unit School District 4, FY23Dolton SD 148 $26,724; Argo Community High School District 217 $25,223; Bensenville SD 2 $22,272; Reavis High School $21,477; Beach Park District 3 $18,229; Macomb $16,653; Murphysboro Community Unit School District #186 $16,403; Kewanee CUSD 229 $13,322; Columbia Community Unit School District 4 $12,981; Il Valley Central USD 321 $12,755; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k20k30kDolton SD 148$26,724Argo Community High School District 217$25,223Bensenville SD 2$22,272Reavis High School$21,477Beach Park District 3$18,229Macomb$16,653Murphysboro Community Unit School District…$16,403Kewanee CUSD 229$13,322Columbia Community Unit School District 4$12,981Il Valley Central USD 321$12,755State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Columbia Community Unit School District 4, FY23Dolton SD 148 $26,724; Argo Community High School District 217 $25,223; Bensenville SD 2 $22,272; Reavis High School $21,477; Beach Park District 3 $18,229; Macomb $16,653; Murphysboro Community Unit School District #186 $16,403; Kewanee CUSD 229 $13,322; Columbia Community Unit School District 4 $12,981; Il Valley Central USD 321 $12,755; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k20k30kDolton SD 148$26,724Argo Community High School District 217$25,223Bensenville SD 2$22,272Reavis High School$21,477Beach Park District 3$18,229Macomb$16,653Murphysboro Community Unit School Distr…$16,403Kewanee CUSD 229$13,322Columbia Community Unit School District…$12,981Il Valley Central USD 321$12,755State median, 1,000+ students $18,127

Where the money came from

$32,112,000 in revenue: 31.7% state, 64.1% local and 4.1% federal. Total spending including $1,858,000 of capital outlay was $28,414,000, or $14,278 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Columbia Community Unit School District 4 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $10,193,000; Local $20,592,000; Federal $1,327,000; total $32,112,000.
  • State$10,193,000 32%
  • Local$20,592,000 64%
  • Federal$1,327,000 4%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,990 students in 2022-23, 1,942 students in 2023-24, 1,904 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Columbia Community Unit School District 4 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,990, 2023-24: 1,942, 2024-25: 1,90405001k1.5k2k2022-231,9902023-241,9422024-251,904
Columbia Community Unit School District 4 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,990, 2023-24: 1,942, 2024-25: 1,90405001k1.5k2k2022-231,9902023-241,9422024-251,904
Columbia Community Unit School District 4 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,990, 2023-24: 1,942, 2024-25: 1,90405001k1.5k2k2022-231,9902023-241,9422024-251,904
Columbia Community Unit School District 4 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,990, 2023-24: 1,942, 2024-25: 1,90405001k1.5k2k2022-231,9902023-241,9422024-251,904

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,990123.816.1
2023-241,942123.515.7
2024-251,904125.515.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Columbia Community Unit School District 4 scored proficient or above: 41% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts41%29.9%1,031

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 167 students in Columbia Community Unit School District 4's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIllinois
Four-year graduation rate95% or more87.6%
Students in the class167149,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 686 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Parkview Elementary School42714.5not reportedTargeted program
Eagleview Elementary School25912.2not reportedTargeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 612 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Columbia Middle School61216.4not reportedTargeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 606 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Columbia High School60616.1not reportedTargeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Columbia Community Unit School District 4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Columbia Community Unit School District 4

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentColumbia Community Unit School District 4 ranks 348 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,981).#348 of 377
  2. Every school district in IllinoisColumbia Community Unit School District 4 is the number 205 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 1,990 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#205 of 865
  3. Beach Park District 3The next larger Illinois district: 2,022 students in fall 2022, $18,229 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,229
  4. Reavis High SchoolThe next smaller Illinois district: 1,986 students in fall 2022, $21,477 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$21,477
  5. Compare Columbia Community Unit School District 4 with Beach Park District 3Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Columbia High School, its largest high school606 students in 2024-25, 16.1 per teacher.606
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Columbia Community Unit School District 4

  1. How many schools and students are in Columbia Community Unit School District 4?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,904 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Columbia Community Unit School District 4 spend per student?
    $12,981 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,280 per student, up 10.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Columbia Community Unit School District 4's money come from?
    $32,112,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 31.7% state, 64.1% local and 4.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Columbia Community Unit School District 4 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 61 of the 2,352 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 2.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Columbia Community Unit School District 4 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Columbia Community Unit School District 4 scored proficient or above: 41% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Columbia Community Unit School District 4?
    95% or more of the 167 students in Columbia Community Unit School District 4's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Columbia Community Unit School District 4's NCES district ID?
    1710740. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25