Public schools in Napa, CA
Napa has 24 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 6 high, 3 middle, 14 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 11,879 students. They are run by 3 districts and agencies; Napa Valley Unified runs 21 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 3 districts and agencies that run Napa's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Napa | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Napa Valley Unified | 21 | 16,174 | $14,662 |
| Napa County Office of Education | 2 | 94 | not reported |
| Stone Bridge School | 1 | 267 | $10,109 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
6 high schools in Napa, 3,857 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Napa High | 1,642 | 22.9 | 59.8% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Vintage High | 1,622 | 23.2 | 41.1% | Napa Valley Unified |
| New Technology High | 365 | 23.0 | 49.3% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Valley Oak High | 155 | 15.5 | 76.1% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Napa County Community | 60 | 8.6 | 76.7% | Napa County Office of Education |
| Napa County Juvenile Hall/Court | 13 | 14.4 | 76.9% | Napa County Office of Education |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
3 middle schools in Napa, 2,140 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Redwood Middle | 868 | 23.2 | 47.1% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Silverado Middle | 673 | 18.8 | 63.0% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Unidos Middle | 599 | 23.1 | 41.9% | Napa Valley Unified |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
14 elementary schools in Napa, 5,766 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Browns Valley Elementary | 651 | 23.4 | 27.2% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Napa Valley Language Academy | 560 | 24.3 | 52.0% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Shearer Elementary | 501 | 20.3 | 78.2% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Willow Elementary | 472 | 24.8 | 42.2% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Pueblo Vista Elementary | 451 | 24.6 | 35.7% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Bel Aire Park Elementary | 410 | 24.1 | 57.1% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Snow Elementary | 402 | 22.3 | 78.4% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Northwood Elementary | 381 | 22.4 | 36.7% | Napa Valley Unified |
| McPherson Elementary | 376 | 25.8 | 74.2% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Phillips Elementary | 373 | 24.9 | 72.7% | Napa Valley Unified |
The other 4 elementary schools
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alta Heights Elementary | 318 | 26.5 | 41.5% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Vichy Elementary | 297 | 24.8 | 27.3% | Napa Valley Unified |
| West Park Elementary | 296 | 23.1 | 53.7% | Napa Valley Unified |
| Stone Bridge | 278 | 27.8 | 17.6% | Stone Bridge School |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One other school in Napa, 116 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Napa Valley Independent Studies | 116 | 18.4 | 50.0% | Napa Valley Unified |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Napa's public schools compare with California's
The median Napa school has 23.1 students per full-time teacher, more than the California median of 21.6. Its median school enrolls 392 students (state 471).
| Napa | California | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 23.1 | 21.6 |
| Median school size (students) | 392 | 471 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | not reported | not reported |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 91% | 74% |
| Charter schools | 4.2% | 13% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 24 Napa schools and the 9,918 California schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Napa
- Napa Valley UnifiedRuns 21 of Napa's 24 public schools and spent $14,662 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,662
- Napa High, the largest high school in Napa1,642 students in 2024-25, 22.9 per teacher.1,642
- Compare Napa Valley Unified with Napa County Office of EducationNapa's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in CaliforniaCalifornia's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Napa addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in California
- Los Angeles564 schools
- San Diego283 schools
- San Jose232 schools
- Sacramento197 schools
- Fresno179 schools
- Bakersfield146 schools
- San Francisco123 schools
- Stockton122 schools
Questions about schools in Napa
How many public schools are in Napa, CA?
24 public schools with an address in Napa were open in 2024-25: 6 high, 3 middle, 14 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 11,879 students. 1 are charter schools.What is the largest high school in Napa?
Napa High, with 1,642 students in 2024-25 (Napa Valley Unified).Which districts run Napa's schools?
Napa Valley Unified (21 schools), Napa County Office of Education (2 schools), Stone Bridge School (1 school). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25