Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District

Public school district · Somerset County · New Jersey · NCES district ID 3402280

Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District spent $25,718 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 62% of the other New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $24,665). Its 11 schools enrolled 7,774 students in 2024-25; 24.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $26,868 per student, up 4.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 92% (New Jersey: 90.5%).

Spending per student among New Jersey districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Bridgewater-Raritan Regional in enrollment (7,605 to 8,340 students) and Bridgewater-Raritan Regional itself.

Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Bridgewater-Raritan Regional, FY23Wayne Township Public Schools $27,309; East Brunswick Public Schools $26,439; Irvington $26,057; Bridgewater-Raritan Regional $25,718; West New York $25,327; Jackson Township $25,007; Old Bridge Township Public Schools $24,246; South Brunswick $23,228; Brick Township $22,404; Township of Union $21,333; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.17.5k20k22.5k25k27.5k30kWayne Township Public Schools$27,309East Brunswick Public Schools$26,439Irvington$26,057Bridgewater-Raritan Regional$25,718West New York$25,327Jackson Township$25,007Old Bridge Township Public Sch…$24,246South Brunswick$23,228Brick Township$22,404Township of Union$21,333State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Bridgewater-Raritan Regional, FY23Wayne Township Public Schools $27,309; East Brunswick Public Schools $26,439; Irvington $26,057; Bridgewater-Raritan Regional $25,718; West New York $25,327; Jackson Township $25,007; Old Bridge Township Public Schools $24,246; South Brunswick $23,228; Brick Township $22,404; Township of Union $21,333; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.17.5k20k22.5k25k27.5k30kWayne Township Public Schools$27,309East Brunswick Public Schools$26,439Irvington$26,057Bridgewater-Raritan Regional$25,718West New York$25,327Jackson Township$25,007Old Bridge Township Public Schools$24,246South Brunswick$23,228Brick Township$22,404Township of Union$21,333State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Bridgewater-Raritan Regional, FY23Wayne Township Public Schools $27,309; East Brunswick Public Schools $26,439; Irvington $26,057; Bridgewater-Raritan Regional $25,718; West New York $25,327; Jackson Township $25,007; Old Bridge Township Public Schools $24,246; South Brunswick $23,228; Brick Township $22,404; Township of Union $21,333; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.17.5k22.5k27.5k30kWayne Township Public Schools$27,309East Brunswick Public Schools$26,439Irvington$26,057Bridgewater-Raritan Regional$25,718West New York$25,327Jackson Township$25,007Old Bridge Township Public Schools$24,246South Brunswick$23,228Brick Township$22,404Township of Union$21,333State median, 1,000+ students $24,665
Current spending per student, New Jersey districts closest in size to Bridgewater-Raritan Regional, FY23Wayne Township Public Schools $27,309; East Brunswick Public Schools $26,439; Irvington $26,057; Bridgewater-Raritan Regional $25,718; West New York $25,327; Jackson Township $25,007; Old Bridge Township Public Schools $24,246; South Brunswick $23,228; Brick Township $22,404; Township of Union $21,333; State median, 1,000+ students $24,665.17.5k22.5k27.5k30kWayne Township Public Schools$27,309East Brunswick Public Schools$26,439Irvington$26,057Bridgewater-Raritan Regional$25,718West New York$25,327Jackson Township$25,007Old Bridge Township Public Schools$24,246South Brunswick$23,228Brick Township$22,404Township of Union$21,333State median, 1,000+ students $24,665

Where the money came from

$228,090,000 in revenue: 24.7% state, 72.5% local and 2.7% federal. Total spending including $6,427,000 of capital outlay was $223,161,000, or $27,725 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $56,406,000; Local $165,441,000; Federal $6,243,000; total $228,090,000.
  • State$56,406,000 25%
  • Local$165,441,000 73%
  • Federal$6,243,000 3%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 329 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

7,981 students in 2022-23, 7,912 students in 2023-24, 7,774 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 7,981, 2023-24: 7,912, 2024-25: 7,77402k4k6k8k2022-237,9812023-247,9122024-257,774
Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 7,981, 2023-24: 7,912, 2024-25: 7,77402k4k6k8k2022-237,9812023-247,9122024-257,774
Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 7,981, 2023-24: 7,912, 2024-25: 7,77402k4k6k8k2022-237,9812023-247,9122024-257,774
Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 7,981, 2023-24: 7,912, 2024-25: 7,77402k4k6k8k2022-237,9812023-247,9122024-257,774

