Public schools in Glen Ellyn, IL
Glen Ellyn has 11 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 2 high, 2 middle, 7 elementary, enrolling 8,639 students. They are run by 3 districts and agencies; Glen Ellyn SD 41 runs 5 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 3 districts and agencies that run Glen Ellyn's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Glen Ellyn | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Glen Ellyn SD 41 | 5 | 3,522 | $18,895 |
| CCSD 89 | 4 | 2,224 | $19,248 |
| Glenbard Twp HSD 87 | 2 | 7,836 | $24,208 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
2 high schools in Glen Ellyn, 3,420 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Glenbard West High School | 2,330 | 17.9 | not reported | Glenbard Twp HSD 87 |
| Glenbard South High School | 1,090 | 15.8 | not reported | Glenbard Twp HSD 87 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
2 middle schools in Glen Ellyn, 1,866 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hadley Junior High School | 1,143 | 14.6 | not reported | Glen Ellyn SD 41 |
| Glen Crest Middle School | 723 | 14.5 | not reported | CCSD 89 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
7 elementary schools in Glen Ellyn, 3,353 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Churchill Elementary School | 618 | 12.5 | not reported | Glen Ellyn SD 41 |
| Benjamin Franklin Elementary School | 581 | 15.4 | not reported | Glen Ellyn SD 41 |
| Forest Glen Elementary School | 581 | 14.8 | not reported | Glen Ellyn SD 41 |
| Abraham Lincoln Elementary School | 559 | 15.3 | not reported | Glen Ellyn SD 41 |
| Park View Elementary School | 390 | 13.5 | not reported | CCSD 89 |
| Arbor View Elementary School | 313 | 14.0 | not reported | CCSD 89 |
| Westfield Elementary School | 311 | 13.8 | not reported | CCSD 89 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Glen Ellyn's public schools compare with Illinois's
The median Glen Ellyn school has 14.6 students per full-time teacher, more than the Illinois median of 13.1. 9.1% of its schools ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, against 54% across the state. Its median school enrolls 581 students (state 374).
| Glen Ellyn | Illinois | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 14.6 | 13.1 |
| Median school size (students) | 581 | 374 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | 9.1% | 54% |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 0% | 53% |
| Charter schools | 0% | 3.4% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 11 Glen Ellyn schools and the 3,817 Illinois schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Glen Ellyn
- Glen Ellyn SD 41Runs 5 of Glen Ellyn's 11 public schools and spent $18,895 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,895
- Glenbard West High School, the largest high school in Glen Ellyn2,330 students in 2024-25, 17.9 per teacher.2,330
- Compare Glen Ellyn SD 41 with CCSD 89Glen Ellyn's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in IllinoisIllinois's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Glen Ellyn addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in Illinois
- Chicago629 schools
- Aurora47 schools
- Rockford44 schools
- Naperville41 schools
- Peoria33 schools
- Joliet31 schools
- Springfield31 schools
- Plainfield29 schools
Questions about schools in Glen Ellyn
How many public schools are in Glen Ellyn, IL?
11 public schools with an address in Glen Ellyn were open in 2024-25: 2 high, 2 middle, 7 elementary, enrolling 8,639 students.What is the largest high school in Glen Ellyn?
Glenbard West High School, with 2,330 students in 2024-25 (Glenbard Twp HSD 87).Which districts run Glen Ellyn's schools?
Glen Ellyn SD 41 (5 schools), CCSD 89 (4 schools), Glenbard Twp HSD 87 (2 schools). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25