West Contra Costa Unified

Public school district · Contra Costa County · California · NCES district ID 0632550

West Contra Costa Unified spent $19,122 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 76% of the other California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $16,855). Its 52 schools enrolled 25,133 students in 2024-25; 53.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,597 per student, up 12.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 84% (California: 86.2%).

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to West Contra Costa Unified in enrollment (24,132 to 27,323 students) and West Contra Costa Unified itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to West Contra Costa Unified, FY23West Contra Costa Unified $19,122; Rialto Unified $18,123; San Jose Unified $17,839; Desert Sands Unified $17,070; Glendale Unified $16,709; Lodi Unified $16,495; Orange Unified $15,133; Manteca Unified $14,789; Chino Valley Unified $14,518; Temecula Valley Unified $14,165; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.12k14k16k18k20kWest Contra Costa Unified$19,122Rialto Unified$18,123San Jose Unified$17,839Desert Sands Unified$17,070Glendale Unified$16,709Lodi Unified$16,495Orange Unified$15,133Manteca Unified$14,789Chino Valley Unified$14,518Temecula Valley Unified$14,165State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to West Contra Costa Unified, FY23West Contra Costa Unified $19,122; Rialto Unified $18,123; San Jose Unified $17,839; Desert Sands Unified $17,070; Glendale Unified $16,709; Lodi Unified $16,495; Orange Unified $15,133; Manteca Unified $14,789; Chino Valley Unified $14,518; Temecula Valley Unified $14,165; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.12k14k16k18k20kWest Contra Costa Unified$19,122Rialto Unified$18,123San Jose Unified$17,839Desert Sands Unified$17,070Glendale Unified$16,709Lodi Unified$16,495Orange Unified$15,133Manteca Unified$14,789Chino Valley Unified$14,518Temecula Valley Unified$14,165State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to West Contra Costa Unified, FY23West Contra Costa Unified $19,122; Rialto Unified $18,123; San Jose Unified $17,839; Desert Sands Unified $17,070; Glendale Unified $16,709; Lodi Unified $16,495; Orange Unified $15,133; Manteca Unified $14,789; Chino Valley Unified $14,518; Temecula Valley Unified $14,165; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.12k16k20kWest Contra Costa Unified$19,122Rialto Unified$18,123San Jose Unified$17,839Desert Sands Unified$17,070Glendale Unified$16,709Lodi Unified$16,495Orange Unified$15,133Manteca Unified$14,789Chino Valley Unified$14,518Temecula Valley Unified$14,165State median, 1,000+ students $16,855
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to West Contra Costa Unified, FY23West Contra Costa Unified $19,122; Rialto Unified $18,123; San Jose Unified $17,839; Desert Sands Unified $17,070; Glendale Unified $16,709; Lodi Unified $16,495; Orange Unified $15,133; Manteca Unified $14,789; Chino Valley Unified $14,518; Temecula Valley Unified $14,165; State median, 1,000+ students $16,855.12k16k20kWest Contra Costa Unified$19,122Rialto Unified$18,123San Jose Unified$17,839Desert Sands Unified$17,070Glendale Unified$16,709Lodi Unified$16,495Orange Unified$15,133Manteca Unified$14,789Chino Valley Unified$14,518Temecula Valley Unified$14,165State median, 1,000+ students $16,855

Where the money came from

$738,006,000 in revenue: 53.4% state, 39.7% local and 6.9% federal. Total spending including $38,235,000 of capital outlay was $588,289,000, or $22,858 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

West Contra Costa Unified revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $393,746,000; Local $293,155,000; Federal $51,105,000; total $738,006,000.
  • State$393,746,000 53%
  • Local$293,155,000 40%
  • Federal$51,105,000 7%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 646 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

25,626 students in 2022-23, 25,459 students in 2023-24, 25,133 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

West Contra Costa Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 25,626, 2023-24: 25,459, 2024-25: 25,133010k20k30k2022-2325,6262023-2425,4592024-2525,133
West Contra Costa Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 25,626, 2023-24: 25,459, 2024-25: 25,133010k20k30k2022-2325,6262023-2425,4592024-2525,133
West Contra Costa Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 25,626, 2023-24: 25,459, 2024-25: 25,133010k20k30k2022-2325,6262023-2425,4592024-2525,133
West Contra Costa Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 25,626, 2023-24: 25,459, 2024-25: 25,133010k20k30k2022-2325,6262023-2425,4592024-2525,133

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2325,6261224.520.9
2023-2425,4591185.021.5
2024-2525,1331141.022.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$125,741,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,886 per student

West Contra Costa Unified booked $125,741,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 1,232 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $102,101 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 53 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$94,823,00075.4%
Special education$23,509,00018.7%
Vocational$2,104,0001.7%
Other programs$5,305,0004.2%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,974 in 2018-19, $4,013 in 2019-20, $3,748 in 2020-21, $4,522 in 2021-22, $4,886 in 2022-23.

