Ontario-Montclair School District
Listed by NCES as Ontario-Montclair (district ID 0628470)
Public school district · San Bernardino County · California · NCES district ID 0628470
Ontario-Montclair School District spent $21,832 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 91% of the other California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $16,855). Its 33 schools enrolled 17,640 students in 2024-25; 79.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $24,222 per student, up 10.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among California districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Ontario-Montclair in enrollment (17,788 to 19,379 students) and Ontario-Montclair itself.
Where the money came from
$522,983,000 in revenue: 79.0% state, 10.6% local and 10.4% federal. Total spending including $11,347,000 of capital outlay was $419,282,000, or $22,699 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$412,970,000 79%
- Local$55,463,000 11%
- Federal$54,550,000 10%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 646 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
18,428 students in 2022-23, 17,896 students in 2023-24, 17,640 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 18,428 | 865.2 | 21.3 |
| 2023-24 | 17,896 | 858.6 | 20.8 |
| 2024-25 | 17,640 | 825.7 | 21.4 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$138,223,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $7,483 per student
Ontario-Montclair School District booked $138,223,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 865 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $159,751 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 99 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $116,166,000 | 84.0% |
| Special education | $21,690,000 | 15.7% |
| Other programs | $367,000 | 0.3% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,956 in 2018-19, $5,121 in 2019-20, $5,327 in 2020-21, $6,006 in 2021-22, $7,483 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Ontario-Montclair School District scored proficient or above: 40% in reading and 26% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | California | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 40% | 45% | 12,600 |
| Math | 26% | 34% | 12,589 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
27 elementary schools, 13,954 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Edison Elementary | 736 | 25.9 | 54.3% | Not reported |
| Central Language Academy | 736 | 25.1 | 53.5% | Not reported |
| Richard Haynes Elementary | 641 | 23.7 | 72.4% | Not reported |
| Berlyn Elementary | 639 | 22.8 | 77.2% | Not reported |
| Bon View Elementary | 598 | 23.9 | 75.8% | Not reported |
| Sultana Elementary | 589 | 19.9 | 73.9% | Not reported |
| Euclid Elementary | 572 | 21.1 | 75.9% | Not reported |
| Mission Elementary | 571 | 23.8 | 73.4% | Not reported |
| Montera Elementary | 564 | 17.6 | 78.9% | Not reported |
| Vineyard Elementary | 562 | 25.4 | 73.0% | Not reported |
| Ramona Elementary | 556 | 23.2 | 78.2% | Not reported |
| Hawthorne Elementary | 549 | 24.8 | 65.9% | Not reported |
The other 15 elementary schools
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elderberry Elementary | 544 | 22.5 | 79.4% | Not reported |
| Mariposa Elementary | 537 | 21.5 | 81.0% | Not reported |
| Monte Vista Elementary | 535 | 24.3 | 66.7% | Not reported |
| Lincoln Elementary | 530 | 18.5 | 77.5% | Not reported |
| Kingsley Elementary | 494 | 24.7 | 79.8% | Not reported |
| Arroyo Elementary | 493 | 21.2 | 68.6% | Not reported |
| Lehigh Elementary | 477 | 23.9 | 81.1% | Not reported |
| El Camino Elementary | 476 | 18.3 | 66.2% | Not reported |
| Howard Elementary | 433 | 23.9 | 75.8% | Not reported |
| Del Norte Elementary | 428 | 21.4 | 81.8% | Not reported |
| Moreno Elementary | 428 | 21.4 | 65.4% | Not reported |
| Corona Elementary | 414 | 22.9 | 79.5% | Not reported |
| Buena Vista Arts-Integrated | 369 | 24.6 | 46.9% | Not reported |
| Vista Grande Elementary | 358 | 23.9 | 55.9% | Not reported |
| Online Academy | 125 | 16.7 | 76.8% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
6 middle schools, 3,686 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ray Wiltsey Middle | 727 | 17.5 | 83.9% | Not reported |
| Oaks Middle | 668 | 21.5 | 72.9% | Not reported |
| Serrano Middle | 657 | 18.4 | 73.7% | Not reported |
| Vernon Middle | 580 | 18.9 | 70.0% | Not reported |
| Vina Danks Middle | 544 | 16.3 | 75.7% | Not reported |
| De Anza Middle | 510 | 15.9 | 74.9% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Ontario-Montclair School District
- Website: omsd.net
- Phone: (909) 459-2500
- Office: 950 West D St., Ontario, CA 91762
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Ontario-Montclair School District
- California districts by spending per studentOntario-Montclair School District ranks 56 of 646 California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($21,832).#56 of 646
- Every school district in CaliforniaOntario-Montclair School District is the number 68 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 18,471 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#68 of 1,991
- Vista UnifiedThe next larger California district: 18,818 students in fall 2022, $17,624 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,624
- Jurupa UnifiedThe next smaller California district: 18,370 students in fall 2022, $19,991 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,991
- Compare Ontario-Montclair School District with Vista UnifiedEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaOntario-Montclair School District spent $159,751 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$159,751
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Ontario-Montclair School District
How many schools and students are in Ontario-Montclair School District?
33 schools were open in 2024-25 (27 elementary, 6 middle), enrolling 17,640 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Ontario-Montclair School District spend per student?
$21,832 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,855 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $24,222 per student, up 10.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Ontario-Montclair School District's money come from?
$522,983,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 79.0% state, 10.6% local and 10.4% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Ontario-Montclair School District live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 3,690 of the 21,081 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 17.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Ontario-Montclair School District spend on teacher salaries?
$138,223,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $7,483 per student. Divided by the 865 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $159,751 per teacher, more than 99 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Ontario-Montclair School District do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Ontario-Montclair School District scored proficient or above: 40% in reading and 26% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is Ontario-Montclair School District's NCES district ID?
0628470. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25