MSD Martinsville Schools
Public school district · Morgan County · Indiana · NCES district ID 1806510
MSD Martinsville Schools spent $13,558 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 79% of the other Indiana districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,329). Its 10 schools enrolled 3,998 students in 2024-25; 62.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,296 per student, down 1.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 87% (Indiana: 88.1%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Indiana districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to MSD Martinsville Schools in enrollment (3,889 to 4,231 students) and MSD Martinsville Schools itself.
Where the money came from
$61,351,000 in revenue: 62.5% state, 24.9% local and 12.7% federal. Total spending including $6,550,000 of capital outlay was $61,970,000, or $15,290 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$38,333,000 62%
- Local$15,257,000 25%
- Federal$7,761,000 13%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 240 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
4,053 students in 2022-23, 4,081 students in 2023-24, 3,998 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 4,053 | 329.0 | 12.3 |
| 2023-24 | 4,081 | 292.0 | 14.0 |
| 2024-25 | 3,998 | 303.0 | 13.2 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$14,605,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,604 per student
MSD Martinsville Schools booked $14,605,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 329 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $44,392 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 13 in 100 Indiana districts with a figure (state median $51,375, 357 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Indiana teacher salary at $54,126 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $12,205,000 | 83.6% |
| Special education | $1,653,000 | 11.3% |
| Vocational | $574,000 | 3.9% |
| Other programs | $173,000 | 1.2% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,092 in 2018-19, $3,167 in 2019-20, $3,389 in 2020-21, $3,299 in 2021-22, $3,604 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in MSD Martinsville Schools scored proficient or above: 38% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Indiana, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Indiana | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Math | 38% | 37.5% | 2,040 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
87% of the 336 students in MSD Martinsville Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across Indiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Indiana | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 87% | 88.1% |
| Students in the class | 336 | 77,216 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
7 elementary schools, 1,614 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charles L Smith Fine Arts Academy | 375 | 15.3 | 48.3% | Schoolwide program |
| South Elementary School of Communications | 302 | 12.9 | 55.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Brooklyn STEM Academy | 241 | 14.4 | 40.7% | Schoolwide program |
| Poston Road Elementary School | 237 | 13.2 | 62.9% | Schoolwide program |
| Paragon Elementary School | 196 | 12.6 | 51.0% | Schoolwide program |
| Green Township Elementary School | 137 | 16.3 | 37.2% | Not Title I |
| Centerton Elementary School | 126 | 20.1 | 41.3% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 middle schools, 1,100 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| John R. Wooden Middle School | 576 | 11.9 | 43.8% | Eligible, no program |
| Bell Intermediate Academy | 524 | 13.8 | 44.7% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 1,284 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Martinsville High School | 1,284 | 12.4 | 36.0% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact MSD Martinsville Schools
- Website: msdofmartinsville.org
- Phone: (765) 342-6641
- Office: 389 E Jackson Street, Martinsville, IN 46151
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about MSD Martinsville Schools
- Indiana districts by spending per studentMSD Martinsville Schools ranks 52 of 240 Indiana districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,558).#52 of 240
- Every school district in IndianaMSD Martinsville Schools is the number 66 by size of 414 Indiana districts, with 4,053 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#66 of 414
- Gary Community School CorporationThe next larger Indiana district: 4,076 students in fall 2022, $27,740 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$27,740
- Clay Community SchoolsThe next smaller Indiana district: 4,040 students in fall 2022, $12,663 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,663
- Compare MSD Martinsville Schools with Gary Community School CorporationEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Martinsville High School, its largest high school1,284 students in 2024-25, 12.4 per teacher.1,284
- Teacher salary spending across IndianaMSD Martinsville Schools spent $44,392 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $51,375); spending, not a salary.$44,392
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about MSD Martinsville Schools
How many schools and students are in MSD Martinsville Schools?
10 schools were open in 2024-25 (7 elementary, 2 middle, 1 high), enrolling 3,998 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does MSD Martinsville Schools spend per student?
$13,558 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Indiana median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,329 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,296 per student, down 1.9% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does MSD Martinsville Schools' money come from?
$61,351,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 62.5% state, 24.9% local and 12.7% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in MSD Martinsville Schools live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 582 of the 5,081 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does MSD Martinsville Schools spend on teacher salaries?
$14,605,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,604 per student. Divided by the 329 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $44,392 per teacher, more than 13 in 100 Indiana districts (state median $51,375). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Indiana teacher salary at $54,126 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in MSD Martinsville Schools do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in MSD Martinsville Schools scored proficient or above: 38% in math, against 41.3% in reading and 37.5% in math across Indiana. Indiana's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in MSD Martinsville Schools?
87% of the 336 students in MSD Martinsville Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.1% across Indiana. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is MSD Martinsville Schools' NCES district ID?
1806510. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25