Public schools in Harrisburg, IL
Harrisburg has 6 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 2 high, 1 middle, 2 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 1,823 students. They are run by 2 districts and agencies; Harrisburg CUSD 3 runs 5 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 2 districts and agencies that run Harrisburg's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Harrisburg | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Harrisburg CUSD 3 | 5 | 1,771 | $17,670 |
| IDJJ Sch Dist 428 | 1 | 94 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
2 high schools in Harrisburg, 533 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harrisburg High School | 491 | 12.5 | All free (CEP) | Harrisburg CUSD 3 |
| School District 428 IYC-HRB | 42 | 3.8 | not reported | IDJJ Sch Dist 428 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One middle school in Harrisburg, 382 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harrisburg Middle School | 382 | 11.9 | All free (CEP) | Harrisburg CUSD 3 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
2 elementary schools in Harrisburg, 797 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Side Primary School | 400 | 11.4 | All free (CEP) | Harrisburg CUSD 3 |
| East Side Intermediate School | 397 | 13.7 | All free (CEP) | Harrisburg CUSD 3 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One other school in Harrisburg, 111 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bulldog Early Learning Academy | 111 | 11.1 | All free (CEP) | Harrisburg CUSD 3 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Harrisburg's public schools compare with Illinois's
The median Harrisburg school has 11.7 students per full-time teacher, fewer than the Illinois median of 13.1. 50% of its schools ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, against 54% across the state. Its median school enrolls 390 students (state 374).
| Harrisburg | Illinois | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 11.7 | 13.1 |
| Median school size (students) | 390 | 374 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | 50% | 54% |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 83% | 53% |
| Charter schools | 0% | 3.4% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 6 Harrisburg schools and the 3,817 Illinois schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Harrisburg
- Harrisburg CUSD 3Runs 5 of Harrisburg's 6 public schools and spent $17,670 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,670
- Harrisburg High School, the largest high school in Harrisburg491 students in 2024-25, 12.5 per teacher.491
- Compare Harrisburg CUSD 3 with IDJJ Sch Dist 428Harrisburg's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in IllinoisIllinois's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Harrisburg addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in Illinois
- Chicago629 schools
- Aurora47 schools
- Rockford44 schools
- Naperville41 schools
- Peoria33 schools
- Joliet31 schools
- Springfield31 schools
- Plainfield29 schools
Questions about schools in Harrisburg
How many public schools are in Harrisburg, IL?
6 public schools with an address in Harrisburg were open in 2024-25: 2 high, 1 middle, 2 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 1,823 students.What is the largest high school in Harrisburg?
Harrisburg High School, with 491 students in 2024-25 (Harrisburg CUSD 3).Which districts run Harrisburg's schools?
Harrisburg CUSD 3 (5 schools), IDJJ Sch Dist 428 (1 school). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25