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-237,981733.610.9
2023-247,912713.811.1
2024-257,774698.711.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$63,727,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $7,917 per student

Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District booked $63,727,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 741 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $86,048 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 80 in 100 New Jersey districts with a figure (state median $77,508, 569 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$45,761,00071.8%
Special education$13,217,00020.7%
Other programs$4,749,0007.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $7,057 in 2018-19, $7,185 in 2019-20, $7,511 in 2020-21, $7,863 in 2021-22, $7,917 in 2022-23.

Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,057, 2019-20: $7,185, 2020-21: $7,511, 2021-22: $7,863, 2022-23: $7,91702k4k6k8k2018-19$7,0572019-20$7,1852020-21$7,5112021-22$7,8632022-23$7,917
Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,057, 2019-20: $7,185, 2020-21: $7,511, 2021-22: $7,863, 2022-23: $7,91702k4k6k8k2018-19$7,0572019-20$7,1852020-21$7,5112021-22$7,8632022-23$7,917
Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,057, 2019-20: $7,185, 2020-21: $7,511, 2021-22: $7,863, 2022-23: $7,91702k4k6k8k2018-19$7,0572019-20$7,1852020-21$7,5112021-22$7,8632022-23$7,917
Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,057, 2019-20: $7,185, 2020-21: $7,511, 2021-22: $7,863, 2022-23: $7,91702k4k6k8k2018-19$7,0572019-20$7,1852020-21$7,5112021-22$7,8632022-23$7,917

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District scored proficient or above: 65% in reading and 51% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New Jersey, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew JerseyStudents tested
Reading and language arts65%48.6%
Math51%35.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

92% of the 675 students in Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across New Jersey. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNew Jersey
Four-year graduation rate92%90.5%
Students in the class675106,157

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

7 elementary schools, 2,688 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Hamilton Primary School46211.63.5%Not Title I
Adamsville Primary School4618.421.7%Targeted program
John F. Kennedy Primary School4318.434.6%Targeted program
Crim Primary School39610.18.6%Not Title I
Milltown Primary School34811.211.2%Not Title I
Van Holten Primary School31111.27.4%Not Title I
Bradley Gardens Primary School27910.510.8%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 middle schools, 2,413 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Bridgewater-Raritan Middle School1,22011.512.5%Eligible, no program
Eisenhower Intermediate School62510.116.8%Eligible, no program
Hillside Intermediate School56810.411.4%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 2,673 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Bridgewater-Raritan High School2,67313.012.3%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District

  1. New Jersey districts by spending per studentBridgewater-Raritan Regional School District ranks 126 of 329 New Jersey districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($25,718).#126 of 329
  2. Every school district in New JerseyBridgewater-Raritan Regional School District is the number 26 by size of 672 New Jersey districts, with 8,049 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#26 of 672
  3. Old Bridge Township Public SchoolsThe next larger New Jersey district: 8,096 students in fall 2022, $24,246 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$24,246
  4. West New York School DistrictThe next smaller New Jersey district: 8,020 students in fall 2022, $25,327 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$25,327
  5. Compare Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District with Old Bridge Township Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Bridgewater-Raritan High School, its largest high school2,673 students in 2024-25, 13.0 per teacher.2,673
  7. Teacher salary spending across New JerseyBridgewater-Raritan Regional School District spent $86,048 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $77,508); spending, not a salary.$86,048
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District?
    11 schools were open in 2024-25 (7 elementary, 3 middle, 1 high), enrolling 7,774 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District spend per student?
    $25,718 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New Jersey median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $24,665 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $26,868 per student, up 4.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District's money come from?
    $228,090,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 24.7% state, 72.5% local and 2.7% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 340 of the 9,126 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 3.7%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $63,727,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $7,917 per student. Divided by the 741 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $86,048 per teacher, more than 80 in 100 New Jersey districts (state median $77,508). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New Jersey teacher salary at $79,045 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District scored proficient or above: 65% in reading and 51% in math, against 48.6% in reading and 35.5% in math across New Jersey. New Jersey's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District?
    92% of the 675 students in Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across New Jersey. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Bridgewater-Raritan Regional School District's NCES district ID?
    3402280. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25