Hardin-Houston Local

Public school district · Shelby County · Ohio · NCES district ID 3904979

Hardin-Houston Local spent $13,802 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 70% of the other Ohio districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $15,201). Its 2 schools enrolled 720 students in 2024-25; 51.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,680 per student, up 13.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Ohio: 86.2%).

Spending per student among Ohio districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Hardin-Houston Local in enrollment (761 to 791 students) and Hardin-Houston Local itself.

Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Hardin-Houston Local, FY23Medina County Joint Vocational $24,709; Cardinal Local Schools $19,386; Montpelier Exempted Village Schools $17,399; Mogadore Local $16,426; Twin Valley Community Schools $15,107; Hardin-Houston Local $13,802; Hopewell-Loudon Local $12,501; Pathway School of Discovery $12,440; GOAL Digital Academy $10,122; Dayton Regional STEM School $8,524; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.5k10k15k20k25k30kMedina County Joint Vocational$24,709Cardinal Local Schools$19,386Montpelier Exempted Village Sc…$17,399Mogadore Local$16,426Twin Valley Community Schools$15,107Hardin-Houston Local$13,802Hopewell-Loudon Local$12,501Pathway School of Discovery$12,440GOAL Digital Academy$10,122Dayton Regional STEM School$8,524State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Hardin-Houston Local, FY23Medina County Joint Vocational $24,709; Cardinal Local Schools $19,386; Montpelier Exempted Village Schools $17,399; Mogadore Local $16,426; Twin Valley Community Schools $15,107; Hardin-Houston Local $13,802; Hopewell-Loudon Local $12,501; Pathway School of Discovery $12,440; GOAL Digital Academy $10,122; Dayton Regional STEM School $8,524; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.5k10k15k20k25k30kMedina County Joint Vocational$24,709Cardinal Local Schools$19,386Montpelier Exempted Village Schools$17,399Mogadore Local$16,426Twin Valley Community Schools$15,107Hardin-Houston Local$13,802Hopewell-Loudon Local$12,501Pathway School of Discovery$12,440GOAL Digital Academy$10,122Dayton Regional STEM School$8,524State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Hardin-Houston Local, FY23Medina County Joint Vocational $24,709; Cardinal Local Schools $19,386; Montpelier Exempted Village Schools $17,399; Mogadore Local $16,426; Twin Valley Community Schools $15,107; Hardin-Houston Local $13,802; Hopewell-Loudon Local $12,501; Pathway School of Discovery $12,440; GOAL Digital Academy $10,122; Dayton Regional STEM School $8,524; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.5k15k25k30kMedina County Joint Vocational$24,709Cardinal Local Schools$19,386Montpelier Exempted Village Schools$17,399Mogadore Local$16,426Twin Valley Community Schools$15,107Hardin-Houston Local$13,802Hopewell-Loudon Local$12,501Pathway School of Discovery$12,440GOAL Digital Academy$10,122Dayton Regional STEM School$8,524State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Hardin-Houston Local, FY23Medina County Joint Vocational $24,709; Cardinal Local Schools $19,386; Montpelier Exempted Village Schools $17,399; Mogadore Local $16,426; Twin Valley Community Schools $15,107; Hardin-Houston Local $13,802; Hopewell-Loudon Local $12,501; Pathway School of Discovery $12,440; GOAL Digital Academy $10,122; Dayton Regional STEM School $8,524; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.5k15k25k30kMedina County Joint Vocational$24,709Cardinal Local Schools$19,386Montpelier Exempted Village Schools$17,399Mogadore Local$16,426Twin Valley Community Schools$15,107Hardin-Houston Local$13,802Hopewell-Loudon Local$12,501Pathway School of Discovery$12,440GOAL Digital Academy$10,122Dayton Regional STEM School$8,524State median, under 1,000 students $15,201

Where the money came from

$12,451,000 in revenue: 51.1% state, 40.2% local and 8.6% federal. Total spending including $538,000 of capital outlay was $11,797,000, or $15,144 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Hardin-Houston Local revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $6,368,000; Local $5,008,000; Federal $1,075,000; total $12,451,000.
  • State$6,368,000 51%
  • Local$5,008,000 40%
  • Federal$1,075,000 9%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 529 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

