Maxwell Unified
Public school district · Colusa County · California · NCES district ID 0624150
Maxwell Unified spent $19,438 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 65% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $17,666). Its 3 schools enrolled 331 students in 2024-25; 62.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,900 per student, down 2.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (California: 86.2%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among California districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Maxwell Unified in enrollment (339 to 341 students) and Maxwell Unified itself.
Where the money came from
$8,489,000 in revenue: 62.7% state, 28.8% local and 8.5% federal. Total spending including $752,000 of capital outlay was $7,674,000, or $22,571 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$5,326,000 63%
- Local$2,441,000 29%
- Federal$722,000 9%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
340 students in 2022-23, 350 students in 2023-24, 331 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 340 | 19.0 | 17.9 |
| 2023-24 | 350 | 20.5 | 17.1 |
| 2024-25 | 331 | 22.1 | 15.0 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$1,778,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,229 per student
Maxwell Unified booked $1,778,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 19 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $93,628 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 39 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $1,407,000 | 79.1% |
| Vocational | $371,000 | 20.9% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,559 in 2018-19, $4,402 in 2019-20, $4,994 in 2020-21, $4,785 in 2021-22, $5,229 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Maxwell Unified scored proficient or above: 34-47% in reading and 32-46% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | California | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 34-47% | 45% | 177 |
| Math | 32-46% | 34% | 176 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
80% or more of the 23 students in Maxwell Unified's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | California | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 80% or more | 86.2% |
| Students in the class | 23 | 495,492 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 124 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maxwell Elementary | 124 | 17.7 | 70.2% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 90 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maxwell Middle | 90 | 20.1 | 66.7% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 117 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maxwell Senior High | 117 | 11.1 | 62.4% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Maxwell Unified
- Website: maxwell.k12.ca.us
- Phone: (530) 438-2052
- Office: 515 Oak St., Maxwell, CA 95955
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Maxwell Unified
- California districts by spending per studentMaxwell Unified ranks 428 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($19,438).#428 of 1,238
- Every school district in CaliforniaMaxwell Unified is the number 1,297 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 340 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1,297 of 1,991
- High Tech Middle Media Arts DistrictThe next larger California district: 341 students in fall 2022, $12,434 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,434
- Alliance Leichtman-Levine FAM Foundation Env Sci High DISTThe next smaller California district: 339 students in fall 2022, $22,327 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$22,327
- Compare Maxwell Unified with High Tech Middle Media Arts DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Maxwell Senior High, its largest high school117 students in 2024-25, 11.1 per teacher.117
- Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaMaxwell Unified spent $93,628 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$93,628
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Maxwell Unified
How many schools and students are in Maxwell Unified?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 331 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Maxwell Unified spend per student?
$19,438 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,900 per student, down 2.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Maxwell Unified's money come from?
$8,489,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 62.7% state, 28.8% local and 8.5% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Maxwell Unified live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 74 of the 328 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 22.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Maxwell Unified spend on teacher salaries?
$1,778,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,229 per student. Divided by the 19 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $93,628 per teacher, more than 39 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Maxwell Unified do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Maxwell Unified scored proficient or above: 34-47% in reading and 32-46% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Maxwell Unified?
80% or more of the 23 students in Maxwell Unified's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Maxwell Unified's NCES district ID?
0624150. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25