Marengo-Union E Cons D 165

Public school district · McHenry County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1700077

Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 spent $14,571 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 79% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,127). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,092 students in 2024-25; 34.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,584 per student, up 7.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 in enrollment (1,036 to 1,068 students) and Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Marengo-Union E Cons D 165, FY23Skokie SD 73-5 $26,771; Lincoln Elementary School District #27 $17,100; Westchester SD 92-5 $16,301; Lawrence County CUD 20 $15,211; Beecher CUSD 200U $15,067; Princeton ESD 115 $14,760; Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 $14,571; Rockridge CUSD 300 $14,345; Mendota CCSD 289 $13,901; PORTA Community School District #202 $13,630; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25k30kSkokie SD 73-5$26,771Lincoln Elementary School Dist…$17,100Westchester SD 92-5$16,301Lawrence County CUD 20$15,211Beecher CUSD 200U$15,067Princeton ESD 115$14,760Marengo-Union E Cons D 165$14,571Rockridge CUSD 300$14,345Mendota CCSD 289$13,901PORTA Community School Distric…$13,630State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Marengo-Union E Cons D 165, FY23Skokie SD 73-5 $26,771; Lincoln Elementary School District #27 $17,100; Westchester SD 92-5 $16,301; Lawrence County CUD 20 $15,211; Beecher CUSD 200U $15,067; Princeton ESD 115 $14,760; Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 $14,571; Rockridge CUSD 300 $14,345; Mendota CCSD 289 $13,901; PORTA Community School District #202 $13,630; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25k30kSkokie SD 73-5$26,771Lincoln Elementary School District …$17,100Westchester SD 92-5$16,301Lawrence County CUD 20$15,211Beecher CUSD 200U$15,067Princeton ESD 115$14,760Marengo-Union E Cons D 165$14,571Rockridge CUSD 300$14,345Mendota CCSD 289$13,901PORTA Community School District #202$13,630State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Marengo-Union E Cons D 165, FY23Skokie SD 73-5 $26,771; Lincoln Elementary School District #27 $17,100; Westchester SD 92-5 $16,301; Lawrence County CUD 20 $15,211; Beecher CUSD 200U $15,067; Princeton ESD 115 $14,760; Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 $14,571; Rockridge CUSD 300 $14,345; Mendota CCSD 289 $13,901; PORTA Community School District #202 $13,630; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k20k30kSkokie SD 73-5$26,771Lincoln Elementary School District #27$17,100Westchester SD 92-5$16,301Lawrence County CUD 20$15,211Beecher CUSD 200U$15,067Princeton ESD 115$14,760Marengo-Union E Cons D 165$14,571Rockridge CUSD 300$14,345Mendota CCSD 289$13,901PORTA Community School District #202$13,630State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Marengo-Union E Cons D 165, FY23Skokie SD 73-5 $26,771; Lincoln Elementary School District #27 $17,100; Westchester SD 92-5 $16,301; Lawrence County CUD 20 $15,211; Beecher CUSD 200U $15,067; Princeton ESD 115 $14,760; Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 $14,571; Rockridge CUSD 300 $14,345; Mendota CCSD 289 $13,901; PORTA Community School District #202 $13,630; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k20k30kSkokie SD 73-5$26,771Lincoln Elementary School District #27$17,100Westchester SD 92-5$16,301Lawrence County CUD 20$15,211Beecher CUSD 200U$15,067Princeton ESD 115$14,760Marengo-Union E Cons D 165$14,571Rockridge CUSD 300$14,345Mendota CCSD 289$13,901PORTA Community School District #202$13,630State median, 1,000+ students $18,127

Where the money came from

$19,494,000 in revenue: 34.1% state, 57.4% local and 8.5% federal. Total spending including $1,688,000 of capital outlay was $17,565,000, or $16,649 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $6,641,000; Local $11,194,000; Federal $1,659,000; total $19,494,000.
  • State$6,641,000 34%
  • Local$11,194,000 57%
  • Federal$1,659,000 9%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,055 students in 2022-23, 1,081 students in 2023-24, 1,092 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,055, 2023-24: 1,081, 2024-25: 1,09205001k1.5k2022-231,0552023-241,0812024-251,092
Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,055, 2023-24: 1,081, 2024-25: 1,09205001k1.5k2022-231,0552023-241,0812024-251,092
Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,055, 2023-24: 1,081, 2024-25: 1,09205001k1.5k2022-231,0552023-241,0812024-251,092
Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,055, 2023-24: 1,081, 2024-25: 1,09205001k1.5k2022-231,0552023-241,0812024-251,092

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,05570.515.0
2023-241,08170.515.3
2024-251,09271.815.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 scored proficient or above: 26% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts26%29.9%630

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

2 elementary schools, 750 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Locust Elementary School50114.4All free (CEP)Schoolwide program
Ulysses S Grant Intermediate School24915.9All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 342 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Marengo Comm Middle School34216.1All free (CEP)Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Marengo-Union E Cons D 165

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Marengo-Union E Cons D 165

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentMarengo-Union E Cons D 165 ranks 297 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,571).#297 of 377
  2. Every school district in IllinoisMarengo-Union E Cons D 165 is the number 364 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 1,055 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#364 of 865
  3. Lincoln Elementary School District #27The next larger Illinois district: 1,061 students in fall 2022, $17,100 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,100
  4. Lawrence County CUD 20The next smaller Illinois district: 1,054 students in fall 2022, $15,211 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,211
  5. Compare Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 with Lincoln Elementary School District #27Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Marengo-Union E Cons D 165

  1. How many schools and students are in Marengo-Union E Cons D 165?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 1,092 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 spend per student?
    $14,571 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,584 per student, up 7.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Marengo-Union E Cons D 165's money come from?
    $19,494,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 34.1% state, 57.4% local and 8.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 109 of the 1,121 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 9.7%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 scored proficient or above: 26% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is Marengo-Union E Cons D 165's NCES district ID?
    1700077. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25