Public schools in Howard Lake, MN
Howard Lake has 7 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 3 high, 1 middle, 1 elementary, 2 other, enrolling 930 students. They are run by 2 districts and agencies; Meeker and Wright Special Education runs 4 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 2 districts and agencies that run Howard Lake's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Howard Lake | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Meeker and Wright Special Education | 4 | 199 | not reported |
| Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted | 3 | 1,305 | $13,431 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
3 high schools in Howard Lake, 453 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted Sec. | 411 | 18.6 | 19.0% | Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted |
| Hlww Alternative Learning Program | 24 | 13.0 | 29.2% | Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted |
| Step Td Program | 18 | 5.7 | 27.8% | Meeker and Wright Special Education |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One middle school in Howard Lake, 393 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted Middle | 393 | 20.6 | 22.9% | Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One elementary school in Howard Lake, 9 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Journeys Alternative Program | 9 | 2.3 | 66.7% | Meeker and Wright Special Education |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
2 other schools in Howard Lake, 75 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Meeker-Wright Early Childhood Sp Ed | 68 | 13.7 | 13.2% | Meeker and Wright Special Education |
| Trek Program | 7 | 2.6 | not reported | Meeker and Wright Special Education |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Howard Lake's public schools compare with Minnesota's
The median Howard Lake school has 13.7 students per full-time teacher, about the same as the Minnesota median of 13.7. 0% of its schools ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, against 20% across the state. Its median school enrolls 24 students (state 275).
| Howard Lake | Minnesota | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 13.7 | 13.7 |
| Median school size (students) | 24 | 275 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | 0% | 20% |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 0% | 22% |
| Charter schools | 0% | 12% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 7 Howard Lake schools and the 2,321 Minnesota schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Howard Lake
- Meeker and Wright Special EducationRuns 4 of Howard Lake's 7 public schools.
- Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted Sec., the largest high school in Howard Lake411 students in 2024-25, 18.6 per teacher.411
- Compare Meeker and Wright Special Education with Howard Lake-Waverly-WinstedHoward Lake's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in MinnesotaMinnesota's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Howard Lake addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in Minnesota
- Saint Paul135 schools
- Minneapolis132 schools
- Rochester44 schools
- Duluth30 schools
- Brooklyn Park29 schools
- Plymouth27 schools
- Bloomington26 schools
- Apple Valley20 schools
Questions about schools in Howard Lake
How many public schools are in Howard Lake, MN?
7 public schools with an address in Howard Lake were open in 2024-25: 3 high, 1 middle, 1 elementary, 2 other, enrolling 930 students.What is the largest high school in Howard Lake?
Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted Sec., with 411 students in 2024-25 (Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted).Which districts run Howard Lake's schools?
Meeker and Wright Special Education (4 schools), Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted (3 schools). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25