Public schools in Austin, MN
Austin has 14 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 5 high, 2 middle, 4 elementary, 3 other, enrolling 5,296 students. They are run by 3 districts and agencies; Austin Public Schools runs 10 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 3 districts and agencies that run Austin's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Austin | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Austin Public Schools | 10 | 5,120 | $15,309 |
| Southern Mn Education Consortium | 3 | 151 | not reported |
| Austin Albert Lea Area Special Educ | 1 | 34 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
5 high schools in Austin, 1,839 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin Senior High | 1,485 | 18.1 | 45.8% | Austin Public Schools |
| Austin Area Learning Center | 172 | 35.3 | 58.7% | Austin Public Schools |
| Austin Online Academy | 111 | 26.8 | 27.0% | Austin Public Schools |
| Smec Alc | 70 | 14.0 | 57.1% | Southern Mn Education Consortium |
| SMEC Credit Recovery | 1 | not reported | not reported | Southern Mn Education Consortium |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
2 middle schools in Austin, 1,438 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ellis Middle | 726 | 14.8 | 48.6% | Austin Public Schools |
| I.J. Holton Intermediate School | 712 | 13.8 | 49.9% | Austin Public Schools |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
4 elementary schools in Austin, 1,881 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Banfield Elementary | 574 | 14.5 | 54.5% | Austin Public Schools |
| Southgate Elementary | 539 | 13.6 | 47.9% | Austin Public Schools |
| Sumner Elementary | 387 | 13.4 | 62.8% | Austin Public Schools |
| Neveln Elementary | 381 | 12.7 | 52.5% | Austin Public Schools |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
3 other schools in Austin, 138 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Austin Community Learning Center | 87 | 11.1 | 59.8% | Austin Public Schools |
| Oakland Education Center | 40 | 6.1 | 72.5% | Austin Albert Lea Area Special Educ |
| Reset | 11 | 3.7 | 72.7% | Southern Mn Education Consortium |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Austin's public schools compare with Minnesota's
The median Austin school has 13.8 students per full-time teacher, about the same as the Minnesota median of 13.7. 31% of its schools ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, against 20% across the state. Its median school enrolls 277 students (state 275).
| Austin | Minnesota | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 13.8 | 13.7 |
| Median school size (students) | 277 | 275 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | 31% | 20% |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 71% | 22% |
| Charter schools | 0% | 12% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 14 Austin schools and the 2,321 Minnesota schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Austin
- Austin Public SchoolsRuns 10 of Austin's 14 public schools and spent $15,309 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,309
- Austin Senior High, the largest high school in Austin1,485 students in 2024-25, 18.1 per teacher.1,485
- Compare Austin Public Schools with Southern Mn Education ConsortiumAustin's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in MinnesotaMinnesota's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for an Austin addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in Minnesota
- Saint Paul135 schools
- Minneapolis132 schools
- Rochester44 schools
- Duluth30 schools
- Brooklyn Park29 schools
- Plymouth27 schools
- Bloomington26 schools
- Apple Valley20 schools
Questions about schools in Austin
How many public schools are in Austin, MN?
14 public schools with an address in Austin were open in 2024-25: 5 high, 2 middle, 4 elementary, 3 other, enrolling 5,296 students.What is the largest high school in Austin?
Austin Senior High, with 1,485 students in 2024-25 (Austin Public Schools).Which districts run Austin's schools?
Austin Public Schools (10 schools), Southern Mn Education Consortium (3 schools), Austin Albert Lea Area Special Educ (1 school). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25