Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co.
Public school district · St. Louis County · Missouri · NCES district ID 2926760
Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co.'s fiscal year 2022-23 finance report (NCES F-33) gives no current spending per student. Its 10 schools enrolled 3,576 students in 2024-25. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $125,614 per student, up 6.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 45-49% (Missouri: 89.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Where the money came from
$547,494,000 in revenue: 21.7% state, 65.4% local and 12.9% federal. Total spending including $16,893,000 of capital outlay was $514,258,000; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$118,616,000 22%
- Local$358,144,000 65%
- Federal$70,734,000 13%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23, revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
4,148 students in 2022-23, 4,570 students in 2023-24, 3,576 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 4,148 | 1922.5 | 2.2 |
| 2023-24 | 4,570 | 1930.3 | 2.4 |
| 2024-25 | 3,576 | 2061.2 | 1.7 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co. scored proficient or above: 6% in reading and 4% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Missouri, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Missouri | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 6% | 43.2% | 383 |
| Math | 4% | 39.2% | 389 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
45-49% of the 134 students in Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co.'s class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Missouri | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 45‑49% | 89.3% |
| Students in the class | 134 | 67,017 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
3 elementary schools, 292 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ackerman | 137 | 3.6 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Litzsinger | 84 | 2.6 | 100.0% | Targeted program |
| Southview | 71 | 3.1 | 28.2% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
6 high schools, 2,061 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Technical | 885 | 25.1 | 4.4% | Not Title I |
| North Technical | 833 | 23.1 | 24.2% | Eligible, no program |
| Northview | 132 | 3.7 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Hiram Neuwoehner | 101 | 3.3 | 100.0% | Not Title I |
| Southview High | 66 | 3.1 | 16.7% | Not Title I |
| Juvenile Detention Ctr. | 44 | 4.4 | 40.9% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 other school, 1,223 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| External Sites | 1,223 | 0.7 | 6.1% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co.
- Website: ssdmo.org
- Phone: (314) 989-8100
- Office: 12110 Clayton Rd, Town & Country, MO 63131
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co.
- Every school district in MissouriSpecl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co. is the number 55 by size of 558 Missouri districts, with 4,148 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#55 of 558
- Rolla Public SchoolsThe next larger Missouri district: 4,161 students in fall 2022, $11,353 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,353
- Farmington R-ViiThe next smaller Missouri district: 3,925 students in fall 2022, $10,723 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,723
- Compare Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co. with Rolla Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- South Technical, its largest high school885 students in 2024-25, 25.1 per teacher.885
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co.
How many schools and students are in Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co.?
10 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 6 high, 1 other), enrolling 3,576 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.Where does Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co.'s money come from?
$547,494,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 21.7% state, 65.4% local and 12.9% federal (NCES F-33).How do students in Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co. do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co. scored proficient or above: 6% in reading and 4% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Missouri's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co.?
45-49% of the 134 students in Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co.'s class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Specl. Sch. Dst. St. Louis Co.'s NCES district ID?
2926760. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25