West Contra Costa Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,974, 2019-20: $4,013, 2020-21: $3,748, 2021-22: $4,522, 2022-23: $4,88602k4k6k2018-19$3,9742019-20$4,0132020-21$3,7482021-22$4,5222022-23$4,886
West Contra Costa Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,974, 2019-20: $4,013, 2020-21: $3,748, 2021-22: $4,522, 2022-23: $4,88602k4k6k2018-19$3,9742019-20$4,0132020-21$3,7482021-22$4,5222022-23$4,886
West Contra Costa Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,974, 2019-20: $4,013, 2020-21: $3,748, 2021-22: $4,522, 2022-23: $4,88602k4k6k2018-19$3,9742019-20$4,0132020-21$3,7482021-22$4,5222022-23$4,886
West Contra Costa Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,974, 2019-20: $4,013, 2020-21: $3,748, 2021-22: $4,522, 2022-23: $4,88602k4k6k2018-19$3,9742019-20$4,0132020-21$3,7482021-22$4,5222022-23$4,886

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in West Contra Costa Unified scored proficient or above: 30% in reading and 21% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts30%45%11,096
Math21%34%11,156

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

84% of the 2,144 students in West Contra Costa Unified's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtCalifornia
Four-year graduation rate84%86.2%
Students in the class2,144495,492

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

37 elementary schools, 14,684 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Grant Elementary55121.269.7%Not reported
Peres Elementary53821.088.1%Not reported
Fairmont Elementary53723.344.1%Not reported
West County Mandarin52823.027.1%Not reported
Mira Vista Elementary51020.742.9%Not reported
Ohlone Elementary48223.228.0%Not reported
Harding Elementary48124.129.1%Not reported
Montalvin Manor Elementary47423.769.2%Not reported
Kensington Elementary47323.711.4%Not reported
Murphy Elementary46021.947.6%Not reported
Dover Elementary45822.988.9%Not reported
Madera Elementary45724.111.6%Not reported
The other 25 elementary schools
SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Michelle Obama Elementary43122.366.8%Not reported
Hanna Ranch Elementary42123.426.8%Not reported
Nystrom Elementary41523.170.8%Not reported
Cesar E. Chavez Elementary40824.095.3%Not reported
Edward M. Downer Elementary38821.884.5%Not reported
Lupine Hills Elementary38719.646.8%Not reported
Washington Elementary38521.441.0%Not reported
Stewart Elementary37920.540.9%Not reported
Highland Elementary37720.961.8%Not reported
Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary37522.188.0%Not reported
Ford Elementary37123.273.3%Not reported
Shannon Elementary35520.959.4%Not reported
Lake Elementary35024.364.0%Not reported
Riverside Elementary34321.660.9%Not reported
Verde Elementary34124.468.3%Not reported
Lincoln Elementary33920.279.9%Not reported
Bayview Elementary33520.991.9%Not reported
Ellerhorst Elementary31919.940.8%Not reported
Olinda Elementary31822.728.0%Not reported
Sheldon Elementary31821.557.2%Not reported
Tara Hills Elementary31722.655.8%Not reported
Collins Elementary31118.343.1%Not reported
Coronado Elementary30720.561.6%Not reported
Stege Elementary22518.173.8%Not reported
Valley View Elementary22022.050.0%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

6 middle schools, 2,996 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Fred T. Korematsu Middle70823.731.9%Not reported
Hercules Middle59624.729.7%Not reported
Helms Middle55822.273.1%Not reported
Pinole Middle38125.261.4%Not reported
Lovonya DeJean Middle38120.476.6%Not reported
Betty Reid Soskin Middle37218.549.5%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

8 high schools, 7,033 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
El Cerrito High1,46024.032.1%Not reported
Richmond High1,28022.485.9%Not reported
Pinole Valley High1,24524.849.2%Not reported
De Anza High1,04722.970.3%Not reported
Hercules High76723.827.4%Not reported
John F. Kennedy High74019.357.6%Not reported
Middle College High29430.744.2%Not reported
Greenwood Academy20017.881.5%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 420 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Vista Independent Study / Virtual Academy42012.150.2%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact West Contra Costa Unified

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about West Contra Costa Unified

  1. California districts by spending per studentWest Contra Costa Unified ranks 154 of 646 California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($19,122).#154 of 646
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaWest Contra Costa Unified is the number 34 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 25,737 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#34 of 1,991
  3. Desert Sands UnifiedThe next larger California district: 26,379 students in fall 2022, $17,070 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,070
  4. Chino Valley UnifiedThe next smaller California district: 25,645 students in fall 2022, $14,518 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,518
  5. Compare West Contra Costa Unified with Desert Sands UnifiedEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. El Cerrito High, its largest high school1,460 students in 2024-25, 24.0 per teacher.1,460
  7. Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaWest Contra Costa Unified spent $102,101 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$102,101
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about West Contra Costa Unified

  1. How many schools and students are in West Contra Costa Unified?
    52 schools were open in 2024-25 (37 elementary, 6 middle, 8 high, 1 other), enrolling 25,133 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does West Contra Costa Unified spend per student?
    $19,122 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,855 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,597 per student, up 12.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does West Contra Costa Unified's money come from?
    $738,006,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 53.4% state, 39.7% local and 6.9% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in West Contra Costa Unified live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 5,031 of the 38,148 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 13.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does West Contra Costa Unified spend on teacher salaries?
    $125,741,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,886 per student. Divided by the 1,232 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $102,101 per teacher, more than 53 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in West Contra Costa Unified do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in West Contra Costa Unified scored proficient or above: 30% in reading and 21% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in West Contra Costa Unified?
    84% of the 2,144 students in West Contra Costa Unified's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is West Contra Costa Unified's NCES district ID?
    0632550. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25