Public schools in Covina, CA
Covina has 17 public schools with a 2024-25 address in the city: 4 high, 4 middle, 8 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 11,254 students. They are run by 3 districts and agencies; Covina-Valley Unified runs 11 of them.
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: schools open that year with enrollment · method
The 3 districts and agencies that run Covina's public schools
Each district decides who can enroll where; its page holds its schools, spending and teachers.
| District | Schools in Covina | District students, fall 2022 | Spending per student, FY23 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Covina-Valley Unified | 11 | 11,130 | $18,183 |
| Charter Oak Unified | 5 | 4,283 | $17,587 |
| Azusa Unified | 1 | 6,754 | $20,674 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25: school location city and operating agency; NCES F-33 fiscal year 2022-23: district fall membership and current spending per student. Schools on a city's edge can serve students from outside it.
4 high schools in Covina, 3,677 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charter Oak High | 1,259 | 22.1 | 51.8% | Charter Oak Unified |
| Northview High | 1,247 | 22.4 | 61.3% | Covina-Valley Unified |
| Covina High | 1,056 | 20.7 | 55.7% | Covina-Valley Unified |
| Fairvalley High (Continuation) | 115 | 7.9 | 67.8% | Covina-Valley Unified |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
4 middle schools in Covina, 3,601 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gladstone High | 1,326 | 22.4 | 77.3% | Azusa Unified |
| Las Palmas Middle | 887 | 22.6 | 63.2% | Covina-Valley Unified |
| Sierra Vista Middle | 778 | 21.7 | 53.0% | Covina-Valley Unified |
| Royal Oak Middle | 610 | 21.0 | 56.1% | Charter Oak Unified |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
8 elementary schools in Covina, 3,919 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cedargrove Elementary | 569 | 24.7 | 61.9% | Charter Oak Unified |
| Cypress Elementary | 558 | 26.2 | 66.1% | Covina-Valley Unified |
| Barranca Elementary | 529 | 25.2 | 59.4% | Covina-Valley Unified |
| Ben Lomond Elementary | 506 | 22.5 | 59.7% | Covina-Valley Unified |
| Merwin Elementary | 462 | 23.1 | 68.2% | Covina-Valley Unified |
| Badillo Elementary | 442 | 22.1 | 57.7% | Charter Oak Unified |
| Glen Oak Elementary | 428 | 21.4 | 61.9% | Charter Oak Unified |
| Manzanita Elementary | 425 | 23.0 | 45.9% | Covina-Valley Unified |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
One other school in Covina, 57 students
| School | Students 2024‑25 | Per teacher | Free lunch | District |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Covina-Valley Learning Options Academy | 57 | 20.4 | 68.4% | Covina-Valley Unified |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch); level from the directory. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count.
How Covina's public schools compare with California's
The median Covina school has 22.4 students per full-time teacher, more than the California median of 21.6. Its median school enrolls 558 students (state 471).
| Covina | California | |
|---|---|---|
| Median students per teacher | 22.4 | 21.6 |
| Median school size (students) | 558 | 471 |
| Schools with a schoolwide Title I program (2021-22) | not reported | not reported |
| Schools where every student eats free (CEP) | 38% | 74% |
| Charter schools | 0% | 13% |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (membership, staff, lunch program, charter status; the 17 Covina schools and the 9,918 California schools open that year with students); Title I status CCD 2021-22. Students per teacher counts 2024-25 teachers and ratios from 3 to 99.
What to look at next in Covina
- Covina-Valley UnifiedRuns 11 of Covina's 17 public schools and spent $18,183 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,183
- Charter Oak High, the largest high school in Covina1,259 students in 2024-25, 22.1 per teacher.1,259
- Compare Covina-Valley Unified with Charter Oak UnifiedCovina's two largest operators side by side: enrollment, spending and schools.
- The largest public schools in CaliforniaCalifornia's 50 largest schools open in 2024-25, by enrollment.
- Find the school district for a Covina addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools and their operating agencies); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student).
Choosing among them: how to choose a school district with the federal data, and what a Title I school is.
Other cities in California
- Los Angeles564 schools
- San Diego283 schools
- San Jose232 schools
- Sacramento197 schools
- Fresno179 schools
- Bakersfield146 schools
- San Francisco123 schools
- Stockton122 schools
Questions about schools in Covina
How many public schools are in Covina, CA?
17 public schools with an address in Covina were open in 2024-25: 4 high, 4 middle, 8 elementary, 1 other, enrolling 11,254 students.What is the largest high school in Covina?
Charter Oak High, with 1,259 students in 2024-25 (Charter Oak Unified).Which districts run Covina's schools?
Covina-Valley Unified (11 schools), Charter Oak Unified (5 schools), Azusa Unified (1 school). A school's district, not its city, decides who can enroll.
These figures are for information and are not a substitute for the district's enrollment office, which confirms the school a home is assigned to.
Sources
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Public school search (the official record of each school) · 2024-25