779 students in 2022-23, 734 students in 2023-24, 720 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Hardin-Houston Local enrollment by school year2022-23: 779, 2023-24: 734, 2024-25: 72002004006008002022-237792023-247342024-25720
Hardin-Houston Local enrollment by school year2022-23: 779, 2023-24: 734, 2024-25: 72002004006008002022-237792023-247342024-25720
Hardin-Houston Local enrollment by school year2022-23: 779, 2023-24: 734, 2024-25: 72002004006008002022-237792023-247342024-25720
Hardin-Houston Local enrollment by school year2022-23: 779, 2023-24: 734, 2024-25: 72002004006008002022-237792023-247342024-25720

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2377946.016.9
2023-2473445.016.3
2024-2572047.015.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,326,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,270 per student

Hardin-Houston Local booked $3,326,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 52 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $64,072 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 11 in 100 Ohio districts with a figure (state median $78,983, 642 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,741,00082.4%
Special education$515,00015.5%
Vocational$70,0002.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,562 in 2018-19, $3,836 in 2019-20, $4,089 in 2020-21, $4,130 in 2021-22, $4,270 in 2022-23.

Hardin-Houston Local teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,562, 2019-20: $3,836, 2020-21: $4,089, 2021-22: $4,130, 2022-23: $4,27002k4k6k2018-19$3,5622019-20$3,8362020-21$4,0892021-22$4,1302022-23$4,270
Hardin-Houston Local teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,562, 2019-20: $3,836, 2020-21: $4,089, 2021-22: $4,130, 2022-23: $4,27002k4k6k2018-19$3,5622019-20$3,8362020-21$4,0892021-22$4,1302022-23$4,270
Hardin-Houston Local teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,562, 2019-20: $3,836, 2020-21: $4,089, 2021-22: $4,130, 2022-23: $4,27002k4k6k2018-19$3,5622019-20$3,8362020-21$4,0892021-22$4,1302022-23$4,270
Hardin-Houston Local teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,562, 2019-20: $3,836, 2020-21: $4,089, 2021-22: $4,130, 2022-23: $4,27002k4k6k2018-19$3,5622019-20$3,8362020-21$4,0892021-22$4,1302022-23$4,270

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Hardin-Houston Local scored proficient or above: 68-74% in reading and 69-75% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOhioStudents tested
Reading and language arts68-74%59%358
Math69-75%54%359

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 71 students in Hardin-Houston Local's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOhio
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%86.2%
Students in the class71132,008

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 394 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Hardin Houston Elementary School39415.8not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 326 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Houston High School32614.864.7%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Hardin-Houston Local

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Hardin-Houston Local

  1. Ohio districts by spending per studentHardin-Houston Local ranks 369 of 529 Ohio districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,802).#369 of 529
  2. Every school district in OhioHardin-Houston Local is the number 532 by size of 999 Ohio districts, with 779 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#532 of 999
  3. Medina County Joint Vocational School DistrictThe next larger Ohio district: 780 students in fall 2022, $24,709 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$24,709
  4. Hopewell-Loudon LocalThe next smaller Ohio district: 777 students in fall 2022, $12,501 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,501
  5. Compare Hardin-Houston Local with Medina County Joint Vocational School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Houston High School, its largest high school326 students in 2024-25, 14.8 per teacher.326
  7. Teacher salary spending across OhioHardin-Houston Local spent $64,072 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $78,983); spending, not a salary.$64,072
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Hardin-Houston Local

  1. How many schools and students are in Hardin-Houston Local?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 720 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Hardin-Houston Local spend per student?
    $13,802 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Ohio median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,201 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,680 per student, up 13.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Hardin-Houston Local's money come from?
    $12,451,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 51.1% state, 40.2% local and 8.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Hardin-Houston Local live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 82 of the 895 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 9.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Hardin-Houston Local spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,326,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,270 per student. Divided by the 52 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $64,072 per teacher, more than 11 in 100 Ohio districts (state median $78,983). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Hardin-Houston Local do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Hardin-Houston Local scored proficient or above: 68-74% in reading and 69-75% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Hardin-Houston Local?
    90-94% of the 71 students in Hardin-Houston Local's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Hardin-Houston Local's NCES district ID?
    3904979. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25