Copperas Cove ISD

Public school district · Coryell County · Texas · NCES district ID 4815240

Copperas Cove ISD spent $12,315 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 52% of the other Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,244). Its 11 schools enrolled 7,761 students in 2024-25; 56.8% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,684 per student, up 3.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 86% (Texas: 90.3%).

Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Copperas Cove ISD in enrollment (7,837 to 8,255 students) and Copperas Cove ISD itself.

Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Copperas Cove ISD, FY23Edgewood ISD $16,407; Texas City ISD $15,461; Port Arthur ISD $14,737; South San Antonio ISD $13,023; Copperas Cove ISD $12,315; Weatherford ISD $11,337; Aledo ISD $11,007; Granbury ISD $10,649; Princeton ISD $10,598; Liberty Hill ISD $10,310; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14k16k18kEdgewood ISD$16,407Texas City ISD$15,461Port Arthur ISD$14,737South San Antonio ISD$13,023Copperas Cove ISD$12,315Weatherford ISD$11,337Aledo ISD$11,007Granbury ISD$10,649Princeton ISD$10,598Liberty Hill ISD$10,310State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Copperas Cove ISD, FY23Edgewood ISD $16,407; Texas City ISD $15,461; Port Arthur ISD $14,737; South San Antonio ISD $13,023; Copperas Cove ISD $12,315; Weatherford ISD $11,337; Aledo ISD $11,007; Granbury ISD $10,649; Princeton ISD $10,598; Liberty Hill ISD $10,310; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k10k12k14k16k18kEdgewood ISD$16,407Texas City ISD$15,461Port Arthur ISD$14,737South San Antonio ISD$13,023Copperas Cove ISD$12,315Weatherford ISD$11,337Aledo ISD$11,007Granbury ISD$10,649Princeton ISD$10,598Liberty Hill ISD$10,310State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Copperas Cove ISD, FY23Edgewood ISD $16,407; Texas City ISD $15,461; Port Arthur ISD $14,737; South San Antonio ISD $13,023; Copperas Cove ISD $12,315; Weatherford ISD $11,337; Aledo ISD $11,007; Granbury ISD $10,649; Princeton ISD $10,598; Liberty Hill ISD $10,310; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k12k16k18kEdgewood ISD$16,407Texas City ISD$15,461Port Arthur ISD$14,737South San Antonio ISD$13,023Copperas Cove ISD$12,315Weatherford ISD$11,337Aledo ISD$11,007Granbury ISD$10,649Princeton ISD$10,598Liberty Hill ISD$10,310State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Copperas Cove ISD, FY23Edgewood ISD $16,407; Texas City ISD $15,461; Port Arthur ISD $14,737; South San Antonio ISD $13,023; Copperas Cove ISD $12,315; Weatherford ISD $11,337; Aledo ISD $11,007; Granbury ISD $10,649; Princeton ISD $10,598; Liberty Hill ISD $10,310; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.8k12k16k18kEdgewood ISD$16,407Texas City ISD$15,461Port Arthur ISD$14,737South San Antonio ISD$13,023Copperas Cove ISD$12,315Weatherford ISD$11,337Aledo ISD$11,007Granbury ISD$10,649Princeton ISD$10,598Liberty Hill ISD$10,310State median, 1,000+ students $12,244

Where the money came from

$108,601,000 in revenue: 56.8% state, 22.8% local and 20.3% federal. Total spending including $15,887,000 of capital outlay was $115,747,000, or $14,391 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Copperas Cove ISD revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $61,731,000; Local $24,771,000; Federal $22,099,000; total $108,601,000.
  • State$61,731,000 57%
  • Local$24,771,000 23%
  • Federal$22,099,000 20%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 577 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

8,043 students in 2022-23, 7,959 students in 2023-24, 7,761 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Copperas Cove ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 8,043, 2023-24: 7,959, 2024-25: 7,76102.5k5k7.5k10k2022-238,0432023-247,9592024-257,761
Copperas Cove ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 8,043, 2023-24: 7,959, 2024-25: 7,76102.5k5k7.5k10k2022-238,0432023-247,9592024-257,761
Copperas Cove ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 8,043, 2023-24: 7,959, 2024-25: 7,76102.5k5k7.5k10k2022-238,0432023-247,9592024-257,761
Copperas Cove ISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 8,043, 2023-24: 7,959, 2024-25: 7,76102.5k5k7.5k10k2022-238,0432023-247,9592024-257,761

