Mullin ISD
Public school district · Mills County · Texas · NCES district ID 4831920
Mullin ISD spent $33,342 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 99% of the other Texas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $15,156). Its 2 schools enrolled 92 students in 2024-25; 46.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $26,536 per student, down 20.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 50% or more (Texas: 90.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Mullin ISD in enrollment (188 to 198 students) and Mullin ISD itself.
Where the money came from
$6,129,000 in revenue: 46.2% state, 26.6% local and 27.2% federal. Total spending including $328,000 of capital outlay was $6,787,000, or $35,166 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$2,833,000 46%
- Local$1,630,000 27%
- Federal$1,666,000 27%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 629 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
193 students in 2022-23, 166 students in 2023-24, 92 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 193 | 34.4 | 5.6 |
| 2023-24 | 166 | 30.1 | 5.5 |
| 2024-25 | 92 | 18.2 | 5.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Mullin ISD scored proficient or above: 22-61% in reading and 31-69% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | Texas | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 22-61% | 52% | 54 |
| Math | 31-69% | 42% | 46 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
50% or more of the 14 students in Mullin ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Texas | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 50% or more | 90.3% |
| Students in the class | 14 | 403,301 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
2 other schools, 92 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mullin Main | 79 | 5.2 | 58.2% | Schoolwide program |
| Mullin New Horizons Abiliene | 13 | 4.4 | not reported | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
3 more schools on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory
These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.
Mullin Oaks
School in Brownwood; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 40 students; 4.5 students per teacher.
Mullin Garza County Rjc
School in Post; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 26 students; 5.9 students per teacher.
Mullin Mosaic
School in Levelland; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 12 students; 5.5 students per teacher.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.
Contact Mullin ISD
- Website: mullinisd.net
- Phone: (325) 313-0030
- Office: 403 W Bulldog Dr, Mullin, TX 76864
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Mullin ISD
- Texas districts by spending per studentMullin ISD ranks 9 of 629 Texas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($33,342).#9 of 629
- Every school district in TexasMullin ISD is the number 1,058 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 193 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1,058 of 1,212
- Utopia ISDThe next larger Texas district: 194 students in fall 2022, $16,773 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,773
- Royal Public SchoolsThe next smaller Texas district: 192 students in fall 2022, $20,896 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,896
- Compare Mullin ISD with Utopia ISDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Mullin ISD
How many schools and students are in Mullin ISD?
2 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 other), enrolling 92 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Mullin ISD spend per student?
$33,342 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,156 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $26,536 per student, down 20.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Mullin ISD's money come from?
$6,129,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 46.2% state, 26.6% local and 27.2% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Mullin ISD live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 39 of the 110 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 35.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in Mullin ISD do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Mullin ISD scored proficient or above: 22-61% in reading and 31-69% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Mullin ISD?
50% or more of the 14 students in Mullin ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Mullin ISD's NCES district ID?
4831920. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25