Lawrence County CUD 20

Public school district · Lawrence County · Illinois · NCES district ID 1722150

Lawrence County CUD 20 spent $15,211 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 74% of the other Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,127). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,061 students in 2024-25; 60.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,403 per student, up 14.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 65-69% (Illinois: 87.6%).

Spending per student among Illinois districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Lawrence County CUD 20 in enrollment (1,036 to 1,068 students) and Lawrence County CUD 20 itself.

Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Lawrence County CUD 20, FY23Skokie SD 73-5 $26,771; Lincoln Elementary School District #27 $17,100; Westchester SD 92-5 $16,301; Lawrence County CUD 20 $15,211; Beecher CUSD 200U $15,067; Princeton ESD 115 $14,760; Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 $14,571; Rockridge CUSD 300 $14,345; Mendota CCSD 289 $13,901; PORTA Community School District #202 $13,630; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25k30kSkokie SD 73-5$26,771Lincoln Elementary School Dist…$17,100Westchester SD 92-5$16,301Lawrence County CUD 20$15,211Beecher CUSD 200U$15,067Princeton ESD 115$14,760Marengo-Union E Cons D 165$14,571Rockridge CUSD 300$14,345Mendota CCSD 289$13,901PORTA Community School Distric…$13,630State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Lawrence County CUD 20, FY23Skokie SD 73-5 $26,771; Lincoln Elementary School District #27 $17,100; Westchester SD 92-5 $16,301; Lawrence County CUD 20 $15,211; Beecher CUSD 200U $15,067; Princeton ESD 115 $14,760; Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 $14,571; Rockridge CUSD 300 $14,345; Mendota CCSD 289 $13,901; PORTA Community School District #202 $13,630; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k15k20k25k30kSkokie SD 73-5$26,771Lincoln Elementary School District …$17,100Westchester SD 92-5$16,301Lawrence County CUD 20$15,211Beecher CUSD 200U$15,067Princeton ESD 115$14,760Marengo-Union E Cons D 165$14,571Rockridge CUSD 300$14,345Mendota CCSD 289$13,901PORTA Community School District #202$13,630State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Lawrence County CUD 20, FY23Skokie SD 73-5 $26,771; Lincoln Elementary School District #27 $17,100; Westchester SD 92-5 $16,301; Lawrence County CUD 20 $15,211; Beecher CUSD 200U $15,067; Princeton ESD 115 $14,760; Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 $14,571; Rockridge CUSD 300 $14,345; Mendota CCSD 289 $13,901; PORTA Community School District #202 $13,630; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k20k30kSkokie SD 73-5$26,771Lincoln Elementary School District #27$17,100Westchester SD 92-5$16,301Lawrence County CUD 20$15,211Beecher CUSD 200U$15,067Princeton ESD 115$14,760Marengo-Union E Cons D 165$14,571Rockridge CUSD 300$14,345Mendota CCSD 289$13,901PORTA Community School District #202$13,630State median, 1,000+ students $18,127
Current spending per student, Illinois districts closest in size to Lawrence County CUD 20, FY23Skokie SD 73-5 $26,771; Lincoln Elementary School District #27 $17,100; Westchester SD 92-5 $16,301; Lawrence County CUD 20 $15,211; Beecher CUSD 200U $15,067; Princeton ESD 115 $14,760; Marengo-Union E Cons D 165 $14,571; Rockridge CUSD 300 $14,345; Mendota CCSD 289 $13,901; PORTA Community School District #202 $13,630; State median, 1,000+ students $18,127.10k20k30kSkokie SD 73-5$26,771Lincoln Elementary School District #27$17,100Westchester SD 92-5$16,301Lawrence County CUD 20$15,211Beecher CUSD 200U$15,067Princeton ESD 115$14,760Marengo-Union E Cons D 165$14,571Rockridge CUSD 300$14,345Mendota CCSD 289$13,901PORTA Community School District #202$13,630State median, 1,000+ students $18,127

Where the money came from

$18,928,000 in revenue: 60.3% state, 30.0% local and 9.7% federal. Total spending including $206,000 of capital outlay was $17,376,000, or $16,486 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Lawrence County CUD 20 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $11,411,000; Local $5,676,000; Federal $1,841,000; total $18,928,000.
  • State$11,411,000 60%
  • Local$5,676,000 30%
  • Federal$1,841,000 10%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 377 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,054 students in 2022-23, 1,040 students in 2023-24, 1,061 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Lawrence County CUD 20 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,054, 2023-24: 1,040, 2024-25: 1,06105001k1.5k2022-231,0542023-241,0402024-251,061
Lawrence County CUD 20 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,054, 2023-24: 1,040, 2024-25: 1,06105001k1.5k2022-231,0542023-241,0402024-251,061
Lawrence County CUD 20 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,054, 2023-24: 1,040, 2024-25: 1,06105001k1.5k2022-231,0542023-241,0402024-251,061
Lawrence County CUD 20 enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,054, 2023-24: 1,040, 2024-25: 1,06105001k1.5k2022-231,0542023-241,0402024-251,061

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,05489.211.8
2023-241,04090.411.5
2024-251,06189.211.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Lawrence County CUD 20 scored proficient or above: 24% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtIllinoisStudents tested
Reading and language arts24%29.9%557

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

65-69% of the 100 students in Lawrence County CUD 20's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtIllinois
Four-year graduation rate65‑69%87.6%
Students in the class100149,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 528 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Parkside Elementary School52813.4not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 235 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Parkview Jr High School23512.2not reportedEligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 298 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lawrenceville High School2989.8not reportedEligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Lawrence County CUD 20

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Lawrence County CUD 20

  1. Illinois districts by spending per studentLawrence County CUD 20 ranks 280 of 377 Illinois districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,211).#280 of 377
  2. Every school district in IllinoisLawrence County CUD 20 is the number 365 by size of 865 Illinois districts, with 1,054 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#365 of 865
  3. Marengo-Union E Cons D 165The next larger Illinois district: 1,055 students in fall 2022, $14,571 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,571
  4. ISU Laboratory SchoolsThe next smaller Illinois district: 1,045 students in fall 2022.
  5. Compare Lawrence County CUD 20 with Marengo-Union E Cons D 165Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Lawrenceville High School, its largest high school298 students in 2024-25, 9.8 per teacher.298
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Lawrence County CUD 20

  1. How many schools and students are in Lawrence County CUD 20?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,061 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Lawrence County CUD 20 spend per student?
    $15,211 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Illinois median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,127 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,403 per student, up 14.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Lawrence County CUD 20's money come from?
    $18,928,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 60.3% state, 30.0% local and 9.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Lawrence County CUD 20 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 197 of the 1,173 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 16.8%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How do students in Lawrence County CUD 20 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Lawrence County CUD 20 scored proficient or above: 24% in reading, against 29.9% in reading across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Lawrence County CUD 20?
    65-69% of the 100 students in Lawrence County CUD 20's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.6% across Illinois. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Lawrence County CUD 20's NCES district ID?
    1722150. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25