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-238,043606.513.3
2023-247,959581.513.7
2024-257,761585.113.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$31,671,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,938 per student

Copperas Cove ISD booked $31,671,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 606 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $52,220 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 60 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$23,915,00075.5%
Special education$3,659,00011.6%
Vocational$980,0003.1%
Other programs$3,117,0009.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,148 in 2018-19, $3,181 in 2019-20, $3,520 in 2020-21, $3,437 in 2021-22, $3,938 in 2022-23.

Copperas Cove ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,148, 2019-20: $3,181, 2020-21: $3,520, 2021-22: $3,437, 2022-23: $3,93801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1482019-20$3,1812020-21$3,5202021-22$3,4372022-23$3,938
Copperas Cove ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,148, 2019-20: $3,181, 2020-21: $3,520, 2021-22: $3,437, 2022-23: $3,93801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1482019-20$3,1812020-21$3,5202021-22$3,4372022-23$3,938
Copperas Cove ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,148, 2019-20: $3,181, 2020-21: $3,520, 2021-22: $3,437, 2022-23: $3,93801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1482019-20$3,1812020-21$3,5202021-22$3,4372022-23$3,938
Copperas Cove ISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,148, 2019-20: $3,181, 2020-21: $3,520, 2021-22: $3,437, 2022-23: $3,93801k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1482019-20$3,1812020-21$3,5202021-22$3,4372022-23$3,938

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Copperas Cove ISD scored proficient or above: 51% in reading and 44% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtTexasStudents tested
Reading and language arts51%52%3,640
Math44%42%3,656

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

86% of the 559 students in Copperas Cove ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtTexas
Four-year graduation rate86%90.3%
Students in the class559403,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

6 elementary schools, 3,322 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
C R Clements/Hollie Parsons Elementary84714.752.2%Schoolwide program
J L Williams/Lovett Ledger Elementary63513.250.6%Schoolwide program
House Creek Elementary62214.440.5%Schoolwide program
Fairview/Miss Jewell Elementary47312.464.3%Schoolwide program
Hettie Halstead Elementary39011.853.1%Schoolwide program
Martin Walker Elementary35510.844.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 1,744 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
S C Lee Junior High93213.543.2%Eligible, no program
Copperas Cove Junior High81212.051.2%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 2,377 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Copperas Cove High School2,24713.640.5%Eligible, no program
Crossroads High School13015.463.8%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 318 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Mae Stevens Early Learning Academy31814.962.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Copperas Cove ISD

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Copperas Cove ISD

  1. Texas districts by spending per studentCopperas Cove ISD ranks 278 of 577 Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,315).#278 of 577
  2. Every school district in TexasCopperas Cove ISD is the number 145 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 8,043 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#145 of 1,212
  3. Port Arthur ISDThe next larger Texas district: 8,152 students in fall 2022, $14,737 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,737
  4. Granbury ISDThe next smaller Texas district: 7,954 students in fall 2022, $10,649 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,649
  5. Compare Copperas Cove ISD with Port Arthur ISDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Copperas Cove High School, its largest high school2,247 students in 2024-25, 13.6 per teacher.2,247
  7. Teacher salary spending across TexasCopperas Cove ISD spent $52,220 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$52,220
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Copperas Cove ISD

  1. How many schools and students are in Copperas Cove ISD?
    11 schools were open in 2024-25 (6 elementary, 2 middle, 2 high, 1 other), enrolling 7,761 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Copperas Cove ISD spend per student?
    $12,315 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,244 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,684 per student, up 3.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Copperas Cove ISD's money come from?
    $108,601,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 56.8% state, 22.8% local and 20.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Copperas Cove ISD live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 1,481 of the 7,576 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 19.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Copperas Cove ISD spend on teacher salaries?
    $31,671,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,938 per student. Divided by the 606 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $52,220 per teacher, more than 60 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Copperas Cove ISD do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Copperas Cove ISD scored proficient or above: 51% in reading and 44% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Copperas Cove ISD?
    86% of the 559 students in Copperas Cove ISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Copperas Cove ISD's NCES district ID?
    4815240. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25