Rossford Schools
Listed by NCES as Rossford Exempted Village (district ID 3904560)
Public school district · Wood County · Ohio · NCES district ID 3904560
Rossford Schools spent $16,815 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 84% of the other Ohio districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,273). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,560 students in 2024-25; 22.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,439 per student, up 9.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Ohio: 86.2%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Ohio districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Rossford Schools in enrollment (1,649 to 1,668 students) and Rossford Schools itself.
Where the money came from
$36,980,000 in revenue: 22.1% state, 73.4% local and 4.4% federal. Total spending including $14,631,000 of capital outlay was $46,778,000, or $28,214 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$8,187,000 22%
- Local$27,150,000 73%
- Federal$1,643,000 4%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 452 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
1,658 students in 2022-23, 1,587 students in 2023-24, 1,560 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 1,658 | not reported | not reported |
| 2023-24 | 1,587 | 86.0 | 18.5 |
| 2024-25 | 1,560 | 89.0 | 17.5 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Rossford Schools scored proficient or above: 52-56% in reading and 50-54% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | Ohio | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 52-56% | 59% | 710 |
| Math | 50-54% | 54% | 704 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
90-94% of the 160 students in Rossford Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Ohio | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 90‑94% | 86.2% |
| Students in the class | 160 | 132,008 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 812 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rossford Elementary School | 812 | 19.1 | 41.4% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 353 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rossford Junior High School | 353 | 18.6 | not reported | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 395 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rossford High School | 395 | 14.4 | 78.7% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Rossford Schools
- Website: rossfordschools.org
- Phone: (419) 666-2010
- Office: 701 Superior St, Rossford, OH 43460
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Rossford Schools
- Ohio districts by spending per studentRossford Schools ranks 75 of 452 Ohio districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,815).#75 of 452
- Every school district in OhioRossford Schools is the number 287 by size of 999 Ohio districts, with 1,658 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#287 of 999
- Lakewood Local School DistrictThe next larger Ohio district: 1,661 students in fall 2022, $15,650 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,650
- Johnstown-Monroe School DistrictThe next smaller Ohio district: 1,650 students in fall 2022, $13,813 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,813
- Compare Rossford Schools with Lakewood Local School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Rossford High School, its largest high school395 students in 2024-25, 14.4 per teacher.395
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Rossford Schools
How many schools and students are in Rossford Schools?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,560 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Rossford Schools spend per student?
$16,815 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Ohio median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,273 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,439 per student, up 9.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Rossford Schools' money come from?
$36,980,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 22.1% state, 73.4% local and 4.4% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Rossford Schools live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 228 of the 1,845 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 12.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in Rossford Schools do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Rossford Schools scored proficient or above: 52-56% in reading and 50-54% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Rossford Schools?
90-94% of the 160 students in Rossford Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Rossford Schools' NCES district ID?
3904560. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25